We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Views Alone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“The Views Alone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was lucky enough to spend 5 days at The Buccaneer on St. Croix. What I really liked about St. Croix was that it was not real crowded like some of the other islands. Not sure why that is but I liked it. This hotel while older is very nice. The staff was friendly. My room was right on the little beach ( there are 2) I was steps from one of the pools. The room was quite large with a great patio to watch the sun set. If you are looking for a quite out of the way romantic spot, this might be the place for you. But if you want the Fairmont or St. Regis, then go to St Thomas. Go to town for dinner, beach bar is great.

Room Tip: If you don't mind walking up and down a big hill. Ask for a beach front room you won't be so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    198
    43
    32
    27
See reviews for
210
351
25
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went here for just for dinner, served in the open air lounge, to enjoy the music of Steven Katz. I had the Blackened Mahi while my companion had the Tofu in Red Curry sauce, but with chicken substituted for the tofu (which was not a problem). The Mahi was fresh caught and it was a generous portion, grilled to perfection! The chicken in red curry sauce was so good, that my companion let me dip forkfuls of Mahi into the sauce. A heavenly taste delight (even if it was bad manners).

Steven was brilliant and we bought three of his CD's to add to the one we had first heard last year.

Now for a complaint directed to TripAdvisor itself. I was unable to find a separate way to review just the restaurant at this hotel. I think that does a disservice to those who are not interested in staying at the hotel but would enjoy good food, entertainment and the atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed for the week of Christmas and it was pretty windy but nothing that the hotel could do about it. The property is very nice, larger than expected. The staff is very professional, helpful and friendly. They have no problem helping or answering questions.

The location isn't a huge plus, we spent a lot of time off property and I wasn't too pleased about that but we got used to it. Overall, the stay was great, the grounds were very well kept and the value was worth it. A lot of great history too if you can find someone to talk to about it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in a family cottage with our two boys and really enjoyed the privacy of having two rooms. The rooms have just been renovated. The kids room is decorated with whimsical paintings of mermaids and sea creatures. A great value, and included a great breakfast and kids camp. The beaches were beautiful and we enjoyed the complimentary snorkeling and kayaks. Staff went above and beyond, especially the very cheery breakfast waitresses. Food was excellent, a bit on the expensive side, but it's an island, so we expect that. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portersville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After many day visits to the Buccaneer since a family wedding there 14 years ago, my husband and I spent a week there. We go to STX atleast once a year usually with friends or famiy and rent a condo. For once, just my husband and I got away to relax after our own son's wedding at the Carambola last June. We wanted alone time. We had room 207 in the main hotel and I could not have been happier with the room, condition or view. The service was excellent. The food is pricey, but condsider where you are, everything is more there. Breakfast was not included,but we splurged on day and at it anyway. With tip it was $48 which I have to say was expensive. I'm not a big eater, but a buffet seemed to be the only way to go. I had a bagel and fruit. We have had many great lunches at the Mermaid and had dinner at the Terrace which was very nice too. I had steak that was $38 and my husband surf and turf $55. Both were very good. We enjoyed evenings in the bar. The nightly entertainment was a nice touch,but not very well attended unfortunately. Larry is a great bartender as was the young lady he was training. The concierge was very helpful. The golf pro shop staff were very nice too. We enjoyed the spa and staff there too. Ortiz the bellhop was very nice. I can't remember his name, but the evening gate guard was very nice and we enjoyed nightly conversations with him too. Ms. Armstrong is a fine example of a young executive working to keep her family heritage. I loved seeing such a young woman at the helm of the family business. The fact that she holds a weekly cocktail party with her managers to mingle with the guests means alot. All 3 beaches are great. I didn't care for the beach pool. I could use some sprucing up, but who goes to the caribbean for a pool when ocean is right there.

The Buccaneer isn't for everyone, just like STX isn't. It is a beautiful place that is steeped in history. It has some rough edges, but that is part of the charm. I don't want a fancy highrise.I want a clean classy hotel with hundreds of years of history on the island I really love to visit. The Buccaneer is a great resort that I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The entire resort is on a hill. The ocean front rooms are nice, but we liked the view and amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
d
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Context: Luxuriousness is relative. A lot of reviews fail to provide enough context to know the authors’ standards by which they are reviewing. We are early 40-somethings and stay at about 2 “high-end” resorts a year with elementary-age kids. Resorts like Kiawah, Four Seasons, Ritz, Top Notch, Ponte Vedra, Hilton Head, Atlantis, etc. This review is also a way to give back to the community that’s helped us in the past and to encourage more detailed reviews in the future.

Overall Summary: B- -- The inflated price of tired, mediocre accommodations and facilities hindered what could be a nicer resort given the setting, tennis, one beach, main dining food, and kids club. In order from good to bad, here are the details:

Weather and St. Croix: A -- The weather was perfect for our week’s stay, 80s in the sun, but with a mix of clouds that gave you a break to the 70s, with a cool breeze. The water is postcard blue-green. Ocean floor is sandy white.

Tennis: A -- Don DeWilde runs the program and is that rare gem that balances trying to change your game with simply making sure you enjoy playing at the resort and catering to your schedule and wishes. The courts are perfectly nice and picturesque, situated 100 yards from the ocean. It looked like he accommodated casual players on up to more serious players like we are. Although group classes/drills were slow due to older players our week, we really enjoyed our time with Don and one of his assistant pros.

Kids Club: A -- Our experience is that the success of kids clubs at resorts is a function of two things: (1) the personalities of the [typically] gals that run them, and (2) the availability of activities for kids. If either factor is lacking, you’ll have unhappy kids. Adrian ran the club for our kids, and she was terrific. She’s a well-educated American, calm but fun, and most importantly our kids loved her. She was always on time and fit in a little teaching with the fun it seemed. The resort got lucky with her and should hold on to her. The beach and pool, along with a dedicated kids club room, provided sufficient facilities.

Food: B+ -- The main restaurant and adjoining bar have terrific food, even by Ritz standards. We ate there several times. The prices match the food, so be prepared. Unfortunately, at the other two restaurants the food struggled to keep up with the prices. Food there was roughly the quality of a Disney resort. Not bad, just not great. The $16 club sandwich is really an $8 club sandwich.

Resort Facilities: C+ -- The facilities are tired. Not terrible, but not up to the standards of similarly priced resorts. The bathrooms outside of actual guest rooms are clean but clearly older. Grounds are well kept in some areas, not in others. One pool is basic with no view, the other small. The one highlight is that the beach area has plenty of boogie boards, sea kayaks, sand toys, and snorkel gear. We weren’t able to see much in the way of fish at the resort itself, but there is a snorkeling area 20 minutes away by boat. There’s really only one beach that’s swimmable. Resort staff were well-trained and friendly.

Accomodations: C- -- For the several thousand dollars we spent, the family “cottage” was a disappointment. It was a bizarre combination of granite countertops and bungalow. Each door and the bathroom had slats that opened to the outside, covered by a rough screen. The A/C seemed to be retrofitted to the rooms, as the only air return was in the joint sink area between bedrooms, causing a loud howl when the doors to the bedrooms were closed. The towels were stored under the sink in cheap wood cut-outs next to exposed pipes. Looked like remodeling on too low a budget. Finally, the bugs. We had a steady stream of ant-like little bugs marching through the rooms over the counters and our stuff. Not surprising given the open air vents. Not even close to worth the money, particularly given the $150/night, absurd “surcharge” for kids….in a “family” cottage. Really. Hilarious.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently remodeled room and avoid the Family Cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a GREAT time we had at the Buccaneer in January!

First, the Buccaneer grounds are extraordinary, with 2 of St Croix finest beaches, an immaculate pool, and some of the best golf landscapes in the country (I'm sure that third hole is on WiiGolf!). We could sit on the beach or do one of the many activities they offered: kayaking, paddleboarding, snorkeling and yoga to name a few.

Next, let me mention the staff: Adriane at kids camp, Charnel at the pool, Ortiz in the van and Shane in the dining room were so cheerful and helpful.

The kids camp was a nice physical facility with great activities and as mentioned very professional staff. Our kids went almost every day - in fact they asked to go. The staff was responsible, kind and attentive. We still have those cute hats they made.

Breakfast was exceptional: I'm still digesting! A huge buffet - a delicious way to start the day.

Music in the evening was so much fun: we really liked the Makojumbees and music in on the Terrace overlooking the lights of Christiansted.

The golf was tremendous: we played 4 of our seven days. The environment was unpretentious and kid-friendly but still truly challenging. And there was a beautiful running course around the golf course with the most amazing views of the aqua Caribbean waters.

So to summarize, this was a great vacation. The Buccaneer is a perfect place to go for a family vacation. We will definitely return!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.