We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“book ahead” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge

Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge
St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 83 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Scuba diving, Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“book ahead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I can see Sandy Point from where I'm staying. I had no idea about it until I got here. I'd recommend you connect with the facility and book tour. I've been told that you can see sea turtles laying their eggs and coming to and from the ocean. This to me would be amazing. Unfortunately I didn't get there but I'm giving it a five star simply from what I've heard people say.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    16
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful clear water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This beach is pristine...soft sandy beach with beautiful clear water. Entry to the water has a steep drop off that quickly goes to 5+ feet, and the current can be strong. Since we had our two young children with us, we had to stay close to make sure they were okay. Maybe not the best beach if you have young kids but definitely worth the visit. The beach is only open Saturday-Sunday 10-4.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth the trek out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

What a view, the water is amazingly blue. Bring a towel and enjoy your lunch on the beach. It is not one of the secluded beaches, this one had the most people on it, but was neat to walk up and down.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow Factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This beach is simply the sweetest on the island. Spent 5 hrs there yesterday the 25th of March 2014. Seen turtles, dolphins and was even able to do some fishing while there away from everyone else. Did not catch anyThing. But enjoyed the awesome sites.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pure creamy white sands, site of Shawshank filming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

If you've seen the Shawshank Redemption, you'll remember the last scene. That last scene was filmed here. The sand is pure white and the waters are calm. It's relatively empty, even during the busiest cruise season. But check the hours, because they're not open year round. Being a nature preserve, there are some regulations in place. There are no bathrooms or showers (obvs). No umbrellas for rent, either. Just a clean, relaxing natural preserve.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.