We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Cafe

Paradise Cafe
53B Company St, Christiansted, St. Croix
340.773.2985
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 88 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hidden up the street a bit. I had an excellent philly cheese steak and some cold beer. My husband had the same ad a pain killer. The service was really fast and they were all friendly there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BabsO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best conch we have had on STX”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our family of 8 (ages 13 - 69) went to Paradise Cafe for dinner. Normally, I really try to eat outdoors when I am in St Croix but decided to make an exception. I was glad we did. We started with the conch and everyone agreed that it was the best we have ever had. There was a large selection of menu items from salads to sandwiches to entrees. I had the gyro and it was delicious. My daughter had the reuben sandwich and she loved it. The cheeseburger, spinach ravioli (homemade) and jambalaya also won rave reviews. Everyone agreed that it was one of the best meals we ate during our trip. I agree with the many other reviewers who recommend the painkiller - yummy!!! The restaurant itself is small so I would recommend a reservation if you have a certain time you want to eat (or a large group). Don't let the unassuming exterior turn you away from this restaurant. Great choice for dining in downtown Christiansted.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travel43_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Mahi Mahi Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Paradise Cafe in Christiansted St. Croix is a Hidden Gem. The Food is excellant, no matter what you order. Say Hi to Tommy the owner from Massachusetts ,he is always there to accomodate. They have the Best Crabmeat stuffed Mahi Mahi that I have ever had. The A/C is always on so you are always comfortable in the Paradise.Paradise Cafe is a Must stop when you are visiting St. Croix one of the United States Virgin Islands!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great French Dip, Perfect Painkillers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The bartender (and owner, I assume) gave us a great introduction to the island. The french dip was great and I drank the au jus when no one was looking. The painkillers here are the measuring stick against which all other island drinks should be measured.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were actually looking for another spot, when a local asked if she could help us. She recommended the Paradise Cafe, and it was a terrific recommendation. On the way inwe met another group of Americans who had high praise for this place.
Tom, the owner is from Massachusetts, and knows everything about Christiansted, including where to shop for the authentic jewelry I was looking for. When I asked for a good rum drink, he didn't hesitate, he just said "painkiller". And it was. A perfect island drink.
This isn't your usual small restaurant with a limited menu. Everything is made exactly the way you want it, right down to the type of bread on your sandwich. The food was fresh and tasty, and even the side salads were nicely presented.
There appeared to be mostly locals, and everyone was very friendly, even asking how my drink was.
This was a wonderful place for a lunch. Thanks, Tom!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charv831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Cafe also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Paradise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing