We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Save Saved
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We got married on a private beach there in 2010, and were lucky enough to get back for a day a few years later. Just as beautiful and well kept as we remembered.

Mermaid Beach- best spot to eat I have ever had lunch.

Breakfast every morning on the Terrace was wonderful!!! Very large selection of beautiful fruit to choose from.

Taxi cabs that take you around the grounds are easy to catch.

Very well kept, clean, even bathrooms on the beach.

Golf course is great! Can't beat the beauty of the ocean. Had a perfect day playing golf with husband, mom, and godfather. Highly recommend playing.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast- best fruit selection I have ever seen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    168
    40
    30
    24
See reviews for
186
294
23
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We just returned from an 8 day holiday to St. Croix and stayed at The Buccaneer. The hotel itself was very nice, well kept, and friendly. After reading some of the reviews, we were a little disappointed in the quality of the beaches located at the hotel. They were nice, but now exactly what we expected. The water was not as clear as it was on other parts of the island but it was still nice. I'm sure we probably hit a bad time and cloudy water is not the norm.
As far as food goes, if you are willing to pay for the dinners - they were great. The breakfast buffet was just that - a breakfast buffet. Food was not always as warm as it could be unless you asked for a special request. They would occasionally run out of specific items and instead of refilling that item, you just had to eat something else.
All of the staff we met were very nice and helpful. They always had a smile on their face and a warm greeting for us.
All in all - I would go back to The Buccaneer if the opportunity presented itself in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Beautiful views and very nice rooms .only a 4 because the food was not the best.restaurants was not always open .roomservice was ok. The mermaid had great shrimp quisedillas !the staff was very helpful . Eat at duggans reef and try the fritto misto. Very reasonable sally was a great waitress!

Room Tip: Rooms by the beach were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just back from probably my 8th visit to the Buccaneer, and every time I am so glad I made the journey to this little piece of class and charm on the largely undeveloped and natural island of St Croix, USVI.. First off, there is space here - plenty of wide, grassy lawns and grounds. This isn't the kind of place where rooms and buildings take up every square inch of land. You have views for miles from the charming coral-colored main 'house,' where a bar and restaurant is located, as well as a number of rooms and suites. The main beach isn't towel-to-towel people, and a second beach a short walk away provides even more solitude. You can actually walk the grounds and imagine yourself living on a grand private estate!

Something else that rates high in my book is the fact that this resort does not nickel and dime its guests at every turn. No need to pay extra to use a beach chair or to borrow some snorkel gear or a kayak. No wifi or charge to print a boarding pass or resort fee. Some of this may sound minor, but I appreciate how this resort makes you feel at home and actually like a guest of theirs.

Finally, the entire staff is so wonderful. Everyone is always so friendly and pleased to share their seaside paradise, and they will become people you look forward to seeing each day of your stay. The hospitality all around is just effortless!

I could also go on about the great food in the restaurants and the classic and original - and strong! - drinks at the bars, but more than anything else, this is the kind of resort where people are really just happy to be there. Don't be surprised if you strike up genuine conversations and friendships with other guests at the beach or the main house - everyone there seems to be in a different mind-set than you might find at a more high-strung or pretentious resort.

Location-wise it also can't be beat - two perfect private beaches, and a short cab ride into Christiansted town where there are also some really amazing restaurants, the likes of which you might not have expected on this quiet island.

It's a very low key place where everything seems to have been thought of and prepared for your arrival. Rooms are well appointed and have great, comfortable beds, many with amazing views. You really can't go wrong here if you are looking for a homey resort that still has comfortable luxury.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have been coming to St. Croix for 15 consecutive years, and each year without question I've stayed at the Buccaneer resort. Aside from the prime location nestled on a hill with breathtaking 300 degree views of the ocean and surrounding shoreline (including the resort's own private beach), the hotel is maintained and operated beautifully -- owned by several generations of the same family.

There is a daily news brief printed and served with the delicious buffet breakfast, so that guests are informed of the activities and menu items of the day (in addition to world news). There is a 'kids club' on the beach with attentive staff members able to entertain children while parents relax. There is a great spa and a small health/fitness center too (although the property offers outdoor sports like swimming, kayaking, jogging/walking trails, golf and tennis; so why stay inside!?).

If you do have any desire to leave the resort for activities such as diving or snorkeling at the nearby Buck Island, there is a knowledgeable concierge service in the lobby that will handle your needs.

Staff members at the front desk are always courteous, friendly and attentive (I always look forward to seeing Nadia and Pearl), and the staff at the Mermaid cafe down by the beach are also terrific (Susanna, Cheryl and Tammy are like family now!).

Considering the buffet breakfast included and the wealth of amenities available at the resort (there is no reason to leave, at all), the price is very fair and reasonable in my opinion.

My favorite takeaway from a stay at the Buccaneer is hard to articulate; there is a sense of old-school tradition and almost an East Coast Ivy League charm about the place, yet it's relaxed, friendly and contemporary enough to lack any of the pretensions a similarly established resort might bring to the table.

I highly recommend The Buccaneer!

Room Tip: There are several room options to suit every need and taste. If you prefer a room with a view, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our first visit to St Croix for our 10 year wedding anniversary. We researched the trip advisor reviews to ensure we would not be disappointed. The Buccaneer is a fantastic resort with tremendous potential. Our welcome to the hotel was fantastic as we were greeted by Ricky (best employee at the hotel) who helped us with our bags to our room and assisted us throughout our stay more than any other employee. The staff, for the most part, is very uninterested in going above and beyond to help guests. If you rent a car, do not ask them for directions as we made this mistake twice and both times they were completely wrong and when we got lost for over an hour and upon returning to the hotel, the employees were completely unapologetic just saying "they forgot" about a turn or stop light.(should have asked Ricky) DEFINITELY GET THE GPS if you rent a car...there are no signs on this island and everything is a one way so it is very easy to get lost, especially since you are driving on the left side of the road. Now back to the hotel..the views are stunning and cannot be beat anywhere on the island!! There is very little shopping in the area as almost every shop is closed in Christiansted and when they are open there is not much to chose from as there is not many places that put effort into offering local goods like other island destinations have. Take the drive to Frederiksted as the shopping is much better on the other side of the island and the store owners actually make an effort to make you feel welcome. The Mermaid bar on the beach is fantastic and Tammy(employee from Alabama..I think this is her name) is fantastic and the ONLY employee with a personality at the bar. The rest of the employees act as if you are bothering them if you ask them something. If you order food, be prepared to wait a while..they are definitely on island time. The food is quite over priced for what you get, but it is better than an of the restaurants in Christiansted which are also extremely over priced. The room we stayed in was a hillside ocean view and was beautiful...but had tons of ants (sugar ants I think)..the bathroom...the balcony...everywhere. When I notified the front desk, they came by with a can of bug spray and sprayed the room ...never offered a different room or upgrade....just a free buffet at the restaurant. I did ask to speak to the resort manager and the owner, and they were on property, but that never happened. The fitness center was adequate and equipment was all well maintained, it would have been better if the floor had rubber mats because when you are lifting weights it is not a good idea to have a tile floor. There are fantastic jogging trails and overall the activities offered are fantastic..golfing..swimming..snorkeling..kayaking, ect.Definitely take the trip to Buck Island!!! If you are planning on a weekend getaway..despite the ant issue..this is a great place to visit as the beach and the views cannot be beat on the island and is truly a tropical paradise. I would give 3.5 stars but this place is not far from being spectacular with a little effort.

Room Tip: the hillside ocean view rooms are the best views anywhere on this property..no need to spend the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This place is amazing!! My wife and I stayed for a weekend in one of the beachside rooms. Beautiful view and wonderful room and beaches. Wow, we can't wait to go back again, but next time we want to stay longer!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms at the beach, but I expect that all of the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.