We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New St.Croix favorite!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savant

Savant
4C Hospital St., Christiansted, St. Croix
340.713.8666
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: 340-713-8666
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New St.Croix favorite!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I dined at Savant with my boo on a Friday night outside in the courtyard setting. The atmosphere and ambiance of the courtyard setting is amazing. It's not too lighted but not too dark either...makes a lovely romantic dinner. The servers were very nice and checked on us an adequate amount of times. I was very impressed with the entire meal from appetizer to dessert. The chicken lollipops appetizer was to die for!!! Sooooooo scrumptious! The beer battered fish with special dipping sauce was so fresh and tasty as well. We both had a mahi special for dinner. I must say I have never had fish that is so moist, tender, and tasted very fresh. For desserts we picked frozen key lime pie and rum cake. My fave was the frozen key lime pie...it melted in my mouth and had the right amount of sweet and lime taste with an amazing crust. I will definetly be back to this lovely restaurant!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    216
    71
    27
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ruston, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wonderful and very romantic....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

spent our anniversary dinner there .... was recommened by our hotel ..loved the courtyard and the food was great..

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive, but very good fusion menu with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

You have your choice of a nicely air-conditioned dining room, or a lovely courtyard, depending on your preference. Both are appropriate for either a special occasion or a more casual dinner. The food was excellent; the egg rolls were the best I've ever had. The service was fantastic - when we weren't thrilled with another appetizer (we didn't complain, we just noticeably hadn't eaten much), the server replaced them with something else for us.
As good as the food was, I won't go often - just for special occasions; the food was fairly eclectic and won't appeal broadly (meat and potatoes eaters beware) and the prices are fairly high.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu of great food, cool atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our first visit to Savant. We chose to eat inside in the AC at a charming table for 2 in the eclectic, funky yet sophisticated "vintage" feeling dining room filled with black and white prints, shabby chic chandeliers and gauzy curtains as room dividers. The food was fantastic. We shared tasty fish tacos as an appetizer which came with a delicious spicy dipping sauce. I ordered the grilled mahi mahi with the black bean melon salsa and double vegetables (instead of the basmati rice) which was melt-in-your-mouth delicious and a work of art (see photo.) My husband had the chicken fajitas, which he declared the best he'd ever had, due to the unique Thai seasoning. Although it was somewhat pricey, I did not find it any more so than other nice restaurants on the island or in the Caribbean in general. They had a nice wine list but we did not try any. Next time we're on St. Croix, we will definitely eat here again, and we'll check out the beautiful outdoor courtyard!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penwell, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eclectic and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We recently ate in the wonderfully romantic courtyard. The menu offered a variety of different items, which appealed to my husband and I. We had the lobster egg roll, cassava encrusted catch of the day, and miso honey noodles. Each dish was amazing and flavorful.
The service was good. The prices were decent as well.
After eating at most places in Christiansted, this place had the best food!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savant also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Savant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.