We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner in the beautiful old courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savant

Savant
4C Hospital St., Christiansted, St. Croix
340.713.8666
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: 340-713-8666
Bar Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Dinner in the beautiful old courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Had dinner with friends tonight In the atmospheric stone courtyard. Even though it rained they had the tarp up so all could enjoy this beautiful space. The food was very good - especially the ultra fresh local - and the service by rhe lovely and professionl ladies was excellent. Another plus for downtown Christiansted- lots of parking.

Go and enjoy....but you must eat outside.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    77
    31
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mohnton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“40TH Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was an amazing evening, from when we 1st made reservation , right thru dessert.Everyhting was fresh, clean and beautiful. The service was excellent, especially like my coffee presentation, Overall food was delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Never expected this...make a reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We so enjoyed our evening at Savant, a place we walked by many times and dismissed. We were so pleased we read the reviews on TA...and discovered this lovely place. The food, the service and the ambience are excellent. The use of local fish(wahoo), greens and inspired preparation coupled with an intimate setting made foor a memorable evening. The service was attentive and authentic. We saw several parties come in with no reservations who had to be politely turned away. Pricing is typical for a high end restaurant in the states... We look forward to enjoying again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had anniversary dinner here and it was wonderful. They staff was friendly and helpful. Our chef Daryl prepared two of the specials for us and we were both extremely pleased. This would definitely be on the top of my " not to be missed" list!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“One of the Best St. croix has to Offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Upon driving through the parking lot, one would never expect to find such an enchanting restaurant lit up from the stars above and the tiny lights adorning the trees of this patio area where dinner is served. Be surer to request outside dining to get in the Caribbean mood, as there is a small indoors portion that lacks the charm of outdoors.

A full bar is there first thing you see when entering this space. People even dine at the bar when they are not lucky enough too get a table.

Savant has been around for years, but this St.. Croix annual visitor thinks it's gotten better with each year.

The menu is Caribbean/Mexican. It's a strange duo, but I suppose it works. We love the local fish so we couldn't resist the specials. I started with a lobster egg roll presented with an unusual tasty dipping sauce. Served warm and crispy, there wasn't a trace of oil. The portion was do large that we should have split it. However, because my husband can't resist fresh grilled calamari, he ordered that as well. Neither of us had a complaint other than too much food.

Maui Maui was the catch of the day, and we ordered it each prepared differently. I was thrilled with mine served with fresh poached peaches, a mint marscipone ball sitting over a spinach salad with beet chips. Equally as yummy was my husband's preparation grilled perfectly and accompanied with a crab mousse and a wonderful risotto. There was a third offering of Maui that sounded equally as good.

Enjoying a good Cosmo to start the evening and continuing with a crisp cold pinot grigio from the varied wine list, the service and meal doesn't get much better than this in St. Croix.

Definitely a favorite, Savant should not be missed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savant also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Savant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.