We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Family Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Save Saved
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Perfect Family Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

So many wonderful reviews have been written on this hotel and all are true. This is a true classic historic family resort. One you wish more existed of. It is a place where a family can feel comfortable with just the right amount of luxury - like 2x a day maid service, ice and water always ready, concierge service, and all the other extra touches. But then not to fancy where you feel free to run barefoot through the grass with your child or walk to the beach in just your suite. You can sit on your patio in your pajamas and drink your rum while hearing the music from the main hotel on the hill.

To leave a hotel and remember weeks later the staff you encountered - CJay, Patrick, among many others - To plan a family brunch based on the wonderful food at the complimentary breakfast (johnnycakes a favorite) - To buy ingredients to replicate the dinners eaten at the restaurants - To provide the perfect first snorkeling experience for a child - To have staff willing and able to accommodate changes and all requests. -- These are what make a perfect family resort. I would not change a thing about this place. I am glad it is not five star luxury for it would be untouchable for our family. We prefer a little extra space (family cottage) over glitz. And this delivered -- this pink gem is filled with just the right of the other wonderful things that truly make a a resort a home away from home.

Room Tip: Family cottage and Family Memory Package well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    484
    168
    40
    30
    24
See reviews for
185
294
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We just returned from our trip to St. Croix and staying at the Buccaneer made for a wonderful vacation! Besides the fact the place was beautiful, it was very comfortable. I told a friend of mine, it was like staying at a B&B... you got that personal touch each day. From the very friendly staff to the little things like water stations on the beach... the Buccaneer seemed to know what you needed to relax and have a great vacation!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room... just LOVED our balcony - able to see the water and enjoy watching the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Rather than repeat all the wonderful things said in the other raving reviews (which i could as it is all absolutely true!!) ...I will simply add examples of our personal experience. Let's see...first one ...on arrival to our room there was a bottle of chilled champagne and a handwritten note from the owner, Ms. Armstrong, congratulating us on our 10 year wedding anniversary (which I had only casually mentioned when booking our room). Next was Polly, Leila and CJay at the beach shack and Kids Camp who my kids fell in total LOVE with (my 5 year old cried on our last full day when I said we were going to have a family day and not go to Kids Camp!)...next, the sweet gentleman at the front desk who got on the phone with my 5 year old at 10pm to reassure her he would do everything he could to locate her missing blankie...and he DID!!! (turns out it had gotten scooped up in the bedding and taken off to the laundry only to be returned clean and neatly folded in our room the very next day). Then there's Patrick (of the General Manager's staff I think) who was just as nice as could be...making sure every need was met and greeting us like old friends every time we ran into him.

The only thing I'd caution folks on is there is a steep hill to hike up to get to the main house if you're in an ocean front room. But...the staff will gladly come pick you up if needed so it's not a huge deal. In fact, if you're healthy enough to do it, I highly recommend it as without the hill I probably would have come back 20 lbs heavier from all of the amazing food there was to eat!! Seriously folks, you don't see a breakfast buffet like this every day...OMG!!

As for timing...We went June 9-15 and practically had the place to ourselves. Only downside to this timing was some of the restaurants didn't have full operating hours since it isn't peak season (i.e., beach restaurant was closed for dinner on most nights). Again, not a big deal (there are other restaurants with great food!) but would've been nice to have more choices.

Finally, I should note that I am the person who typically does loads of research and am very particular about accommodations, value, etc. and am very skeptical of reviews. I can gladly say this trip met/exceeded all of my expectations. This resort fully lives up to its Mission Statement: "Our mission is for every guest to return to The Buccaneer and become part of The Buccaneer family. We pledge to provide world-class service and to share our heritage, warmth and friendliness, ensuring that every visitor becomes an ambassador for St. Croix." Boy, did they deliver!!

P.S. Also highly recommend Big Beards Adventure Tours for snorkeling at Buck Island. You don't want to miss it!

Room Tip: Our room was PERFECT for a family of 4...2 Adults, 2 Children - #346 (Deluxe Ocean Front). Two doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to St. Croix in late April for a week of long overdue relaxation. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and Travelocity we decided to stay at the Buccaneer.

Everything we had read led us to believe that The Buccaneer was the best resort on the island. So we were blown away when our expectations were EXCEEDED!

For starters the property is beautiful. The main guesthouse is perched atop a bluff with fantastic views of the island and the Caribbean. There is a golf course on the property along with tennis courts, a jogging trail, a great pool, very good restaurants and beautiful beaches. The Buccaneer has everything you could want.

We were celebrating my 50th birthday and had shared that with the folks at The Buccaneer when we booked our trip. When we arrived we were upgraded to an ocean front villa.

Our view was beautiful, and the room was outstanding! Marble floors, beautiful bath and shower area and very spacious. Our balcony overlooked the beach and we enjoyed the soothing sound of the waves hitting the shore as we enjoyed an afternoon drink or turned in for the night.

Enough about the resort.... What makes The Buccaneer special, and the place we will visit over and over in the future is the staff.

Each person we came into contact with was friendly, polite, pleasant and truly appeared to enjoy working at the Buccaneer and taking great care of their guests.

We had breakfast and lunch on the property each day and dined at the pavilion on two evenings. The food was great.

We used the shuttle service when we visited town and when we went out for dinner. The drivers were all very friendly and great representatives for the Buccaneer. They shared great information about their island and were quick to return to pick us up when requested. We took an island tour and visited some great spots, botanical garden, rum distillery and the rain forest. Our guide " the bachelor" was both funny and informative. The food on the island was very good.

We went at a quieter time of year. The weather was great, the beach was beautiful and the water was warm and inviting. We just about had the place to ourselves most of the week, but it filled up toward the end of our stay as the ironman athletes began to show up for their race the following Sunday.

Our stay was fantastic in every way. We hated to leave, but we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms were gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were lucky enough to steal away on a mega-long weekend with our kids, (5 whole days). We couldn't think of any place better to visit than St.Croix

This resort sets the standard for stellar service. From the moment you call to Enquirer about reservations your treated like your the only one that matters in the whole world....

The views on arival at this resort will have you standing there almost checking your pulse... (Yep there is heaven on earth people)

I can go on and on about the different things that make this hotel a top notch hotel but at the top of the list its none other than the employees and the sevice they provide, its truly second to none....
We spoke with oseanna when dealing with our reservations an she had me at hello but my husband has always bin a tough nut to crack so i asked her to try an convince him on staying there an when he got off the phone he said pack your bags :) an off we went.. On arrival at the front desk the same lady who booked our reservation was the same lady who checked us in an i was so happy to thank her in person. Nikita at the concierge helped us plan all our events, shakira at the mermaid made the best bush wackers and vasco at the terrace always made you laugh while serving you dinner and they all played there part with a smile but the highlight of our stay at The Buccaneer was meeting CJAY at the mermaid beach shack CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ITS BEST no doubt, we couldn't understand it, he always wanted to help and he's great at everything he does, he plays basketball, soccer, volley ball, football ect, he does the snorkel tour (which the buccaneer provides for free), my husband and kids LOVE snorkeling an cjay took us snorkeling every single day of our trip to the reef at the hotel which was breath taking, everyday we saw something different a sting ray, octopus, turtles, eels and hundreds of different types of fish. We've bin on many snorkle trips an he's bin the best guide we've ever had, very well educated about the marine life. I highly recommend this tour which at no cost is high day robbery for the experience... Cjay is just truly amazing, we asked him several questions...
This is an actual conversation we had while playing basketball

Me: why are you always so helpful
Him: because on vacation your job is simply to relax an its my job to help.
Me: (smiling) but dont you ever get tired of pleasing everyone?
Him: (smiling) yes thats why i take 2 days off every week
Me: (laughing) you know what i mean
Him: (smiling) well i actually have fun doing what i do and as a buccaneer we take pride in serving our guests.
Me: (smiling) "speechless"
My son: cjay you do everything, what dont you do?
Him: DISAPPOINT....
An He surely didn't disappoint.

Buccaneer beware employees like him are rare and cannot be trained, its a gift and on top of that he truly enjoys what he does.

Overall a wonderful trip to The Buccaneer. Will defiantly be back for Christmas.
GREAT JOB GUYS (thumbs up)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Buccaneer covers a very large area consisting of multiple lodging areas, restaurants, beaches, golfing and a small shopping and spa area. It has a beautiful view. The area is great for swimming and snorkeling right from the resort. There are also floats available for the pool, snorkeling equipment and kayaks for the ocean. Breakfast is included daily that consists of a buffet and omelets made to order. Each room has a small refrigerator. We stayed in an oceanfront room that was next to the Grotto beach and pool. Very convenient with an amazing view and back deck area. It has a small gym which I used, and I received a wonderful massage from Jake! The grounds are very tidy and most of the staff are friendly and welcoming. We did have a few mediocre encounters with a few staff members.

They have shuttle service available into Christiansted which is approximately 10 minutes away. It is $6 per person. At night, taxi service is available. The fare to and from the airport for a taxi is $40. All taxi rates are fixed. The concierge and pool staff were very helpful with recommendations for activities and arrangements. Nikita was great with information. Julie was also very friendly.

We were in St. Croix during off season so it was not very crowded. The weather was perfect. Remember, St. Croix is the island for relaxation and is pretty quiet but great for getting away from it all. Most of the buildings are older and less commercialized than most areas.

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms are in a great location and worth the splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in early April. Initially we were going to stay at the Renaissance but after reading some of the reviews, we changed our mind at the last minute. I am so glad we did! Our stay at the Buccaneer was unforgettable. Not only is it absolutely stunning and relaxing, but we have never experienced a more kind and hospitable staff! We have traveled all over the world and the Buccaneer ranks as our favorite place to stay because the staff are so nice and helpful. We stayed in an oceanfront room and we could hear the quiet ocean waves at night as we went to sleep.

We stayed for four days and had the opportunity to go into Christiansted using the shuttle and we had dinner in the city several times. I can tell you that the food in St. Croix is phenomenal. While we enjoyed every meal at the Buccaneer, the dinners in the city were equally impressive. You simply cannot go wrong.

I can't wait to return to St. Croix and the Buccaneer. I truly consider it a home away from home.

Room Tip: I think an oceanfront room is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.