We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge

Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge
St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 85 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Scuba diving, Viewing wildlife, Birdwatching
Attraction details
Merriam, Kansas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Most beautiful beach and sand I have ever seen. We took a picnic lunch and tent shelter for shade. Did some swimming and walking of the beach. Very few people on the beach. Limited hours but well worth it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    17
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The most amazing beach I've ever seen in my life!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We took the time to make it to this beach and it was so worth it! We had the whole place to ourselves and it was beautiful soft ocean sand and water with gentle waves that allow you to just back float and look up at the clouds. It's absolutely breathtaking! The water is crystal clear and is the softest sandy bottom for swimming. TRAVELING PLANNING TIP!!!We didn't pay attention before we planned our trip and thought we could go whenever we wanted...but IT'S ONLY OPEN SATURDAYS AND SUNDAYS and closed April - September EVERY day of the week for turtle hatching season. By far the very best beach in St. Croix if not the entire Caribbean.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood River, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

White sandy beaches Seen lots of sand dollars while snorkeling Said hi to Red and Andy Dofrane. Its where they filmed Shawshank Redemption

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great but no taxi would go there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Just back from a cruise with one day on St. Croix. Sandy Point is great. However, we could not find any taxi driver who would take us there. They were saying it's closed (I knew it is open on Sunday as it is not turtle season) and the road is bad etc etc. We were not even bargaining about the money, just wanted to find anyone who would take us there. Then one diriver said he would take us there and pretended to do so. He left us at Coral Hotel and the walking distance to Sandy Point on the soft sand was too much for my friend with all the beach gear (towels, water, snacks, cameras etc). I went but had very little time to enjoy the gorgeous beach because of the long walk.
So either rent a car or otherwise make sure in advance you get there.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

yust go if you can. No review can really prepare you for how nice this beach is. Miles of deep, white, untouched sand. Most of the beach-goers are in one area. The rest of the beach (& it really does go on for miles) is deserted. It's only open on Sat & Sun & only when the turtles aren't nesting. Poor snorkeling as the bottom is all sand. No faciliies.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.