We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation at the Buccaneer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Save Saved
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
Beacon Falls, CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great vacation at the Buccaneer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent last week at the buccaneer and had a wonderful time. We had booked the lowest room (mountain view) and were upgraded upon arrival. The room, grounds and staff were all exceptional. Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. Ortiz (checkin and beach shack) Bobby & Karim (grotto beach bar/grill) and Patty (terrace lounge) are some of the people that come to mind in making our trip even more enjoyable.
We attended the managers reception and had a nice talk with Elizabeth, the owner. She was very personable and gave us some ideas/ places to see on the island.
We ate lunch at both mermaid and at the grotto and had dinner at the mermaid and the terrace lounge. All meals and drinks were great.
We rented a car and explored the island and tried different restaurants. The entire week was great- we'd love to return again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    483
    167
    40
    30
    24
See reviews for
184
294
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Despite everything being planned last minute, this trip couldn't have worked out more wonderfully to celebrate a very special birthday and also take advantage of our five-year-old's spring break. It is not possible to express adequately that the absolute beauty and convenience of the resort are in every way enhanced by the amazing quality of the staff. My travel experience is mostly for business with stays at some of the finest hotels in the world. The staff at the Buccaneer are in every way comparable to those other world-class staffs and exceeded my every expectation. To be specific, there are many people to thank (Corinne, Patrick, Adriene, Chef Gary, Ben, Tad, Tammy, Chris and of course Vasco) but also the services, especially if you have a family, too deserve a highlight for their thoughtfulness and execution:

Special Events: the resort would have been perfect even without the ability to go above and beyond the normal suite of services, but Corinne ensured that every last detail was perfectly orchestrated for an incredible, once-in-a-lifetime dinner in easily the most romantic venue on the island: the Sugar Mill. The menu, prepared by Chef Gary, was among the best meals I've had (impressive creativity) and the waiter, Vasco, was entertaining and attentive. Even those who had not planned on being a part of the evening, like the restaurant manager Ben, went above and beyond, grabbing tea lights from his own office to enhance the lighting and the mood. An amazing evening I cannot praise enough.

Kids Camp: as the parents of a 5yr old who loves to be around us, we were so pleased with the quality of child care at the resort that this deserves a special nod, especially Adriene, who ensured that every day was engaging and an absolute blast. He had so much fun that our feelings were nearly hurt when he insisted upon kids camp over spending time with us but consider it a blessing that such high-quality and trustworthy childcare exists as a standard service. Parents take note – this service is outstanding!

Dining/Bar Services: everyone at the resort was eager to ensure that our experience was perfect. That includes the wonderful bartenders and waitstaff (specifically thanking Tad, Tammy and Chris) but also Patrick who made sure that our meals and overall experience were going above plan and stepped in to fix a situation that was not (service a little slow, hardly appalling). It was clear the staff cared deeply about their jobs and took a lot of pride in them.

Overall, everyone had an amazing experience and I can easily recommend the Buccaneer to anyone looking for the perfect place to recharge and appreciate that others are working hard (and loving it!) so you don't have to, completely ensuring a unique and memorable stay. Thank you to everyone - we cannot wait visit again!

Room Tip: The family cottages are perfect for those with children - located equidistant from all of the activi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Buccaneer is a beautiful place to stay in St. Croix. The location is just GREAT with fantastic views. We were lucky to get an upgrade so we stayed in two of the oceanfront rooms with connecting doors and a great view of the bay. Rooms are nice and spacious and the beds are good. The staff is very caring and do everything they can to make you feel good. Pat did a fantastic job at the Terrace restaurant. The food is really good - the dinner menu offers a lot of great opportunities. Kayaks can be rented for free and the palm trees offer you good shade on the Mermaid and Grotto Beach. The whole family just had an awesome stay!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just the nicest place to be. The service is wonderful and the place is beautiful. The beach is the best in St. Croix. The staff really tries to make you feel like it is your second home. No complaints!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I needed to relax and unwind, totally recharge our batteries, When we arrived we locked our cell phones in the safe and enjoyed a great week of vacation. The staff at the Buccaneer was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, both at the resort and at area restaurants that were recommended. A typical day for us was breakfast, beach, swimming, kayaking, snorkeling, reading, napping on the palm tree beach! Then afternoon cocktails and dinner. The restaurant manager, Benjamin De Mauriac was extremely helpful, pleasant and attentive, all of the resort staff was very accommodating.

Room Tip: I loved the main house, with an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at the Buccanner for 7 days with my husband during spring break and had a great time. The Buccanner has a great location on St Croix, beautiful views and nightly music at the bar/resturant each night.
The hotel was great, but not the best I have been to, the food was great but also not the best , however, Chris who works as a server/bartender here was the best bartender I have ever seen/met anywhere.

Chris is upbeat, friendly and professional. He made the best drinks paying close attention to detail ( he has an in-depth knowledge of drink mixing techniques and drink ingredients). He made a point in making sure each customer feels at home, relaxed and comfortable in the bar rather they were just stepping off of the beach or dressed up for a night out.

I would think that it would hard to find/keep an employee like this...Great job Buccaneer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 9 nights on the occasion of her birthday, and we are very happy we did. It was not a perfect stay, but staff more than made up for the little problems. This resort is all about keeping its customers happy, and they do a great job of it. Upon our arrival, we were told we were given an upgrade. Indeed, the room we were led to was one of the ridge rooms, near the main building, with a beautiful view of the blue waters below. On day 2, we decided to try the whirlpool bath, only to find it was not working. In addition, it had rained the night before, and water was leaking into the room, by the front door. I called to notify the front desk of these 2 problems. A few minutes later, Francis called us back and asked if we could be ready to move in 30 minutes. When the shuttle bus arrived in exactly half an hour, it took us to the finest possible upgrade -- down to the Doubloon facilities, right by Mermaid Beach. Our already once-upgraded room had become a beautiful, recently renovated suite, complete with working whirlpool bath and the most exquisite balcony imaginable. Turns out our balcony adjoined what the maid called "the iguanas' village." Sure enough, in addition to the sparkling waters at our feet, we also were able to get good video footage of an iguana grazing a couple of meters away from us, as well as occasional glimpses of 2 playful mongoose (mongeese??), all in our own private little yard. Yes, this truly was starting to feel like Paradise!

The service at the resort is first class all the way, from the many helpful front desk staff, to the crew of friendly breakfast waitresses. However, one potential upgrade is in the concierge department. While striving to be helpful, it became clear that the 2 concierges we dealt with had only relatively superficial knowledge of what the island had to offer. We seemed to know more about some of the restaurant options from our own Trip Advisor research than the concierges did! That simply should not be the case. Nevertheless, they were friendly and tried to be helpful.

At this child-friendly resort, you can borrow snorkling gear and 2-person kayaks. You can play tennis and golf. You can relax at 3 distinct beaches, 2 of which also feature snacks, lunch and drinks. You and your children can participate in hermit crab races. You can shop in a friendly boutique, and you can get pampered at the spa. You can also enjoy wine tastings, rum tastings, and a 30-minute session with the executive chef and his staff, along with occasional happy hour type events.

The main building's bar is very cheerful and benefits from a direct view of the Caribbean and of the town of Christiansted across the bay. Spectacular sunsets are the norm. Same goes for the Terrace restaurant, where good dinners are served, often to the tune of live music emanating from the adjacent lounge. Breakfasts are fantastic, with all the fresh fruit you can stomach, a variety of fresh fruit juices, eggs prepared any way you like them, waffles, pancakes, grits, potatoes, bacon, and island specials such as johnny cakes and salt fish.

Enjoy every minute at this fine resort, because time will go by way too fast!

Room Tip: Get one of the lower Doubloon rooms to see iguanas and mongoose up close and personal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.