We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal of the entire trip!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kendricks

Kendricks
The Buccaneer | 5007 Shoys, Christiansted, St. Croix
340.773.9199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 69 Restaurants in Christiansted
Cuisines: French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Union, MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best meal of the entire trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the menu, to the wait staff to the ambiance......a huge hit with us. The chef prepared mahi mahi like we've never had it. The king crab cakes appetizer was almost a meal by itself and the duck was the best we ever had!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    14
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
TUS
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Island treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dining in or outside the restaurant offers a pleasant atmosphere to enjoy the well prepared meals. Local caught fish are prepared several ways to meet everyones taste, and there is always plenty of meat on the menu. They also have a nice bar and well stocked wine celler. The place is a must when you come to St Croix.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food, service, and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I visited Kendricks for the first time tonight with my family. The place is beautiful, decorated with lovely paintings and unique masks. The candle-lit tables mingled with the art and elegant tables creates an intimate setting. In the humidity that is common on St. Croix, we all enjoyed the cool A.C. As for the food, we had no complaints whatsoever. The mussels and ravioli appetizers were yummy. The bread was also delicious. Everyone enjoyed their dishes which included the filet mignon, the mahi special with a mango relish (absolutely AMAZING), the chicken in a balsamic reduction, and the pasta with shrimp. As for their dessert, I would recommend the chocolate mousse. Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone. It's beautiful, the food is great, and the service is fantastic.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A touch of New York!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

You would swear that if you were inside the hip comfortable dining bar area of Kendrix that you could easily step outside and be stepping out of a trendy place in Manhattan! The menu has a large selection of tasty and well prepared dishes, ranging from escargo (fabulous with a creamy white wine sauce and bread to soak up the last bite) to the fresh catch options, to the shrimp to the steaks...... very good wine menu and a magical outdoor courtyard to also sit and eat downtown. Well worth a trip with someone special or with a group.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always Very Very Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Whether you dine in the historic carriage house (patio) or upstairs in the air conditioned lounge Dave and Jane have always provided a world class dining experience. I don't think I've ever dined there without having the Chipotle Soup. The menu entrees are always great and the specials, always with a fresh seafood are awesome. End the dinner with one of Daniel's dessert martinis (I love the gingerbread martini and I'm not even a martini drinker). This is consistently our choice for a birthday, anniversary, or just a great night out with excellent food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kendricks also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Kendricks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendricks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.