We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will return to the Buccaneer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
2015 Rate Sale!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Will return to the Buccaneer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2006

We spent the week before Christmas at the Buccaneer and LOVED it! It was our first trip to St. Croix and we've already made plans to return next year. Yes, St. Croix is quiet and the Buc is not the most luxurious place we've stayed. But the quiet suits us (parents and daughters ages 12 and 14) and the truly outstanding service made up for any lack of luxury.

We stayed in a Family Cottage which was comfortable and well situated - half way down the hill between the main house and the beaches and pool.

Breakfast at the Terrace was great -- plenty of options, even for our picky eater. Salads at the Mermaid for lunch were delicious. We ate most dinners in town -- our favorites were Tutto Bene, Kendrick's and Bacchus. Plenty of other good resuartants we didn't have a chance to try. We must've hit Duggan's on an off night -- our lobster was overcooked and the service was just okay.

We spent most of our time swimming and sunning, playing ping-pong, and napping in the extra wide window seat :-) Snorkeling at Buck Island is truly a MUST -- we sailed on the Teroro II with Capt. Carl who was knowledgable and delightful.

My husband and I had GREAT massages at the tiny spa, and went back 2 days later for more!

It was the Buccaneer staff that made this one of our favorite family vacations. Everyone -- hostesses and waitresses at the Terrace, the concierges, and the taxi drivers (especially Bachelor)-- did their very best to make sure we were happy and they succeeded.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    184
    41
    30
    26
See reviews for
197
328
23
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2005

We stayed at the Buccaneer in one of the doubloons on the beach. The rooms were large with an extra large bathroom with jacuzzi and double shower. The balconies, too, were larger than most hotel balconies with very pretty views of the sea. The walking/jogging trail around the property hugs the cliffside above the water in spots with gorgeous views out to sea.

We had great service from the staff and good recommendations for activities/dinner, etc. Loved dinner at Kendricks, especially. Not to be missed. The golf course looked lovely, but we're not golfers. We didn't use the pool, but the beach was very nice with lots of palms and seagrapes for shade. Meals at the hotel were also quite good.

Shopping is limited. The town of Christiansted is small, but you can certainly spend a day going through the shops and galleries. There were some nice art galleries and worth looking up and browsing.

The Buck Island trip is worth it if you like to snorkel. Otherwise, we did not find the snorkeling to be as good as St. John and St. Thomas.

It seems that St. Croix may have suffered with the loss of the cruise ship trade. It makes for a more relaxing atmosphere, for sure, but I think it has hurt the economy.

The negatives: Enroute from the airport to the hotel the oil refinery took up the scenery for a few very ugly miles. I've been to many Caribbean Islands and it just wasn't something I expected to see. I'm sure it's good for the local economy -- although I understand that many employees come from the States -- but it certainly doesn't do much for the scenery.

At night when we went into Christiansted to dinner our taxi driver always walked us to the restaurant door and picked us up at the door. Some years back there were some serious crimes against tourists and there still seems to be some unease about the place. I have been going to St. Thomas and St. John for more than twenty years and never had that feeling of insecurity before.

Although the people we met in St. Croix were exceptionally nice and we enjoyed the Buccaneer, I don't think we'd go back. St. Thomas has much, much more to do and St. John is so much prettier.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2005

I can not say enough good things about The Buccaneer. My husband and I went for a "planned" elopement, which consisted of just the 2 of us. The Bucanner coordinated the minister, the photographer, the cake, champagne, dinner, and of course, the perfect location on the beach for our vows.

Granted, we were there in the off-season, but never would I have imagined that The Buccaneer would upgrade us (no extra charge) to their best room, the beachside Doubloon on the upper level. It was amazing. The views are incredible, the privacy appreciated. We could see the sparkling lights of Christansted across the bay. One night we watched a storm roll in from the sea.

The staff are extremely accomodating. I have staid at all levels of hotels: from the Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons to the Marriott Courtyard. The Buccaneer is the BEST!

The beach is beautiful. We really appreciated the breakfast brunch every morning, which we had at their open-air restaurant on the beach. You must order a "Swashbuckeler" from the oceanside bar after a particularly difficult round of ping-pong on the beach.

We kayacked from The Bucanner's beach, and we played a round of golf on the gorgeous course.

I had my hair fixed for our wedding, and also a massage and was happy with both services.

We rented a car which was delivered to our hotel (an open air Jeep Wrangler is recommended for the best experience) and drove the entire island (which does not take long). We tried many great restaurants, and did not have one bad experience. If you have the chance, go to Nolan's for conch. His restaurant is close to the Hotel. Also, you should visit Point Udal for more great views of the endless sea.

I can hardly wait to go back to The Bucanneer for some more pampering, rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2005

My boyfriend and I just returned from our stay at the The Buccanner Hotel in St. Croix, and I think we'd both agree it's probably the best option for anyone's stay in on the island -- families, couples, etc. Although we didn't get to see the other options while there, from the research I did before (including reading these reviews!) I found this the best choice. The studio rooms close to the beach are private and comfortable, and offer all the ameneties needed (even bug spray -- which you'll need at night!). Some of the views are a WHOLE lot better than others, and I would push for one if you can. (We were told the hotel was booked when we asked to change -- however, when on the beach, it seemed as if we were the only ones there, and we were there almost at high season - 12/8-12/13). The hotel has a very 'old' feel, so if you're looking for 'hip' or 'chic' this is not the place, however, I don't think there are any hotels that are 'new' on the island anyway. The property is sprawling, and offers many options (two pools -- the one near the spa is bleek, and the one by the beach is small, but nice), two beachs (one is better for swimming because there are reefs on the other), plus tennis courts, golf, spa, fitness room, general store, shop, etc. The hotel is also in relatively close proximity to town and restaurant options, which is good because taxi prices increase as you go further away from the hotel. The food at the Terrace at at the hotel was very good. Prices seem to be high -- but if you're from NYC as we are, we were used to it. As far as restaurant options outside the hotel, the concierges were fairl helpful in making those reservations for us. There were a few people doing the booking, and one of them actually said she'd make us a reservation at one place for sunset -- only to realize (after we got off the phone) it's closed for the season (Waves at Cane Bay). Unfortunately, we didn't find this out until we went back to the room to get ready at 4pm and then had to scramble for another option. Other than that, I found the other concierges, specifically Carol, very helpful and almost overly cheery. We liked Kendricks in town -- romantic and quaint setting and good food. Duggans Reef was also DELISH and we sat/ate outside right on the beach. (Remember that bug spray!) Tutu Bene was OK -- but if you're die-hard Italian, skip it. Savant was VERY eclectic, and also nice. Ask to sit in the garden. We also did a day trip to Buck Island, which had the BEST beach, sand wise, and water color. We went with Big Beard and were pretty satisfied. Could've used more time on the actual reef, but I suppose we might've had it if the seas weren't so rough, and if there were more people on the tour that day. Overall, the trip was very relaxing and the island is beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2005

We just spent Thanksgiving week at Buccaneer.
Service was excellent. View from room 341 - magnificent. Never too crowded on the beach even during Thanksgiving week. Kids like Kids Camp when Ms Carol was presented and so-so when she was substituted. Mermaid lunch restaurant was very good for its price. Main Terrace restaurant had excellent service but food was average.
Marty knew about sport activities on island and snorkeling more then guide book from Fodors, Frommer, etc.
Cons: Mosquitoes bites. We were bitten terrible and we saw a lot of people on the beach and in airport with mosquitoes bite marks.
Tennis facility is overrated. To pay $16-20 for court full of cracks and wet…

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2005

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Buccaneer 11/12 through 11/17/05. The hotel was nice and charming if a bit dated. We had a standard room in the main building, not one of the ocean front rooms. These rooms vary in size (we were fortunate to have one of the larger ones) and are a walk to the beach. The bed was HARD and the walls were very thin. Everytime someone walked out of their room we heard the door slam, footsteps and conversations.

The staff at the hotel was so friendly and helpful. We had several incidents (see below) and the hotel staff tried to remedy each situation and make our trip a little better. Larry the bartender, Carol the concierge, and Elizabeth the general manager really were noteworthy.

We won't be going back to this hotel because St Croix just wasn't for us. It is a nice island with friendly people but there are very few activities on the island and all of them require relying on vendors who we were not impressed with at all on this trip. We had a sunset sail that returned to shore before sunset. We had reservations for a trip to Buck Island to snorkel and it was canceled by the tour operator because of the threat of waves and stormy weather. As it wound up it was the only clear day we had our entire trip and we became convinced it was cancelled because there were not enough people to go out.

We had one good trip and that was the jeep safari with Tam Tam Tours. It saved our trip! The tour is advertised in town on posters, there are no flyers or anything for the tour.

We rented a car for 4 days and I really think it was worth it. Driving on the left is easy and you don't have to rely on taxi drivers to drive you around. We got a taxi for dinner one night and that was enough for us. Also, we were able to drive around and see the island and stay out without worrying about timeframes for taxi pickups and additional fees.

Overall, it was nice to get away but I wouldn't recommend the island unless you are a beachsitter who likes to sit back, read and watch the waves. If you like to go and do and see then find another island.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2005

We had the wonderful opportunity to visit St. Croix and The Buccaneer for the first time based on information from this site. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. The staff at The Buccaneer was terrific from the moment we arrived down to the taxi drivers that they arranged for us.

Breakfast was great. The view from our oceanfront room was fabulous. Everyone we met in Christiansted and at the hotel was very gracious and welcoming.

Our many thanks to Karim, Maria, Cheryl, Bachelor, William, and Alphonso. You guys made our week!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.