We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect setting on beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harbormaster Restaurant

Harbormaster Restaurant
Protestant Cay, Christiansted, St. Croix
340.773.2035
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 81 Restaurants in Christiansted
Restaurant details
Arnold, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“perfect setting on beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

great omelets and sandwiches-Sondra our waitress was wonderful-rum drinks fantastic in variety and taste

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wish it had been better!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had been to St. Croix last year for a week and had always wanted to go to Protestant cay but never made it. During a one day cruise stop last week, we decided to take the opportunity to check it out - especially since it was a Sunday and many of the shops in Christiansted were closed. The water taxi ride to the cay is inexpensive (five or six dollars per person round trip) and takes just a couple of minutes. The beach area is very small. There are chairs and umbrellas which can be rented at the entrance to the cay. we did not do this; instead, we decided to have lunch at the Harbourmaster Restaurant. This was a mistake!!! The wait staff was friendly and our order was taken relatively quickly, but we waited two hours for our food. We are used to "island time" and were not in a significant hurry, but two hours for a chicken sandwich and fries is unreasonable. They were having a brunch buffet, but the cost was a bit high and we preferred to order from the menu. Obviously, the brunch would have been faster!! The view is very nice from the restaurant and each table has an umbrella so we were shaded from the sun. The bill for two sandwiches/fries and four bottled waters was over $30.00 plus tip. My husband's food was cold. My chicken was VERY well done - typically that doesn't bother me (I prefer well done to NOt done enough), but it was chewy and did not have a lot of flavor. I would NOT recommend the restaurant especially since there are three much better restaurants on the boardwalk just on the other side of the cay in Christiansted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tuesday evening West Indian BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The buffet was okay. The food was plentiful as it was an all you can eat. Ribs, chicken, fish, corn, mac and cheese, watermelon, cake and apple pie....something to please everyone. Cost was $30 a person...no drinks included. The show started an hour later but we were too far away to enjoy it. Not sure it was worth the money. Time spent there was 2 1/2 hours including the show.

Ate at the Harbormaster a day later and although service was slow, lunch was good and the drinks were delicious. They have some non-alcoholic island specials which were quite tasty.

This restaurant serves its purpose when you do not want to take the 90 second ferry to the restaurants on the Boardwalk.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for breakfast and lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

While rather unassuming in appearance, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. Breakfast omelettes were fresh and stuffed. Chicken sandwiches were juicy. Prices were reasonable compared to the rest of Christiansted. The beach BBQ on Tuesday night had decent food and some fun entertainment. Definitely worth it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Tuesday night BBQ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We got into St. Croix on a Tuesday and our innkeeper mentioned this as something we could do for dinner. We thought what the heck, its pretty close by lets go. We took the ferry over a little after 6:30. When we got to the other side, you pay for your round trip ticket. The woman asked if we wanted to purchase a raffle ticket for later that evening. She wasn't pushy but you could tell she wanted to sell some tickets. I bought one. When you walk over to the BBQ area, you pay by the bar and then take a seat of your choice. Tickets for 2 of us was 57 bucks and do not include drinks of any kind. BBQ consisted of some salad type stuff, side dishes (mac and cheese, sweet potatoes, etc.), main dishes were ribs, chicken, and mahi mahi. Desserts included fruit, white/chocolate cake, and apple pie. The best thing about this experience was being able to sit on the beach to eat. The food is not good. meats were overcooked and tasteless. side dishes were boring with the exception of the sweet potato dish, which did have some flavor. Desserts were not good, well the fruit was ok. I did purchase a drink called a calypso and it was actually good. Entertainment includes steel drum band and a mocko jumbie(sp). This was ok, but there is better on the island. My opinion is to skip this altogether. I will say the beach is nice. Visit during the day to swim, but you take your chance if you go to the BBQ.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbormaster Restaurant also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Harbormaster Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbormaster Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.