We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Shoys | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Good: Beautiful resort. Beast beach we have ever been to!!!!!! Fantastic swimming and snorkeling. Great free music every night. The cocktail reception on Tuesday night was lovely with local dance/stilt performance. Good golf course (although hubby did says greens were tough since they were a little spongy) Our room was large and our balcony was huge. The mattress seemed new and was super comfortable. Staff was friendly and courteous. Food was pretty good although same menu each night. They were happy - even eager - to accommodate a food allergy. Bartender made a perfect martini - sit at the bar and have dinner while watching the sun set.

The Neutral: A very mature crowd of people. We had fun and will go back, but if you are looking for a party crowd go somewhere else.

The Bad: A/C in room was weak - everything had that soggy feel. The ceiling fan on balcony was broken and ceiling fan in room wobbled in a frightening way. No umbrellas available at the beach - this is a HUGE problem for someone who burns. There were palm trees, but dappled shade isn't enough. Concierge staff isn't the best - lots of mistakes.

Would I go again? Absolutely - and I would spring for the Oceanfront room next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room off the lobby. We are early risers, so all the noise beginning at 6:30 am didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    220
    49
    33
    29
See reviews for
249
386
26
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Came here for a day on the recommendation of a friend and we were not disappointed! We were in port and, while the other passengers went on various excursions, we took a cab ride (approx. 35-45 minutes, $20 round trip from the cruise port) to this great beach resort. The water was perfect, the beach was quiet and relaxing and the snorkeling was fantastic! The fish came right up to us as soon as we got in the water and we spent the rest of the day under water with our snorkels! We did not use the resort however, there is a restaurant and I believe a gift shop as well. The grounds were clean and the staff was friendly. I would definitely come back here and am so glad this was recommended to us! Keep in mind, this place is a little out of the way and our cab driver tried to talk us out of going here in favor of a closer beach that was just as good-considering all the other people from our ship (and how many others??) went to the closer beach I am even happier with our choice to take the road less traveled to the quieter, out of the way spot we enjoyed so much!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Pa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

First the good. The resort is kept clean at all time, the staff is very friendly, the location is right on the beach. The breakfast is good and lunch at the Mermaid is enjoyable. Dinner at the Mermaid is the best but only open 3 nights. Which leads me to the bad.

The only other option for dinner is the Terrace/Martel Lounge leaves a lot to be desired. It would seem that the kitchen is grossly understaffed. This can be the only explanation to the poor service. Food consistently came out missing components, very late, and at times with old, wilted greens. For being the only restaurant for dinner the selection was scant and got very boring very fast. At a slow paced, relaxed resort my meals are a bright spot in my day. I looked toward dinner dreading, "what am I going to pick tonight?"

Also in the bad column, the pool was freezing. I watched people inch their way down the steps sucking in air as the water made its way up their body. The one day the pool was crowded, there were 4 people in it, two were kids who didn't seem to mind. The ocean was no warmer and had the added distraction of sea urchins.

While the rooms were clean, the furniture was way too out dated, was scuffed up and wobbly.

For the money I paid, I do not believe I got value for my dollar. If the owners have any hope of drawing young blood to there resort, changes need to be made. 85 percent of the clientele are over 60. They come back year after year. Good for them. I need more value for my dollar: better food. a nicer pool, a warmer pool, food served in less than 30 minutes.

Oh, and by the way, red wine does not get chilled. What a way to spoil a good bottle of wine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We booked a week in one of the beachfront rooms. It's a nice room, fridge, wet bar, gift basket, and stunning view.
Bed: made our backs hurt every night, somewhat older, plain innerspring mattress. For a place this nice I would have expected a pillow top with luxury linens.

Bathroom was very roomy and clean. Hair dryer, grooming kit, and heavenly shampoo, conditioner and lotion. One thing...the shower head only has one spray level, and on sun exposed skin it was harsh!

Breakfast was free every morning, and really nice..eggs, several breakfast meats, pancakes, French toast, fruit, multiple juices, mini quiche, grits, coffee and tea. Yum.

Staff: most staff was really not happy or too friendly. Concierge Julie sounded and appeared bothered by our call and questions. Grotto waiter Kiran never smiled or said more anything aside from "what do you want". Daniel from the Terrace restaurant was GREAT. Two of the breakfast waitresses were wonderful, but the rest of them don't smile or greet you. Maids were really nice and friendly. Make Reservations for dinner!! Otherwise you will most likely wait. Oh and the main restaurant requires men to wear collared shirts.

Room service: only open until 9pm and has a limited menu. There is a soda vending machine.

Tours: the hotel arranged a private island tour for $75 per person. They offer half day tours for $50 a person but they are only available on Wednesdays and Fridays. The tour was conducted in an air conditioned van with large windows. Our driver was a native St. Lucian, very nice. However, his tour was not worth the money. He pointed out things like McDonalds, Kmart, banks, OfficeMax and several other obvious places. We stopped twice, at the botanical garden $8 per person, and the Cruzan Rum distillery $5 per. Both were worth the trip. Botanical garden is gorgeous with tons of 17th and 18th century ruins,beautiful trees, flowers, creek and foot bridge.
The distillery tour was ok, but the good partisan afterwards you get two drinks and four samples! They don't skimp on the rum!

The last part of the tour is what they call the rain forest. It is really just a street with trees on both sides. Scenic, but not a rainforest. Roads are extremely bumpy with potholes, so brace yourself!

Boat tours: book early. Don't think because it is a Tuesday, there won't be a problem getting tickets. Big Beards is the best one.

Snorkeling: nice things to look at, but some really shallow points with spiny urchins everywhere. Just be careful. 3 of the days we were here the winds made the water too rough for good snorkeling, so if you get a calm day, don't wait!

Beaches: stunning. Quiet, relaxing lounge chairs, pool, towels, and food/drinks for sale.

Spa: average. Small, expensive, and the massage therapists were maybe a six out of ten. No couples massage, which was disappointing.

Gift shop: beautiful stuff but outrageously expensive...even for a resort. Sandals $115, Shorts $58

Room Tip: Get the doubloon rooms or beachfront view rooms for the best views and beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My wife and I went to this lovely hotel two weeks ago and had a wonderful time.

The most outstanding thing about this hotel are there beautiful beaches where you can really relax. The hotel is located on the least commercialized of the US Virgin Islands, that being St. Croix. As a result of this, there is not a lot of shopping or any activities other than just relaxing. The hotel has three restaurants that we visited and, while the prices were just a bit high, you expect that for island-based hotels.

The one thing that you have to absolutely realize and accept before you decide to go is that you are going to be on "island time". This is a real state of mind in the islands and especially true on St. Croix. Many people who go there have lifestyles that adhere to strict timetables and expect things to happen within a given amount of time. This will not be the case at this hotel or any hotel on the islands for that matter. I found it to be fine and used that to learn to relax even more. So with no issue for me or my wife but I did see where some people found it very annoying. I would advise them to perhaps go to a mainland resort.

Overall I wholeheartedly recommend that you visit this lovely hotel and learn to do nothing but relax.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We returned to the Buc to celebrate a family member's wedding. Corrinne and her staff did an outstanding job, with every detail considered.
The rooms were awesome, the service outstanding, the bartendress phenomenal and the food fantastic.
Kudos for providing us with a consistent, loving brand that we can count on!

Room Tip: The hotel sits on a hill and if you are fit and don't mind a bit of walking, the main hotel room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Buccaneer is absolutely beautiful! As with all places, there are some things that need improvement. But overall, the location is amazing, staff could not be more friendly & helpful, and beaches are great.

We stayed in an oceanfront room that was recently renovated. It was very spacious and the views were spectacular. The patio was big and set up so that there was privacy between rooms. Housekeeping was not consistent at all. Some days the room was cleaned early, while other days it was 4 o’clock. It was an issue because it was difficult to know when we could stop by the room for a break from the beach & sun. On the one day that we said something because the room hadn’t been cleaned by 5pm, the front desk staff were so incredibly helpful and polite.

The walk up to breakfast and to the bar in the evenings is definitely a steep hill, as others have said. For us, however, it helped justify the eating and drinking. The breakfast was fantastic. Everything from fruit, eggs to order, pancakes, bacon, etc., Every server we had was incredibly friendly and helpful. We also are the type that don’t get upset when things run a little slow on vacation. So, on days that we had to wait a little longer for coffee, we just sat and enjoyed the incredible view from the restaurant! We did not eat dinner in the Terrace, but did eat a couple of nights from the lounge menu. The food was ok, but nothing special. It was certainly on the expensive side for the quality compared to the amazing food/dinners we had around the island.

The resort has some things that are “dated”, but for us it added to the charm of the place! The crowd seemed to be mostly older couples or families. The beaches, restaurants and lounge were always quiet even though they were filled with people. For us, we would have liked to have a place that was a little more social at the end of the beach day to have a cocktail and talk with others. (Nothing crazy, but a nice social beachside bar.) There was entertainment every evening and it varied. But overall, it was very mellow. The location of the hotel, however, makes it so easy to head out to other places for dinner to get a change of scenery.

Again, the staff was amazing! The concierge was so helpful booking reservations for dinner, servers were friendly and everyone you passed would always have a friendly greeting. The Buccaneer is wonderful!

Room Tip: We stayed in a renovated oceanfront room. Amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 170 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 936 reviews
9.9 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Shoys | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.