We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Cafe

Paradise Cafe
53B Company St, Christiansted, St. Croix
340.773.2985
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 69 Restaurants in Christiansted
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Hidden up the street a bit. I had an excellent philly cheese steak and some cold beer. My husband had the same ad a pain killer. The service was really fast and they were all friendly there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    21
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best conch we have had on STX”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Our family of 8 (ages 13 - 69) went to Paradise Cafe for dinner. Normally, I really try to eat outdoors when I am in St Croix but decided to make an exception. I was glad we did. We started with the conch and everyone agreed that it was the best we have ever had. There was a large selection of menu items from salads to sandwiches to entrees. I had the gyro and it was delicious. My daughter had the reuben sandwich and she loved it. The cheeseburger, spinach ravioli (homemade) and jambalaya also won rave reviews. Everyone agreed that it was one of the best meals we ate during our trip. I agree with the many other reviewers who recommend the painkiller - yummy!!! The restaurant itself is small so I would recommend a reservation if you have a certain time you want to eat (or a large group). Don't let the unassuming exterior turn you away from this restaurant. Great choice for dining in downtown Christiansted.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
1 review
“The Best Mahi Mahi Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Paradise Cafe in Christiansted St. Croix is a Hidden Gem. The Food is excellant, no matter what you order. Say Hi to Tommy the owner from Massachusetts ,he is always there to accomodate. They have the Best Crabmeat stuffed Mahi Mahi that I have ever had. The A/C is always on so you are always comfortable in the Paradise.Paradise Cafe is a Must stop when you are visiting St. Croix one of the United States Virgin Islands!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Great French Dip, Perfect Painkillers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The bartender (and owner, I assume) gave us a great introduction to the island. The french dip was great and I drank the au jus when no one was looking. The painkillers here are the measuring stick against which all other island drinks should be measured.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were actually looking for another spot, when a local asked if she could help us. She recommended the Paradise Cafe, and it was a terrific recommendation. On the way inwe met another group of Americans who had high praise for this place.
Tom, the owner is from Massachusetts, and knows everything about Christiansted, including where to shop for the authentic jewelry I was looking for. When I asked for a good rum drink, he didn't hesitate, he just said "painkiller". And it was. A perfect island drink.
This isn't your usual small restaurant with a limited menu. Everything is made exactly the way you want it, right down to the type of bread on your sandwich. The food was fresh and tasty, and even the side salads were nicely presented.
There appeared to be mostly locals, and everyone was very friendly, even asking how my drink was.
This was a wonderful place for a lunch. Thanks, Tom!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Cafe also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Paradise Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.