We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Save Saved
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Buccaneer was amazing all around from the staff to the grounds. We stayed in the oceanfront villa rooms right off one of the beaches. The room was the nicest I have ever stayed in, and I can't wait to go back. The views from the main lobby are picturesque. The staff who helped with beach rentals were helpful and made sure we snorkeled and kayaked in safe areas. Our trip was in the off season, so the resort was quiet which was nice. I definitely plan to return to the Buccaneer as soon as I can!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    476
    165
    40
    30
    24
See reviews for
180
291
23
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were there for 7 wonderful days. The beach is lovely. The room was very nice. Private balcony was a plus. Fantastic view of the Caribbean woth the picture window. So beautiful. The bathroom as extremely large, two sinks and great shower. Great shower products too. The staff is very friendly and helpful - Julie & Adrian were the best! Breakfast was great, and included in the rate. The best waitress (Patti) made are dinners special, especially our anniversary dinner. We knew that the coming in Sept. (off season) that the Terrace restaurant would be closed for two of the nights of our stay, but we had the pool and the beaches to ourselves. We rented a car and explore the island, and Adrian gave us great information on what beaches and restaurants to visit. We now trying to figure out when we can come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Overall, the experience of St. Croix was wonderful. The Buccaneer has the appearance of a 4 star wanting to be 5 star and not quite making it. With that being said, we would go back again in a heartbeat. First, the negative. We wanted to schedule a special dinner at the Terrace on our 2nd night and made reservations 2 weeks in advance, only to find out after we got there it was closed that night. Their response? "Oh well, sorry". So we had to change our plans a little, but we should have been told when I tried to make reservation. On our last night, the waitress messed up my wife's order, and then proceeded to tell us (argue?) she ordered fish (which she doesn't like much). Then she charged us for some veggies we did not order, so no tip that night. "The customer is always right" still applies, doesn't it? Overall, the food was good but the service was way too slow. I know I heard all about "Island time" but for what they charge, food service could be more timely. We had to wait at nearly every meal there (except breakfast).
The room should have been cleaner when we got there. There was a thick layer of dust in the closet shelf and some clothes tags from a previous occupant's shopping trip, which was dusty also. Really wasn't interested in putting our things there.

The positive. Amazing views! Oceanfront room was plenty big. Very nice bathroom. Sufficient amenities. Huge plate glass window and QUIET! When the noisiest thing you hear from your patio are the waves lapping up on the sand - that's nice. We liked the fact it was off season. Being from the south, the warmth did not bother us. Bugs were around, but up on the Terrace we never had a problem. The beaches were very nice and its hard to beat their convenience. When the snorkeling essentially right outside your room is good, its hard to think of something better. (But go to Buck Island!) Other than the slowness of the food service, all the staff were very friendly and polite all the time. The concierge service was knowledgeable and helpful. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. You can tell the resort has some age and needs some work and I'd imagine upkeep in a salt environment and on an island is difficult at best, but its a cost of doing business. One odd note: the Grotto pool, which most pictures show as having one of the "endless pool" edges, now has a big metal grate over it. Kinda spoils the effect. I'm not sure why its there.
Overall, St. Croix and The Buccaneer was a memorable way to spend our 30th! I would definitely go back again, but just a wee bit smarter next time.

Room Tip: Main building rooms up on the hill may have more breeze. They were in the process of remodeling som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was here for three nights, on business. I did get to enjoy a few hours swimming in the Caribbean and laying in the sun. The beach is lovely. The room was very nice. Private balcony was a plus. Fantastic view of the Caribbean. So beautiful. The bathroom as extremely large, two sinks and great shower. Great shower products too. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great, and included in the rate. There were many options to select from. The view was great as well. Lunch - both fair and overpriced. Dinner - very good one night, very poor another. Service was soooo slow. No one wants to send something back that took almost two hours to get.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My daughter and I loved staying at the Buccaneer on our week vacation to St Croix, room was great, grounds beautiful, service excellent. We were there during off season (Sept) and not all the restaurants were open daily, some events on the calender had been canceled, but none of this interfered with our vacation. Employees were exceptional from the front desk personel to the drivers who provided transportation around the island and to Christianstead. A special thanks to Richy for driving us to town and to the kitchen for providing a boxed breakfast the day we left for the airport at 6AM.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe ocean view room with a private patio and loved it. We were close to the main buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Had a relaxing 1 night business stay. Dinners and breakfast was good. The lunch was only ok. The rooms were excellent. Snorkeling was pretty cool just right off the beach. The snorkeling equipment was a little flawed and I wish the weather had been better but overall the property overlooks a beautiful spot in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: The walk up the hill to the main building will get your blood pumping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Brought more family "home" to St. Croix and the Buccaneer! Adjoining rooms - Deluxe Ocean Front. Perfect set up - just enough privacy but close enough to keep an eye on the teenagers! This was our 8th visit and we are very familiar with the island. Since we brought some "first timers" we were out on excursions most of the time and didn't have a chance to eat at the resort other than breakfast and one late lunch at the Grotto. Our favorite familiar faces were there each morning greeting us with a smile and great service - many thanks Stephanie & Melrose! Bobby at the Grotto was super as well - don't know how we've missed you all these years but we will add you to our "favorites" list! Special thanks to Nikita for arranging a great itinerary for us! The boys loved every minute of our trip! Each afternoon we returned to the resort to enjoy all the Buccaneer has to offer. Being there in "low season" was great, as most days we had the pool and beaches to ourselves, although we have been there in just about every season now and have never felt crowded. We have been there even at near maximum occupancy and have never had to fight for a chair on the beach or by the pool. We missed our dear Larry at the bar and hope he is back by February for our next visit! Don't miss the art lessons with Jane Akin if you are there on Thursdays or Fridays! She is an incredible artist and is very generous to share her talents with all of us!

Just go! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.