We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on St. Croix” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Shoys | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 Resort Credit
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on St. Croix”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I cannot imagine staying anywhere else on St. Croix than the Buccaneer. The staff is friendly and helpful, the food is very good and they will accommodate any request, nightly entertainment, lots to do (or not do). Request a room in the Doubloons. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: No need to rent a car - just use the shuttle to Christiansted or have the concierge call a taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    201
    45
    33
    28
See reviews for
222
364
25
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

When I first arrived, we were in one of the smaller suites, and it was horrible. It was old and musty and the air conditioning was broken. There was a small beach located a few feet away and it was filled with red ant piles. We were so disappointed we almost left the island to stay at the Ritz in St. Thomas. Then, we complained and they moved us to the Dubloons. That was the best thing ever. It was newer and very spacious. We were tucked away, but were right next to the main beach. The staff is amazing and always willing to help. We went snuba diving (DON'T DO IT!) and I got stung by something in the water. One of the staff members personally went out to the store just to buy me witch hazel for my sting. They are so kind and full of personality. Let me just tell you the food is INCREDIBLE!! From the breakfast to lunch to dinner, it's all amazing. One night we went out to an Italian place called Tutto Bene and it was fantastic. The owners were so kind and welcoming. Oh and go scuba diving with Captain Mike! Overall, very fun trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Buccaneer is one of those rare gems that immediately transports you into a vacation paradise! The old world Danish influence of the owners is everywhere.The furnishings, style and feel of the resort is elegant and relaxing at the same time.The flowering bougainvillae, coconut laden palm trees and white sandy beaches are stunning but the beautiful hilltop setting overlooking sparkling Christiansted harbor at night is simply magnificent! On the night that we dined at the open air Terrace Lounge the view was enhanced by the jazz and Caribbean sounds of the Eddie Russel Band, the perfect addition to our first evening at the Buccaneer! We had heard this band on a previous visit to St Croix and were delighted to catch them again. In fact we sought them out for several other evenings and also bought several of their CDs which are available at local shops. We definitely will return to the beautiful Buccaneer and hope to enjoy our favorite Caribbean entertainment again and again, the Eddie Russel Band!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had reservations at another place on the island, but when we road by and went into look at the Buccaneer, we just took our $$ lost of the other place and changed to stay here. It offers soooooo much! It is most definitely one of the best settings. You feel safe and secure. Most all the staff is pleasant. The room we stayed in, was an Ocean View, in the Tennis Villas. The rooms were huge! Very clean. There is scheduled activities every day on the resort: Meeting the owners, stilt walkers, and beachside dinner entertainment at the Mermaid Restaurant.
They offer onsite free Wi-Fi. However, it doesn't really work very well, and is most difficult to stay connected to.
The grounds are well groomed and manicured to perfection.
Every activity from kayaking, snorkeling, scheduled treasure hunts, and beach equipment is provided for, right down to your beach towels.
There are private Charter excursions that you can take, for extra $$, that will even come and pick you up at the boat dock by the Mermaid Restaurant, and bring you back.
The breakfast buffet is out of this world incredible! Soooo many choices, and healthy ones too!
Dining for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant is okay. Pricey for what you get, in my opinion, and because it is all outside dining, the food becomes cold before being able to finish it. But if you don't want to leave the resort to eat, it will do. The waitresses are very accommodating and engaging. Perhaps to engaging. They work for that tip!
Overall, I was pleased with our stay until check out time. Trying to settle the bill became very confusing with the terminology used to label different portions of the charges. It took Ashton more than 45 minutes to explain that the Folio Balance was the accumulation summary of food, bar, and tip charges.
If you rent a car, beware!!!! The street names are poorly labeled, or basically there are no street signs. The drivers are essentially lawless: driving all over the roads, much faster than any posted speed limit signs. We discovered from the locals that the locals remove street signs and signs to the airport in hopes that you will get lost, and become vulnerable to be victimized. Whether that is true or not, I'm not sure. But more than one person told us that. Just be smart if you decide to drive (and on the left side). And then another couple we met told us about the "gypsy" cabs. They were charged all sorts of different rates. Just be sure that you have the hotel or concierge arrange your cab when possible.
We enjoyed everything that the Buccaneer had to offer, and would most definitely return again.

Room Tip: Any room with an ocean view would be the best to have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The coral pink buildings of the Buccaneer invite you into a setting of comfort and elegance that is reminiscent of a by gone era. The palm tree lined beaches nestled against the Caribbean Sea lure you into relaxation that you forgot was possible. Whether lunching at the Grotto or dining in the more formal restaurant in main building, the food was superb and the service friendly and helpful. The real gem was the entertainment on Thursday nights, The Eddie Russell Band. Eddie is a local musician who studied at Julliard and was a jazz musician in NYC for many years. He is multitalented, playing the piano, key board and singing. His greatest gift is the trumpet. He can regal with catchy, fun tunes of the Caribbean, riff on any jazz song-hot or cool, but my favorite is when he plays the standards. He plays with such a sweet soulful sound that it brings tears to my eyes. From New York City, to New Orleans, to St. Croix-Eddie is one of the greats. Shhh-It's a secret. I just hope St. Croix holds on to him.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

The view from the Dubloons was beautiful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and we enjoyed the complementary rum punch, fruit basket, his and her Robes and slippers and welcome reception at the sugar mill. It's a bit pricey but it was worth it for a special occasion like a honey moon. We didn't do much of the activities at the resort we were too busy exploring the island and the waters. Diving and snorkling was excellent and the food around St. Croix was was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

If you are going to select St. Croix as a vacation destination, I would definitely recommend The Buccaneer. By far, this resort has the most to offer. It's a large complex, but feels very intimate.

Room:
We stayed in the main house. It had a very nice view of the beach and downtown Christiansted. I agree with other commenters that it could use some updating. But it was large, well appointed, clean and had a large balcony. The turn-down service was a nice touch.

Beaches:
If you have kids, Mermaid beach is the place to be - it's a little louder and more active, and they have activities for the kids. If you want more quiet, I recommend The Grotto Beach. We seemed to have the hold beach to ourselves one day.

Staff:
Lovely, very nice, extremely accommodating.

Restaurants:
We ate at the Terrace for dinner one night. I had the Mango Salad, and he had the Filet Mignon. Both were delicious. Everything you have heard about the prices are true - it's expensive. Breakfast was included in the room price - and it was expansive. Only complaint was the "French Toast" was more like wet toaster oven toast than anything else. Call me, Buccaneer - I have a great recipe.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house - Room 201 has a large balcony and a great view of the water & downt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Shoys | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.