We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Save Saved
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Buccaneer Treasures!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here four years ago and it remains one of my most memorable Caribbean hotels. The atmosphere felt incredibly comfortable, beautiful and authentic. Imagine feeling like you are at home, but you live in paradise. I had a cold when I went down, so my excursions were limited (though many were available). Easy distance into town for dinners and a few different beaches at the hotel. The place didn't feel overly commercialized like so many areas of the carribean. Absolutely loved it and still trying to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    174
    40
    30
    24
See reviews for
188
307
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days and certainly enjoyed it. Stayed at the remote Beach House which is also nice but it does need some more attention in terms of maintenance and furnishing. Also had to wait upto 45 mins for car transfer to the main building! Generally poor level of service in the restaurant. Had to wait very long for the food which wasn't great as expected. The resort is placed lovely and offers great relaxation with fine beaches and excellent opportunity to do sports. The atmosphere is somewhat hampered by the numerous Danish charter tourists..

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Good: Beautiful resort. Beast beach we have ever been to!!!!!! Fantastic swimming and snorkeling. Great free music every night. The cocktail reception on Tuesday night was lovely with local dance/stilt performance. Good golf course (although hubby did says greens were tough since they were a little spongy) Our room was large and our balcony was huge. The mattress seemed new and was super comfortable. Staff was friendly and courteous. Food was pretty good although same menu each night. They were happy - even eager - to accommodate a food allergy. Bartender made a perfect martini - sit at the bar and have dinner while watching the sun set.

The Neutral: A very mature crowd of people. We had fun and will go back, but if you are looking for a party crowd go somewhere else.

The Bad: A/C in room was weak - everything had that soggy feel. The ceiling fan on balcony was broken and ceiling fan in room wobbled in a frightening way. No umbrellas available at the beach - this is a HUGE problem for someone who burns. There were palm trees, but dappled shade isn't enough. Concierge staff isn't the best - lots of mistakes.

Would I go again? Absolutely - and I would spring for the Oceanfront room next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room off the lobby. We are early risers, so all the noise beginning at 6:30 am didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Came here for a day on the recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed! We were in port and, while the other passengers went on various excursions, we took a cab ride (approx. 35-45 minutes, $20 round trip from the cruise port) to this great beach resort. The water was perfect, the beach was quiet and relaxing and the snorkeling was fantastic! The fish came right up to us as soon as we got in the water and we spent the rest of the day under water with our snorkels! We did not use the resort however, there is a restaurant and I believe a gift shop as well. The grounds were clean and the staff was friendly. I would definitely come back here and am so glad this was recommended to us! Keep in mind, this place is a little out of the way and our cab driver tried to talk us out of going here in favor of a closer beach that was just as good-considering all the other people from our ship (and how many others??) went to the closer beach I am even happier with our choice to take the road less traveled to the quieter, out of the way spot we enjoyed so much!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Pa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

First the good. The resort is kept clean at all time, the staff is very friendly, the location is right on the beach. The breakfast is good and lunch at the Mermaid is enjoyable. Dinner at the Mermaid is the best but only open 3 nights. Which leads me to the bad.

The only other option for dinner is the Terrace/Martel Lounge leaves a lot to be desired. It would seem that the kitchen is grossly understaffed. This can be the only explanation to the poor service. Food consistently came out missing components, very late, and at times with old, wilted greens. For being the only restaurant for dinner the selection was scant and got very boring very fast. At a slow paced, relaxed resort my meals are a bright spot in my day. I looked toward dinner dreading, "what am I going to pick tonight?"

Also in the bad column, the pool was freezing. I watched people inch their way down the steps sucking in air as the water made its way up their body. The one day the pool was crowded, there were 4 people in it, two were kids who didn't seem to mind. The ocean was no warmer and had the added distraction of sea urchins.

While the rooms were clean, the furniture was way too out dated, was scuffed up and wobbly.

For the money I paid, I do not believe I got value for my dollar. If the owners have any hope of drawing young blood to there resort, changes need to be made. 85 percent of the clientele are over 60. They come back year after year. Good for them. I need more value for my dollar: better food. a nicer pool, a warmer pool, food served in less than 30 minutes.

Oh, and by the way, red wine does not get chilled. What a way to spoil a good bottle of wine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked a week in one of the beachfront rooms. It's a nice room, fridge, wet bar, gift basket, and stunning view.
Bed: made our backs hurt every night, somewhat older, plain innerspring mattress. For a place this nice I would have expected a pillow top with luxury linens.

Bathroom was very roomy and clean. Hair dryer, grooming kit, and heavenly shampoo, conditioner and lotion. One thing...the shower head only has one spray level, and on sun exposed skin it was harsh!

Breakfast was free every morning, and really nice..eggs, several breakfast meats, pancakes, French toast, fruit, multiple juices, mini quiche, grits, coffee and tea. Yum.

Staff: most staff was really not happy or too friendly. Concierge Julie sounded and appeared bothered by our call and questions. Grotto waiter Kiran never smiled or said more anything aside from "what do you want". Daniel from the Terrace restaurant was GREAT. Two of the breakfast waitresses were wonderful, but the rest of them don't smile or greet you. Maids were really nice and friendly. Make Reservations for dinner!! Otherwise you will most likely wait. Oh and the main restaurant requires men to wear collared shirts.

Room service: only open until 9pm and has a limited menu. There is a soda vending machine.

Tours: the hotel arranged a private island tour for $75 per person. They offer half day tours for $50 a person but they are only available on Wednesdays and Fridays. The tour was conducted in an air conditioned van with large windows. Our driver was a native St. Lucian, very nice. However, his tour was not worth the money. He pointed out things like McDonalds, Kmart, banks, OfficeMax and several other obvious places. We stopped twice, at the botanical garden $8 per person, and the Cruzan Rum distillery $5 per. Both were worth the trip. Botanical garden is gorgeous with tons of 17th and 18th century ruins,beautiful trees, flowers, creek and foot bridge.
The distillery tour was ok, but the good partisan afterwards you get two drinks and four samples! They don't skimp on the rum!

The last part of the tour is what they call the rain forest. It is really just a street with trees on both sides. Scenic, but not a rainforest. Roads are extremely bumpy with potholes, so brace yourself!

Boat tours: book early. Don't think because it is a Tuesday, there won't be a problem getting tickets. Big Beards is the best one.

Snorkeling: nice things to look at, but some really shallow points with spiny urchins everywhere. Just be careful. 3 of the days we were here the winds made the water too rough for good snorkeling, so if you get a calm day, don't wait!

Beaches: stunning. Quiet, relaxing lounge chairs, pool, towels, and food/drinks for sale.

Spa: average. Small, expensive, and the massage therapists were maybe a six out of ten. No couples massage, which was disappointing.

Gift shop: beautiful stuff but outrageously expensive...even for a resort. Sandals $115, Shorts $58

Room Tip: Get the doubloon rooms or beachfront view rooms for the best views and beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I went to this lovely hotel two weeks ago and had a wonderful time.

The most outstanding thing about this hotel are there beautiful beaches where you can really relax. The hotel is located on the least commercialized of the US Virgin Islands, that being St. Croix. As a result of this, there is not a lot of shopping or any activities other than just relaxing. The hotel has three restaurants that we visited and, while the prices were just a bit high, you expect that for island-based hotels.

The one thing that you have to absolutely realize and accept before you decide to go is that you are going to be on "island time". This is a real state of mind in the islands and especially true on St. Croix. Many people who go there have lifestyles that adhere to strict timetables and expect things to happen within a given amount of time. This will not be the case at this hotel or any hotel on the islands for that matter. I found it to be fine and used that to learn to relax even more. So with no issue for me or my wife but I did see where some people found it very annoying. I would advise them to perhaps go to a mainland resort.

Overall I wholeheartedly recommend that you visit this lovely hotel and learn to do nothing but relax.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.