We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking in many areas with friendly staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Save Saved
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Christiansted
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lacking in many areas with friendly staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

My room on the beach was very dated and showed many signs of wear amd tear. Many mosquitoes and bugs found in the room. The maids keep the dooors open when cleaning and it seems to attract the bugs. There was bug repellent under the bathroom sink. Big plus! Two of the three beaches could not really be used for swimming due to the surrounding coral reefs. The pools were small and the six foot iguanas would come and bathe in the small pool near the spa at times. Breakfast buffet was ok. But, the Terrace Restaurant constantly was lacking in items on the menu. The portions were small and only luke warm when served. Also, the gym was tiny with one universal and weight bench and a few treadmillls. And, there is not much sun on both beaches. The beaches are a bit rocky too. Overall, just ok. Nothing special and will not return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    483
    167
    40
    30
    24
See reviews for
184
294
23
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Large resort hotel on sleepy island. Beautiful location and views but hotel not quite up to the same standards as comparable resorts in mainland US and Hawaii. I do think it is the best this island has to offer and I would stay here again. The staff and service was very friendly and they went out of their way to make sure our expereince was enjoyable. The breakfast buffet has lots of variety...good but not outstanding. Work out room is small but functional. Air conditioning was good and not too noisy. Beds/linens were comfortable. Internet was free but so slow during peak hours it wasn't worth the effort. Our room and bathroom were spacious and everything worked well from lights, bath/shower, TV...just don't expect high speed internet. Had all the usual ammentities including coffee maker and refrigerator. We stayed in a beach front unit and the view was excellent. We had a hub cap disapperar on our rental car over night in the parking area...so much for hotel security. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: The rooms on the beach have great views, semi private deck, very spacious, and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

It is 9pm right now and the music is so loud underneath my room from the that I feel I cannot stay in my room. My ears are actually ringing from the drums and base being so loud.
I called twice to have them turn the music down and nothing was done.
I paid a lot of money to stay here and I can't even stand being in this room.
Unbelievably bad.
I was looking forward to my visit because of all the good reviews and I am so disappointed that I wasted my hard earned money on what is becoming a nightmare. This will be the worst place I have ever stayed and I have traveled the world.
If I could leave tonight, I would.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I spent the Thanksgiving Holiday at the Buccaneer in St Croix. It was a wonderful experience. Of course you will notice the neatly kept ground, but what really stood out to both of us was the great attitude of the staff. Everyone was happy to see you and treated you like one of their family. Both the food and the entertainment was above expectations. While the room was not the Ritz, it was comfortable, the WiFi worked great. The Buc is really about the beach and relaxing, great views and wonderful beach. The golf course looked great and was not crowed. I did not play would want to on our next visit. The Thanksgiving dinner was outstanding and the morning breakfast buffet was more than adequate. The bar tenders were friendly and remembered your name and drink. The views from the main house were breathtaking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I went to The Buccaneer over the week of Thanksgiving for some R&R. Neither of us had been to St. Croix before and we booked this trip through Bookit.com. We were so happy with the hotel, our upgraded room on the beach (336), breakfast, the beaches, and the staff was AMAZING! The restaurants were great! We ate breakfast every morning, lunch at The Grotto or The Mermaid, and 2 dinners at The Terrace (including Thanksgiving meal). Every morning you received the days activities at the hotel at breakfast. The concierge was very helpful with other activities. Frankly, you never need to leave the property! We went to the manager's reception and they had Jumbie dancers perform. Every time we called a shuttle (about 3 times) it appeared in under 5 minutes. After getting some bites on the beach, the Beach Shack attendant brought me some cortisol cream to use without asking for it. My husband had two massages at the spa and enjoyed them a lot. I really cannot believe the 3 star or less reviews! Everyone asked if we were having a good time, could they help us with anything, breakfast was not a ""farce", etc. We took the island tour and I would tell you not to bother booking any other hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had an amazing week at the Buccaneer in mid November. The weather was perfect, but even more perfect was the level of service and beauty of this resort. The resort is impeccable in cleanliness and happiness. We were talked into the resort after booking at another, this was the best advise from long time friend Captain Craig Cook of Croix Boy Charters and his wife, Wendy.

The ocean view and rainbow that greeted us in the morning is simply amazing, a great balcony breakfast is a grand way to start the day. The Grotto and Mermaid beach are super afternoon relaxing spots. Polly at the Grotto gave us amazing tips on the Island. She also teaches kids classes and loves this job. Bobby makes a good drink and tasty lunch. Tad is fun to talk to and makes great drinks too at the Mermaid bar.

The resort offers golf, tennis, and water activities. I highly recommend booking a Land or Sea Cruise with Croix Boy Charters at 717-507-5883. He also offers rides behind resort on water toys. Flying High Parasail was another highlight on our trip, the resort offers. Craig also took us to the Cruzan Rum Tour and other Island hot spots we would have never found on our own.

The Martel Lounge offers a picture perfect sunset. Deanna Brown, the bartender, is an amazing person and singer, She made our evenings a joy and enjoyed her talent live on Thursday night when the lounge showcased her on the main stage. What a great asset.

We left with huge smiles on our face and a tear in our eyes. We will come again soon as the Cruzan say, what a lovely Island Resort. Thank you! Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View in Main Building for amazing view of whole resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Great hotel! The staff is tremendous. We had our room upgraded so we stayed right on the beach. We had the ocean ten feet away and a beautiful western view sunset every night. All we had to do was step out on the back porch or look out our window.

We had easy access to all the facilities and a short walk to the beach each day. The beach had all the modern amenities required.

Room Tip: Stay on the beach with ocean view. It is worth the $$$$
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#3 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort
Tamarind Reef Resort
#4 of 16 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#6 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Hibiscus Beach Resort
Hibiscus Beach Resort
#7 of 16 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
1.6 mi away
Holger Danske Hotel
Holger Danske Hotel
#8 of 16 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
3.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#1 of 16 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.