We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Times at the Buccaneer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Save Saved
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Buccaneer Treasures!
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Times at the Buccaneer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a GREAT time we had at the Buccaneer in January!

First, the Buccaneer grounds are extraordinary, with 2 of St Croix finest beaches, an immaculate pool, and some of the best golf landscapes in the country (I'm sure that third hole is on WiiGolf!). We could sit on the beach or do one of the many activities they offered: kayaking, paddleboarding, snorkeling and yoga to name a few.

Next, let me mention the staff: Adriane at kids camp, Charnel at the pool, Ortiz in the van and Shane in the dining room were so cheerful and helpful.

The kids camp was a nice physical facility with great activities and as mentioned very professional staff. Our kids went almost every day - in fact they asked to go. The staff was responsible, kind and attentive. We still have those cute hats they made.

Breakfast was exceptional: I'm still digesting! A huge buffet - a delicious way to start the day.

Music in the evening was so much fun: we really liked the Makojumbees and music in on the Terrace overlooking the lights of Christiansted.

The golf was tremendous: we played 4 of our seven days. The environment was unpretentious and kid-friendly but still truly challenging. And there was a beautiful running course around the golf course with the most amazing views of the aqua Caribbean waters.

So to summarize, this was a great vacation. The Buccaneer is a perfect place to go for a family vacation. We will definitely return!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    493
    173
    40
    30
    24
See reviews for
188
302
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

This was a beautiful resort, well taken care of with a lot of character that's not often seen in today's resorts. I LOVED buck island and thought the snorkeling there was truly amazing... I can not say enough. Beautiful
Location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in the main lodge. The rooms were clean and spacious, they good use a little updating with new bedspreads but other than that were very pleasant. We went to the different beaches and went snorkeling. The beaches (Grotto & Mermaid) were very pleasant and the water very warm. In the evenings bartender Terry will make you feel right at home. (bartender Larry not so much) The breakfast buffet was disappointing for that level of hotel but other than that the food was delicious and priced reasonably (for an island hotel). We definitely will return.

Room Tip: They have some wonderful beachfront rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The world
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a delightful time, at this hotel. Relaxed and enjoyed the hotel at its max capacity. The staff was friendly and the service was great. We enjoyed the Salsa Night Band on Saturday. The breakfast was outstanding as well as the beverages nice, tasty and strong. We loved the pool and the beach, there is a small lil dock which we enjoyed as the sun started to set, There is plenty to do, games, vollyball, golf and basketball. The complementary kayaks and snorkiling gear is a must thing to take andvantage of. Make sure you have your camera ready because there is alot of moments you will love to capture in this beautiful location. After 6pm bugsray is a must in St Croix the No C umms will get the best of you if you dont. It was a business trip, which also became a pleasure trip do to our Aniversay falling right in during our stay. It was a bit of paradise which we enjoyed while staying here!
ONE LIL DETAIL WE DID NOT LIKE, THE SITTING AREA NEAR THE WINDOW IN OUR ROOM, HAD MOLD (BLACK MOLD).. BEFORE YOU SIT ON THE LIL MAT NEAR THE WINDOW INSPECT IT FIRST AND IF IT HAS MOLD ASK THEM TO PLEASE ADDRESS IT! i GUESS MAYBE YOU SHOULD ALSO SPRAY THE LIL MAT JUST IN CASE!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony, on the beach area of this property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel areas are very clean, the rooms are simple but beautiful (could say a little outdated), but the attention is excelent! - the bartender gave us her personal phone number in case we got lost to a recommended restaurant we asked about. The hotel grounds are gorgeous and very well maintained.
The island is fairly small so you can drive anywhere in a very short time.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

For 20 years we have visited the Caribbean twice a year and never felt compelled to return anywhere until we stayed at the Buccaneer. We first came here in 2005 and returned within two months! Always a pleasure from rooms to staff. We have brought family members with us on several occasions from parents to teenagers and everyone has loved every minute of it! The Frigate Room & Ficus Suites overlooking the Grotto are great for families. The Doubloons are spacious and private. The Deluxe Oceanfront rooms have been recently renovated and are fabulous as well. This review has been a long time coming! Maybe we just wanted to keep it to ourselves :)

The Spa is lovely and always worth having a service or two or more each visit. The concierge is fantastic with arranging dinner reservations on island. Rent a car. It is easy to get around the island and there are so many fabulous restaurants and places to see. The Buccaneer is the perfect central location to stay and convenient to get wherever you want to go. The beaches at the resort are beautiful with swimming and snorkeling right off the shore.

Larry at the Terrace bar is fantastic from drinks to restaurant reservations to golf instruction! Just love him!

Art lessons with Jane Akin right on the Terrace - a must do even if you are not artistic. You will leave feeling like and artist! Arrange to see her studio - no doubt you will want to purchase some of her work. I designed a whole kitchen around one of her prints! And I can't think of one room in my house that does not have at least one piece of her artwork!

Have not had the pleasure of attending the managers cocktail reception as we have always had plans when it was taking place. However, we hear that Elizabeth Armstrong is a pleasure and it is entertaining with the Moko Jumbies.

The golf course is nice and landscaping around the property is always well maintained and beautiful.

Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times and each time in a different area of the property. The main part of the hotel is very nice and love to stay there for some down time alone. The condos near the beach are a great family location and an easy walk to the beach. The food is wonderful and love the outdoor eating areas. The hotel is well maintained and the staff is warm, welcoming and friendly. The weather is beautiful and sunny with clean beaches and bright blue water. It is easy to get to the downtown area. I really enjoy my visits to this location and this island.

Room Tip: The main hotel is good for single travelers wanting a lovely retreat. The outer condo areas are a gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.