We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for golf, beach, scuba, or family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Save Saved
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Buccaneer Treasures!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Middletown, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for golf, beach, scuba, or family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our second stay at The Buccaneer. Rooms are luxurious, beautiful, perfectly clean, and well serviced. St. Croix's only first-class golf course is just outside the door. Dive shops and dive dock are 5 minutes away by taxi or rental car. The entire property is just one gorgeous view after another. Their December 6-21 room sale is a screaming deal. Good free Wi-Fi in the room and the Great House.
The breakfast package is a good deal-- hot and cold buffet plus items ordered from kitchen. For dinner, we enjoyed sampling the many excellent restaurants around the island.
St. Croix drives on the left, but cars are U.S.-style left-hand drive. Takes a little getting used to, but speed limits are low on most roads so it wasn't too hard. We brought our Garmin GPS from the United States, and it was extremely helpful.
AT&T Wireless service is excellent over the whole island, and service is billed the same as in the continental U.S.

Room Tip: We stayed once in Luxury Ocean View and once in Great House Ocean View. Both were superb. From the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    174
    40
    30
    24
See reviews for
188
307
23
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to St. Croix and our 2nd stay at the Buccaneer. We were not disappointed in any way. We went for and enjoyed golfing at the Buccaneer each day and diving from nearby Christiansted on many days. On St. Croix, you can't do better than the golf course at the Buccaneer or the beach there. The rooms are spacious and include a lovely balcony or lanai for relaxing in the shade, reading or just drying one's swim suit.

This trip, we rented a car to enable the dive trips and so that we could explore the island for fun dining. We had an excellent dinner one night at the Buccaneer, ate all of our breakfasts there and enjoyed a lunch by the beach one day. All of the food at the Buccaneer was well prepared and nicely in keeping with the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Adding my "thumb's up" to The Buccaneer in St Croix as a great place to vacation in the Caribbean. Husband and I spent a week here and were very pleased with the service, food, beaches, & room (large king suite with enormous balcony & stunning views on first floor of main hotel). We didn't rent a car and feel like we got to see the sights on our wish list by using the hotel shuttle and taking the taxi island tour. The resort had everything we were looking for, so didn't need to leave. Oct-Dec is their rainy season & we had some downpours. Do pack a light raincoat & insect repellent for the no see ums. We added the "Treasures" package directly with The Buccaneer to our travel-site bundled trip and thought it was a good value. If making advance activity reservations, ask the concierge to e-mail you their "Coconut Grapevine" activity guide for the time you will be there.

Room Tip: If you have your heart set on a particular room, confirm it with Reservations prior to arrival. Fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My daughter and I staed at the hotel in October.The staff and the accomodations were first class. The food was fabulous. The views were extraordinary and the weather was perfect. The entire staff was so friendly and nice and there was not anything they wouldn't do for us, including special meal preparations!!!! Whatever we needed they were there, pronto, from extra towels, to rides back and forth to the lobby, to calling a taxi. We were really impressed by how warm and friendly the entire staff was. rooms were super clean, beds were very comfortable! There was even a room with a washer and dryer in it with soap and bounce for sale. 5.00 for a load. wonderful ammenity for us. went home with all clean clothes!!We were super happy with our experiwnce there, it is a family owned and operated hotel and you can feel the difference in all ways!!!We loved it. They also have there own generator so never any power outages at this hotel. Thank you Buccaneer for making our vacation so wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Amazing stay at the this breathtaking treasure on the beautiful island if St. Croix! Great rooms, beaches grounds ,restaurants & water sports. Delightful breakfast to start each day " on top of the mountain" with Melrose. The staff at the Buccanner really set this resort apart...!!! friendly and accommodating the enjoyment of your vacation is their top priority!! We had a memorable wedding trip and family members did too!
Great bar and entertainment-- don't miss Eddie Streeter Carribbean Jazz !! We'll be back!!!

Room Tip: We loved our room in the historic Great House. AMAZING VIEWS and simple elegance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The historical Buccaneer has all the amenities that you would ever need. You never even have to leave the grounds, if you don't want to. Palm Trees lined the entryway and the golf greens looked spectacular. The lobby was open and they offered complimentary fruit punch on your arrival, which was the best. Then they actually drove to your room and helped you unload. I didn't know what I would be getting when I made the reservation but it exceeded my expectations. We had asked for at least two beds and instead got four beds, which was nice. The room was updated and had a great layout. Outside our front door, we had an outdoor table and chairs to sit at and two lounger chairs, which we used a lot. Housekeeping always did an exceptional job. It has three different restaurants and three different beaches. My favorite beach was the Mermaid beach but I didn't get a chance to go to the Whistle Beach. We could hear nice music from the restaurant every night. Everyone had a smile, even when my husband asked to eat off the kiddie menu because that's what he wanted :) Two of the beaches had staff to help or hand out items to use: pool noodles, life jackets, masks/fins/snorkels, kayaks. This resort also has a general store equipped with much needed vacation items that you don't always remember to bring. It also had other shops but we didn't venture there. I always liked looking for the big lizard down by the guard shack. I didn't use the spa-not my thing.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Just returned from a 6 day stay at The Buccaneer. We absolutely loved our time at this resort. We stayed in a Dubloons Suite overlooking the ocean and can't say enough about what a great room and location it was. We sat out on our balcony soaking up the view for hours and hours. The bed in our room was comfortable, but the pillows were not. We requested different pillows and that solved the problem for us.

The hotel staff were very courteous and the concierges were always helpful. During our stay, we ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurants and liked almost everything that we ordered. We did find service to be slow, drinks weren't always refilled and it took the kitchen a long time to prepare our meals, but I think this reflects the laid back feeling of the island.

We would highly recommend The Buccaneer to anyone looking for a vacation in paradise!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.