We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Local Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's

Harvey's
11B Company St., Christiansted, St. Croix
340.773.3433
Update restaurant details
Ranked #11 of 64 restaurants in Christiansted
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Real Local Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was a really cute place in Christiansted, my friends wanted to try real "island" food so we got a recommendation to come to Harvey's or Kim's, since we went for lunch we were told to go to Harvey's... so we did :) It seems like its family run, we were welcomed in by a gentleman who went over the menu with us, which was hand written on a small legal pad. The atmosphere is cute, defiantly local feel to it. The food is good and you get a lot for your money. I ordered the Conch in a Creole sauce and my friends ordered Mahi Mahi, with that you get peas, pasta, rice, and I cant remember what else but it was a plate full of food. They also make lemonade and a few other drinks that we had as well. The cook, an elder woman came out and personally delivered us some bread, I cant remember what it was called, but it was delicious and its always nice to meet the chef. Def a great spot for good local food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    37
    21
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Miss Harvey is such a great cook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Truly local flavor and atmosphere. Food is wonderful and plentiful. What's cooking that day is what is served, so look for the chalkboard with the days offerings, there is something you will just love.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best local flare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

So good for local food. Fresh fish, conch, goat paired with local rice, peas, plantains! Large portions"""

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great local food...great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Had lunch here on 2/7. We arrived just as they opened for lunch (11:30 that day) and were soon joined by a full house of locals. The owner and bar tender were very friendly and the owner told us all about growing-up with Tim Duncan and other local information. We took his recommendation and had the tamarind juice to drink (very refreshing). I had the conch (melt in your mouth!) and the wife had the fresh creole snapper (very good). Both of us had the sides of the day; rice, sweet potato mash, and plantains which were all incredibly good and filling. Just a great place for large portions of great food at a very reasonable cost and really nice, friendly people. Just look for the building with Tim Duncan's picture painted on it on the left side as you travel down Company Street.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willmar, MN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Local lunches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Our cab driver said this restaurant is one of the best for local food; he's right. There was a happy mix of tourists and local citizens enjoying their food. There is a bar. Credit cards are acceptable.It is lunch only -- closes at 3 or 3:30pm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey's also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Harvey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.