We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Buccaneer Treasures!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from an amazing week at The Buccaneer. We absolutely loved everything about our stay. The entire staff is without a doubt the most professional, sincere and friendly I have encounted. I travel a lot - up to 50% some years, and I have a new standard for attentive service.

Room Tip: Consider the Doubloons - we had the connecting suites on a lower level and it was perfect for travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    176
    40
    30
    24
See reviews for
189
311
23
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williston, Vermont
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The room was awesome, the staff was friendly and very helpful, the weather was perfect and the food was great! I wish I could remember the names of the staff that were especially helpful but when there was a malfunction with the maid-of-honor's dress they jumped in and did all they could to fix it and get the wedding party on their way. We're going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

First time, I was there. The big "Pink" hotel we called it. Just lovely. Rest of the times it was with other people, including my hubby Steve. We all love this place. It is so special. And the view from the veranda, watching the sunset, listening to music, having a cocktail and/or dinner- cannot be believed. Really makes St. Croix "that much more special."

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water, cannot be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coplay, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just got back from the most spectacular place. The Beach House at the Buccaneer was absolutely beautiful and that doesn't do it justice. Private house with suites and bedrooms, private pool and beach, Great Room, kitchen facilities, terraces and spectacular views from everywhere. The service was incredible! Wonderful for families. We were absolutely treated like royalty from the time we got there until the day we left and we intend on going back as soon as we can. If I could give this more than a 5 rating, I would.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Was excellent !!! Ahhh! Is what you will say every time you enter your room. We had oceanfront view with a private terrace!! The bathrooms are huge! Awesome Free breakfast that is fit for kings, choices are endless not your usual continental, but 10 feet of endless self serve choices . People was the nicest , I think all over the island,really, genuine friendly people, not just the ones you tip. Would be back in a heartbeat, not the crowded resort, but the away from everything kind!

Room Tip: Pricier but won't regreat the ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and me spent the first part of our trip at the Cottage by the Sea and second half at the Buccaneer. We were upgraded free of charge to an Ocean View room 50 feet from the beach and pool. When we arrived in our room there was a note from the manager/owner which was a nice touch. The room was clean, spacious, quiet, and had great view. The only issue we had was the shower had trouble draining at times. If you like to stay active this is the place for you. They have kayaking, snorkel gear, basketball, tennis, golf, disc golf, corn hole. The list goes on and on. Upon reading the review prior to mine I can definitely relate to the issue with the food. The breakfast buffet is good but the lunch and dinner leave a little bit to be desired. We ate at the mermaid and the service was just really bad. We were practically done with our meal and the waitress realized she forgot the garlic bread, which is extra, and then provided it at the end of the meal. We ate at the Grotto and no real complaints there other than the food was just ok. The lounge was probably one of the bigger disappointments. Food actually was not bad but the service was really the issue here. Several times we were without water which is key at a resort where you have been baking in sun all day. My wife and I got massages and since I don't get many massages I can't say they were bad would have appreciated a little more communication prior to the massage. Every massage I have gotten they usually ask, is there any particular area you would like special attention to. Now these things I mention are definitely not deal breakers by any means. Every night my wife and I slept like rocks and were very relaxed throughout our trip, which is obviously the point of a vacation. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at The Buccaneer for the second time in (5) years. The location is beautiful, the hotel is top notch, and the staff is wonderful. We had stayed there for a week in 2008 and amazingly, many of the staff we met then actually remembered us. Being greeted with a hug like a retruning family member really made us feel welcome. The hotel offered us an uograded room upon arrival and after we discussed with the front desk (pleasantly) a family next door that was noisy late into the night, we ended up in an even nicer room! This far exceeded our expectations and we are truly grateful. We will be going back again (and again, and again...). I can't say enough about this hotel and the exquisite way they treat their guests!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, we prefer an ocean view but others may prefer a view of the grounds and golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.