We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Shoys | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 Resort Credit
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We really liked everything about it...the rooms, the staff, the views, the breakfast, the convenience to Christiansted. I could go on, but you get the idea. Fantastic.

Gotta try Savant Restaurant (5 min from hotel). Only place we went to twice.

Room Tip: If you're staying in the Family Cottages, choose the numbers 168 and higher. Great views from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    219
    49
    33
    29
See reviews for
246
386
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Buccaneer was FABULOUS, and we would definitely come back again should we return to St. Croix. Our room was near the Grotto Beach with stunning view of the water, beach, and golf course; we had a private terrace we could lounge out on too. All three beaches were lovely with very attentive staff at the water sports station for snorkeling/kayak gear. Beautiful grounds, lovely jogging trail that circles the whole resort, and lots of activities throughout the day if you don't want to just relax and enjoy a fun beverage by the pool/water. We loved every minute there!

Except for dining in their restaurants! Now, the food we had was delicious- no complaints on the quality. But here in the states, and St. Croix is owned by the U.S., when I'm expected to pay $40+ for simple grilled fish, rice, and veggies, I better have the best experience ever in your restaurant! The service was terrible in both the Terrace and the Mermaid. Both locations, never did the server come back to fill our water glasses or ask if our food was satisfactory (it was, but still). If I'm going to pay those prices, my server had better will at least check in on me and apologize for the delay in food (extremely slow in both restaurants), make sure my water glass doesn't go empty (especially for the duration of my meal!), and make sure I even enjoy my food! Heaven forbid something was really wrong with it, I would never have gotten to eat!

I would be more inclined to dine at these establishments again with that kind of service if the prices were brought down to a more reasonable level....we went out the next day and ate at a local place, ordered a similar meal (mahi mahi, rice, veggies) and it was easily half the price with much better service. Guess what? We will be going back to that place solely because they treated us better!

Otherwise, The Buccaneer was the perfect location for us to spend our honeymoon! Thoroughly enjoyed everything else!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We LOVE the Buccaneer. Gorgeous property, three uncrowded beaches, great food with four different places to eat, really friendly service, small sundries shop that does not price-gouge.

We were upgraded from the oceanview rooms we reserved, to oceanfront rooms. Our buildings may look plain from the outside, but are beautiful inside, with dark wood cathedral ceilings and matching cabinets, marble tile floors, granite counters, huge bathroom with 2 sinks, private patio that's steps from the main beach.

Weather has been glorious.

We cancelled our rental car at the airport, and are so glad we did. Who needs to leave paradise? But we will take the resort shuttle into Christensted one day, and probably rent a car to explore another day.

So glad we chose St Croix and The Buccaneer.

Another thing we like about the Buccaneer is all the things that are complimentary, like snorkel gear and ocean kayaks, free wi-fi, free parking, bottles of bug spray in the rooms and elsewhere, a fitness center, an owner's reception on Tuesday evenings with drinks and hors d'oeuvres, a wine tasting on Wednesday, a rum tasting on Thursday, an owner's guided tour of the property, shuttle drivers available on property if you don't want to walk up the hill from the beach to the main house.

It's nice not to feel nickle & dimed while here.

Only problem is no ATM on property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Steilacoom, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Oh my gosh! Where do I start? The Buccaneer is simply a fabulous resort located on beautiful St. Croix. My wife and I have traveled quite a bit through the Caribbean and Central America including a one year stay in the Panama Canal Zone. We discovered The Buccaneer and St. Croix last December and we have now made two trips there. The rooms, the staff, the food, the events, and, quite frankly, all the amenities are five star. I rarely write reviews such as this but our experience at this resort has prompted me to provide accolades. If you are looking for a USVI destination, whether you are traveling with a family or as a couple or alone or however feel free to stay at The Buccaneer. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Buccaneer is an old, historic hotel. It is owned and run by a local family. The owner is readily available and happy to give a tour of the hotel grounds and to share the rich history of the island. The hotel is beautifully located and most rooms have a lovely view. Our two favorite things about The Buccaneer were the towel service (you will never run out of clean towels) and CJ (the young man who gives snorkeling tours off the beach at the hotel). Unfortunately, overall, we were disappointed in the hotel. We compared it to the Ritz Carlton on St. Thomas where we stayed a couple of years ago - there is no comparison between the two. Here are the primary problems: 1) the grounds feels tired and do not have spit and polish (the shrub / flower beds are barren and / or full of weeds); 2) the rooms are tired (while clean they have old-fashioned bedspreads, furniture, and lamps); 3) the bathrooms are clean but dated (the tub and shower are one unit); 4) the bathrooms are not air-conditioned; 5) the rooms are air-conditioned from a wall unit that leaves you very chilly when it is and very hot when it is off; 6) the windows don't open and there is no screen on the door (this is a problem since the door has to stay closed at night due to security issues and little lizards); 7) the beach chairs do not come with umbrellas (you need to be a sun worshipper to enjoy the beach - although there are a number of palm trees if you are willing to move from chair to chair as the sun moves; 8) very poor to no service if you want to eat or get drinks on the beach (one day I asked the beach restaurant hostess if I could get something delivered to my beach chair and she suggested I pick it up if I wanted it quickly); 9) the walls are paper, paper thin (on one of our nights we had to call security 3 times between 11:00 p.m. and 1:00 a.m. due to a party in the room next to ours); 10) the biggest disappointment was the food and restaurant service (while breakfast is a very adequate buffet, lunch and dinner selection is very ordinary and the quality of the food is a B / B-); and 11) the concierge seemed to have a few set places she was accustomed to referring people to (it wasn't until we started asking local staff members for suggestions that we happened onto some great restaurants (e.g., Eat). You will miss the wonderfulness of the island if you stay on the property. It should be noted that there was a good staff to guest ratio at The Buccaneer and food service was fast when we ate on the premises.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My wife and I are beach people. We live near some wonderful beaches here in Southern California. We watched a television program where a couple of employees of the Buccaneer were in search of a residence in St. Croix. We were stricken by the beauty of the scenes showing the properties and the Buccaneer. We decided to take an early vacation in St. Croix at the Buccaneer.

We flew in from Miami landing at the small but nice airport. A fleet of taxis were awaiting to whisk us to the resort. St. Croix is of the slower paced island in the USVI. We pull up to the gate at the property and were immediately taken back by the beauty of the resort.

The deskman was quick to greet us and assure us that our room had been saved for us and the restaurants were still open. Our room (211) was in the main building. The room was perfect, not understated, not opulent, simply perfect. The view of the beach, golf course and town were breath taking.

We dropped our bags and hurried over to the restaurant. We were greeted by Janet, who was super friendly and obviously liked working at the Buccaneer. She took us over and sat us against the rail, where we had a spectacular view of the bay. We ordered some simple dishes that were delicious. But, the absolute best thing on the menu was the Key Lime Bar with coconut merengue. Might, just might be the best dessert I have ever had.

Back to our room, to a wonderful nights sleep, on a really nice comfy bed. There was a good air conditioner and a ceiling fan. Kept the room at a perfect temperature. The room also had just a terrific veranda on it. Oh that view....

The next day we met with Julie at the concierge desk. Julie met was with a big smile and was happy to set up trips, and my wife's horseback ride through the rain Forrest and beach. Julie is very organized and well versed in the goings on at the resort and throughout the island.

As our stay continued that some of the restaurants would be closed and others would have special dinners. One night we had a great night at the mermaid restaurant at the beach. They had a BBQ on the beach with the chef making a great pork chop and yummy roasted corn on the cob.

A word of warning, each room comes with a can of bug repellant. We didn't use it as we had not had any problems, until sunset dinner at the beach. Yep, the "no see um's" got plenty of bites out of us. If your out at dusk give yourself a coat of deet.

During our time at the hotel we met this super nice woman, Elizabeth. She seemed to be everywhere on the grounds giving tours, talking to guests. Elizabeth is the owner of the resort as her parents and grand parents were. She is really nice and certainly caring about her guests and her wonderful resort. She took my wife on a tour of the gardens and grounds. Like her staff Elizabeth is very special, caring person.

We left the Buccaneer without having a bad moment, a few bug bites but just taken by this wonderful resort. If you looking for a real relaxing place in St Croix this is it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Beautiful resort on lovely well manicured grounds. Plenty of activities available for all age groups each day. Nice tennis courts, pools, and golf course. The resorts beaches were picturesque and never crowded when we were there. Plenty of space to relax. The staff was welcoming and overall exceptional. Always smiling, friendly, and helpful. Evening entertainment was very nice. We especially enjoyed the talented Jazz musicians on certain nights.
Breakfast was always delicious with a wide assortment of selections, but with at least one different item each day. The daily events and news bulletin at breakfast was a nice touch. Great way to start the day.
Our room was clean and we loved the fresh flowers in the room as well as fresh water each day.
Overall we had a wonderful and relaxing stay. I do feel that for the price a few more amenities would be nice but this would not stop us from returning. The owners take pride in this property and it shows.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Shoys | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.