We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duggan's Reef

Duggan's Reef
East End Rd., Christiansted, St. Croix
340.773.9800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 69 Restaurants in Christiansted
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We came across Duggan's Reef randomly looking for some place to eat and we were glad we did. The food was delicious and the staff was incredibly polite and accommodating considering we did not have a reservation. The atmosphere was was nice and the sounds of the waves with a nice meal on our last night in St. Croix was the perfect way to end a great vacation.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    53
    12
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saugerties, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Only good part was the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Went there for my wife's birthday. Made reservations for 6 people. When my wife and I arrived, we just sat there. No one, I mean no one greeted us. We were the first ones to arrive. I had to go ask someone if we could find a table. I was told the owner would be right with us. This was the gentleman talking with some people right in front of us. Never even acknowledged us. Never even said Hi. We sat there for 15 minutes. I ended up interrupting him and asked if we could get the corner table. He said he was waiting on someone that made reservations for that table. It was us! He then stated oh, I just saw the two of you. Like two of us didn't really matter. Once we seated, the drinks from the bar were good. My wife had the lobster. A bit pricey for anywhere. She also ordered a baked potato and asparagus and got mashed potato's with broccoli. I had the fried chicken. Honestly KFC was better. Portion very small. The waitress was Very nice. Pleasant and was very attentive to us, apologized for the mix up. She even brought out a candle in our dessert so we could sing Happy Birthday. If it wasn't for the owner being so rude, this would have been an excellent rating, even with the price of the food. My wife had her lobster for her birthday so she was happy. The restaurant was right on the water and what a beautiful view.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food, pleasant relaxing dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Good food, wait staff very friendly provided suggestions for menu as well as things to do on St. Croix

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We went there for brunch on Sunday. They pile the bacon on your plate. Breakfast is great. The view is magnificent. Wonderful ambiance there is a wrecked boat just down the beach great photo op!!!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and superb service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We loved Duggan's! We went there for drinks often, because we were staying at a condo across the street at The Reef. The drinks were great - Jamie is a fantastic bartender. He took good care of us and had many recommendations for things to do on our vacation. We only ate there once and I wish we would have done that more. They were out of the whiskey lobster the night we were there for dinner. I had the fried chicken with mashed potatoes and grilled asparagus - amazing. My husband had the pork tenderloin with spiced rum apple butter - wow! That apple butter was insanely good. It was rather crowded while we ate but our server - Sally, I think - checked on us several times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duggan's Reef also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Duggan's Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duggan's Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.