We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Christine

Cafe Christine
6 company st, Christiansted, St. Croix
340.713.1500
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 73 Restaurants in Christiansted
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Christiansted, St. Croix
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Christine prepares fabulous light dishes. Her pies are outstanding as well. I also love her chicken Victoria salad. Enjoy dining on the patio or inside in Air-conditioned comfort.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Everything Christine Cooks is DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have been going for years and it is the BEST place for lunch in Christiansted. We all eat whatever she makes that day-- a french trained chef with the specials written on the board each day--one pasta dish; two or three salads; a vegetarian plate; a quiche; a special; and 3 kinds of pies to die for (order them when you order lunch or they sell out). Try the pate with a small salad and french bread and ALWAYS order the soup of the day-- you will literally want to lick the plate. All locals go here-- kind of hard to find in the Apothecary courtyard behind the mexican place "Luncheria" but don't give up! Reservations are a must 340-713-1500. It's tiny with indoor and outdoor seating.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bravo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

My favorite place to eat on St Croix. Always delicious, warm and friendly. They are living their passion.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I am in St. Croix a few times a year and Cafe Christine is #1 on my list to visit every time. The food is, in a word - beautiful. Delicious with wonderful presentation. Service is attentive and caring. The outdoor patio delightful. After a few visits - we were addressed by name - every time we return. And we will return time and time again. As good as any food I have had in France. The only regret is that Cafe Christine is not open for dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Better than average but not enough for "very good" rating.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had been told to go to Christine's and it was interesting that it is only open for lunch on weekdays. It was pouring all morning and we were happy to find the outdoor seating area covered. There were several tables already reserved but we had no trouble being seated - probably because it was just noon. It was very warm and humid though rain had stopped. Interesting menu and I might have been inclined to try one of the more pricey dishes but was feeling a bit frugal on last day of trip and noticed they did not take credit cards. Opted for herb ice tea and two of us had the cold soup and salad. Another person had a larger salad with proscuitto I wish I had chosen. Waitress was pleasant though a bit affected and told us to simply push away the cat who was hanging around.
She described the soup in detail and it sounded quite good, but in fact it was on the thick side and heavy for cold soup - not sure what sort of bisque it was - didn't finish it. Salad and tea were fine. Darling bathroom in an out-building in courtyard. Server kept referring to chef in glowing terms but it was a mysterious who the "she" was - Christine? Couldn't see inside from porch since there is rubber slated screen covering the doorway but I saw the daily pies on counter when went to look for rest room - they are probably delicious but it was too hot for desert. While we were there another party of three arrived and sat at one of the reserved tables and there was another customer eating inside. The server seemed friendlier to other table outside but perhaps she knew them? Didn't really enjoy the lunch though that might have been my problem or the uncomfortable weather and the fact that they do not take any credit cards. I had just replenished cash at ATM for cab to airport the following day and had to return and spend another service fee to replenish again after paying cash for lunch. When I am home and at local restaurants that don't take cards, I am ok with it but on vacation I think merchants - especially in upscale restaurants - should take cards when even the smaller merchants take them. This was another annoyance. Might be more enjoyable under other circumstances and if prepared to pay cash. But in the end, I would recommend this for location and uniqueness.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Christine also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Cafe Christine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Christine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.