We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lobster” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duggan's Reef

Duggan's Reef
East End Rd., Christiansted, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 84 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Its been a couple of years since we were back to Duggan's and we are very glad the we chose to return. It was a very busy Friday night and the service was slow, but since we were on vacation it didn't matter to us but we could see the impatience growing on the faces of others. The Lobster and Mango Spring rolls were a pleasant surprise, although their ponzu sauce was more like a soy sauce. Two of us had the grilled Lobster and I like that they offer it in three sizes. It was cooked perfectly and was one of the best Caribbean lobsters I have had. One member of the party had their famous Whisky Lobster and although it was good, he wished that he had stuck with the simplicity of the grilled Lobster as the sauce on his dish was too overpowering. And of course, we had to finish the night with a Calypso Daiquiri and enjoyed the trade winds passing through....we will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank 1696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to St Croix for over 16 years and we stop at Duggan's at least once every trip. The food is wonderful and the staff is fantastic.

Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Loved everything about Duggans especially the baked lobster and the New England college pennants hanging from the rafters.

Visited January 2013
Thank LIsa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“John Wayne, Frank Duggan and Lobster au Gratin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This review is long overdue. Frank Duggan opened his doors - a misnomer as the restaurant's entrance has no door - to the public in late 1985. In January of 1987, I sat at the bar looking out at Buck Island, cold Heineken in hand, enjoying excellent gazpacho while marveling at the Hobie Cat skills of a Cruzan monikered Mad Max. Duggan's is no longer open in the afternoon but my family and I have never stopped going back. It was our first stop on island in 1990 after Hurricane Hugo devastated St Croix in September 1989. Duggan's lost its long pier but the restaurant was miraculously spared.
Fast forward to 2013. My family has spent the last twelve Christmas Eves at Duggan's. It is as entrenched a tradition as a nuclear family will allow. Why? In a word, consistency. This former University of Massachusetts-Amherst undergrad and Viet Nam grunt oversees a tightly run organization with veterans like Sean and Cassie at the bar, Eric, Judy, and Sally attending the diners, and a steady kitchen staff. Frank himself can be seen bussing tables and setting out menus. Make no mistake about it; Duggan's is his place.
The specials change daily and always features something that had been swimming that morning. By island standards, the wine list is carefully selected and the price points are good. Mixed drinks are generous and expertly mixed. The Planter's punch cannot be duplicated stateside. Appetizers include an excellent lobster bisque, tuna sashimi and tartare and lobster rolls. A tastefully dressed Caesar salad with just enough anchovy is one of my wife's favorites. It is hard to pick a single favorite entree because, more often than not, it is one of the specials that commands attention - tuna, wahoo, mahi and, of course, Cruzan lobster. The kitchen can do these as a lightly-battered tempura.
My favorite? I allow my coronaries the incomparable lobster au gratin once per visit to the island. I prefer farfalle to the penne on the menu but that is a personal choice. My wife likes a piece of red meat occasionally and Frank's steaks are recognized as the finest on island. The prices are island and resort competitive. The place gets busy especially during season and on weekends. We like the Sunday brunch featuring $3 Bloody Mary's and Mimosa's which are the real thing; specials can include a generous slice of duck confit quiche or basic bacon and eggs.
The challenges of running any restaurant are well known; running an island restaurant approaches the impossible. But Duggan's accedes to the impossible every night. Hence, my rating of excellent.
John Wayne? Despite the celebrity-photo plastered walls, it is the little cinema poster next to the picture of Joe Dimaggio and Ted Willlams that provides the clue. A long time ago, Frank saw the movie, "Donovan's Reef", starring the Duke and Lee Marvin. And. as they say in Hollywood, the rest is history.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best of Island fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The view of the sea the sound of the waves and the great seafood. Duggan's is perfect for that romantic dinner

Visited December 2012
Thank stcroix20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duggan's Reef also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix

Been to Duggan's Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing