We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd go back every year if we could ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Save Saved
You added The Buccaneer -- St Croix to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Buccaneer Treasures!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Christiansted
Boothwyn, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“We'd go back every year if we could ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We've stayed at the Buccaneer at least 4 times now, with the 1st time being in 1990. Recently, we've been staying in the doubloons, which are right on the beach. We prefer the upper level for the view -- but be careful -- the trees have grown so high now that we had to switch buildings because the view was blocked! The staff is very helpful is allowing you to select the particular room you want, as long as it is available. We've been able to select our room each time. The doubloons are gorgeous -- I've been there with my 3 children and also alone with my husband. If you have a family, there are 2 beds and a large window bed -- very helpful is accomodating 2 boys who don't want to sleep in the same bed. The bathroom is luxurious -- a huge shower, a whirlpool tub, great shampoo and conditioner -- and very environmentally friendly packaging. The towels are plush. There is a large separate dressing area. Free wifi that actually works very well!! The service is spectacular -- ice buckets filled twice a day, flowers and fruit baskets in the room. The beach is exactly what we like -- very calm. Lots of shade under the palm trees. Nice restaurant on the beach serving a good lunch. We used to love the ping pong table on the beach, but it was gone the last time we were there. There's plenty of kayaks, water sports equipment, etc. Dinner is average. Last time we were there, we decide to go off-site for dinner. We rented a car and found some very nice restaurants -- one a local spot up the street (Duggans) and another in Christiansted (Bacchus - very charming). Breakfast at the Buccaneer is excellent and was included in the price of our room. Be warned -- it is a hilly property. We prefer to walk up the hills, but it is strenuous. They have shuttles that are very prompt and will pick you up at the room if you prefer not to walk. The spa was quite nice -- went there for a massage. Cost is about what you'd expect at a resort. Although I don't golf, my husband and son enjoyed playing a round at the resort. There's great tennis courts also. We usually go in July-Aug time frame. It is pretty quiet at the resort at that time -- but that is exactly what I am seeking. If you're looking for adventurous nightlife, this might not be the island for you. But if you want a calm, peaceful relaxing vacation with a beautiful beach (the main reason we keep going back -- this beach is a favorite, tied with the beaches at Caneel Bay in St John), this is the place. Highly advise renting a car for a day or two and exploring the island. It's easy to get around. Recommend the bioluminescence kayak trip on the Salt River -- very cool. If you go, best to rent a car. Overall it is better than paying for a cab. You can also then take the beautiful drive to the Millenium Monument and take a hike to one of the secluded beaches nearby. Also, although we got lost trying to find it, with a car you can venture to Carambola Resort and hike to Annaly Bay to the Salt Pools. We were not prepared for the hike (you cannot drive to the Salt Pools) -- it is steep and not to be done in flip flops and without water. If you hike it, bring lots of water and wear good shoes. The staff at the hotel are very friendly. People always ask why I go back to St. Croix so much, when it's not as lively as St Thomas or the Bahamas. It's simple -- luxurious accomodations, beautiful bathroom, tranquil beach, quiet, peaceful, friendly people on the island. It is getting more involved to get there -- no more direct flights so it does take a full day of travel from the northeast. The only reason I do not give the resort 5 stars is that the quality of the food and service at dinner is not indicative of a 5 star restaurant. Would like to see more local fish selections with local flavors and prompter service (not northeast service time, but not glacial either) -- I know it's a slower pace and it seems there aren't enough servers at times, but sometimes the wait is very very long for drink refills, food, etc.

Room Tip: For the doubloons, reserve one of the last 2 buildings (the ones closest to the golf course) to ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    175
    40
    30
    24
See reviews for
188
307
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Everything worked, everything was clean, food was great, very peaceful... all the little things that make you happy like AC, shower pressure, comfy pillows etc.. Very hard to do on an island hotel. I was there with my family for 10 days, including a wedding. Other wedding guests stayed in other hotels and condos and did not enjoy their stay like we did. All said they would go to the Buccaneer next time.
We toured the island and found there was no better beach than Mermaid. Sand was fine, beach was clean, people were great,
Cell phone is spotty ( poor ) all over the island. WiFi in our room was ok, but not perfect.. But I was on vacation, so I was glad.
If I go back to St Crouix, I will not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Off season is a great time to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

LIke the other posts in the last week, we thoroughly enjoyed our Buccaneer vacation. With its close knit atmosphere, it seems that everyone knows each other by the end of the visit. Thus I was smiling to read the West Virginia summary. They sat near us at breakfast most days.
We celebrated our 20th anniversary and were upgraded from ocean view to the a luxury suite on the water. It was heavenly to listen to the waves at night as we fell asleep. No complaints here and we really appreciated the bug spray for our use. It definitely was "no see um" season. The concierge was so helpful in setting up a car rental for a day and also trips to Buck Island etc. Thanks again Laura and Rebecca.
Breakfast was delicious as was dinner at the Terrace. Yes, food is expensive on the island but no worse than Hawaiian Islands! We enjoyed Duggans Reef but wouldn't return to Angry Nates.
Looking forward to another trip to St. Croix in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Just returned from 5 days with our boys, ages 10 and 4, for what was the best vacation we've ever had. This was my husband's and my 2nd trip to St. Croix, the first for our boys, and our first stay at "The Buc." We chose the Buccaneer primarily due to the "kids camp" so that my husband and I could have some much-needed "couples time" and our boys could play with other children, and it worked out great! Our boys loved the kids camp--they took them to the beach, pool, and had plenty of "indoor" fun to get out of the hot sun for a bit. We had to drag them away for family time! We loved that the hotel provided plenty of complimentary beach toys for the kids, not to mention, sea kayaks and snorkeling gear for the adults!
We stayed in a "family cottage," which was perfect for the 4 of us. Ours had a beautiful view of Christiansted and was a short walk to the main lodge and the beaches. Housekeeping brought pitchers of fresh water and filled our ice buckets daily, in addition to nightly turn-down service, which was a nice touch.
The complimentary breakfast buffet was outstanding, and "Ms. Marcia" took care of us every day with a smile, right down to remembering chocolate milk for our little guy. We even booked a babysitter through the concierge, Rebecca, and had a wonderful dinner at the Terrace overlooking the gorgeous sunset at Christiansted. (We chose to eat outdoors at the lounge to enjoy the open air.)
As other reviewers have noted, the view from The Buccaneer is one of the best on St. Croix. The snorkeling at the reef just steps from Grotto Beach was amazing--saw lots of tropical fish and even a sting ray!
The highlight of our trip was the manager's reception at the resort's sugar mill on Tuesday evening, with an unforgettable Mocko Jumbie show to beautiful steel pan music by Bill Bass.
Another great family-oriented activity I recommend is the hermit crab races at Fort Christian Brew Pub on Monday nights. Our boys loved it.
The only negative of our stay was, one evening a rain storm set in and we decided to order room service for dinner. (Had we noticed the giant golf umbrella in our closet that evening we might have chosen otherwise!) Unfortunately, it took over 2 hours to get our food, and when it arrived, our chicken sandwiches were cold and dried out, our fries were soggy and so disgusting we could not eat them, and our drinks were warm---hardly what we expected for almost $100!!!! I can only assume that the room service staff was overwhelmed with orders due to the storm, but an explanation/apology would have been nice. The food overall was expensive, which we've come to expect from the Caribbean. Learned the hard way that refills on sodas are NOT free at Mermaid Beach!
However, I highly recommend The Buccaneer to anyone looking for a family -friendly vacation in paradise!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I booked our trip from Pittsburgh, PA to St. Croix 5 days in advance of us leaving... I only mention this b/c we had to take a 9 seater Cessna plane from St. Thomas to St. Croix then from St. Croix to Puerto Rico. Get a more direct flight/larger plane if you can.

The Buccaneer is like it's own self serving compound. It has 3 beaches, golf course, pool, tennis courts, restaurants, etc. There is a security gate so all vehicle traffic has to enter and exit the resort through it & we always felt safe and never saw anything sketchy. The variety of rooms gives you an amazing view of some part of the island no matter which room you pick. We originally booked a mountain view suite but we upgraded upon our arrival to an ocean view room. This room was beautiful, nice set up, balcony with chairs that looked out to the ocean. However, after an hour of unpacking and getting ready to go to dinner, my allergies kicked in which made me notice, what looked like mold on the ceiling of our room. We asked to be moved and the hotel accommodated us and moved us to a tennis court villa with an ocean view which put us closer to the beach - yay!
The breakfast buffet rocks and the view from the Terrace restaurant is beautiful. We had dinner there our first night which was ok but the food was nothing to write home about. The people at The Buccaneer are very nice, which was pleasurable in itself.

Bring good sunscreen! Bring snorkel gear if you have it, or rent it from the hotel- there are coral reefs off of mermaid beach that we explored for hours- too too cool, like Jacques Cousteau / National Geographic cool.Take the jogging trail onto the golf course to Whistle Beach, it has the most amazing conch shells I've ever seen. The grotto beach has a mongoose living near it and he's cool to watch plus all kinds of little hermit crabs. Grotto beach has a considerable about of rock/coral so swimming isn't as good as it is around the corner at Mermaid beach.
Plan to take a cab (cab's are shuttle vans) to the board walk for dinner and to check stuff out. (Rum Runners had really good food, we ate there 2 nights in a row).Everything closes at like 5 pm so we didn't get to do any shopping because we got there later for dinner. Go to the ice cream shop, can't remember the name, it's sooo good!
Be prepared to pay, wherever you go. Keep in mind you're on island time. Everyone is nice but things move slow on St. Croix but you come to appreciate it for the few days you're there. We didn't discover much night life, bars close around midnight but we were too tired to stay up past 10 pm anyway. Random note: The sun sets at like 7:30 pm- was not expecting that so at 8 pm my internal clock was ready for bed. It normally "rains" in the morning but you'd never know it b/c 10 minutes later it all dries up.
GO TO BUCK ISLAND! It's like post card beautiful. White sand, turquoise water and no people. We took the Jolly Roger sail boat there then they took us off shore and we snorkeled for around 2-3 hours. It was really neat to see all that coral but the waters are kind of ruff and a few of us ran into some of the coral which is illegal to touch and will kill it. I'd go to Buck Island again but would prefer to skip all the open water snorkeling ( but that's just me).
Take motion sickness medicine with you. I am a boater, ride roller coasters, have been on the ocean many times but I got sea sick. It was horrible and that's all I'll say about it.

Room Tip: If it smells musty when you first enter your room, ask to be moved. Next time we are getting the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The views do not get any better than from the Buccaneer Resort. Enjoyed the selection of beaches, running paths, and ocean-front bungalow with private deck. The rooms were very large and the AC worked incredibly well (a true luxury on the island!). The resort is rather secluded, so there is not much food or entertainment within walking distance, as with other hotels in downtown Christiansted.

Room Tip: Ask for a room down by the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I just celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary at The Buccaneer. We selected this resort based on other reviews and The Buccaneer's website. I was a little hesitant after reading a few negative reviews, but the good ones far outweighed the bad. We had reserved an Deluxe Oceanfront Room, but we were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a Luxury Doubloon! We also received a complementary bottle of champagne and a very gracious welcome note by the owner, Elizabeth Armstrong. Overall, our experience was delightful. We had a few rainy days mixed in, but the staff was always cheery. The breakfast buffet was delicious, and the service was outstanding. We hope to return one day with our children.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Address: 5007 Estate Shoys, Gallows Bay | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buccaneer -- St Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.