We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek? St. Croix? Yes!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pickled Greek

Pickled Greek
East End Road, Christiansted, St. Croix
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Greek? St. Croix? Yes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I went to dinner here last night. Not terribly busy so we had our choice of seating. We're waited on by the owner, Peter. He is very entertaining and funny. Enthusiastic about the fiord, the restaurant, his customers and the island. We split an excellent, real Greek salad ( no lettuce). I had the very tasty non-vegetarian moussaka while my wife had the wahoo fish special. We shared and loved both dishes. Finished with some Ouzo and dessert. Had lots of good conversation with Peter and just a generally good time. We would highly recommend the Pickled Greek to anyone visiting the island. Good food, good service & good people! What more can you ask for?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    38
    23
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Zeus would be pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Kept passing by this place and decided to stop by on our last night on the island. I was surprised at the festive mood this place gives. The outside was packed so we had to sit inside. Really like the owner of this establishment, you can tell he really enjoys and loves what he does. As for the food, it was great. I of course had a Gyro with Chickpea fries. I had no idea what they were but the menu said famous so i gave them a try. They were very good and if i could compare them to something i would say they taste like hushpuppies. The Gyro was great and loaded with meat. Who would have thought you could find such great Gyro's in the VI. Would definitely recommend stopping by this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You must visit Pickled Greek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This is the best gyro I have had since I left the states. Peter is a sweet heart and made sure we have everything we need. Don't forget to try the Ouzo. Yumm. This place is by far one of the best restaurants on the island. Must see and eat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Okay Greek food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had dinner here based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. We have been to many Greek restaurants and found this just average in quality. This is home style Greek cooking that is notable for the large servings provided. We had the chick pea fries which were okay but rather heavy, and the Dolmades which were okay -- both very large servings. We shared a main course -- Chicken a la planka, which was tasty enough but not exceptional. Value here is really good -- you get a lot for your money. Beer selection the night we were there was very limited. Only one person was running the restaurant that night in addition to the person cooking. Service was fine and definitely friendly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, good people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We randomly stopped by for lunch and had an excellent and extremely filling meal. The owner even took the time to chat with us, gave us some samples of the house-made baklava ice cream, and gave us some passionfruit from his yard. As visitors from the mainland US this level of personal attention was a wonderful surprise!

We enjoyed all the dishes we ordered, but the big hit was the "chickpea fries"- so good and the dipping sauce was perfect! "Efcharisto" to the Pickled Greek.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickled Greek also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Pickled Greek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickled Greek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.