We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pristine Beach with Beautiful View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge

Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge
3km Sandy Beaches, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 66 attractions in St. Croix
Attraction Details
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pristine Beach with Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you want a beach with nothing on it or near it this is the place to go. Final scene from Shawshank Redemption was filmed here and you know it once you finally hit the beach.
First note this beach is only open on wkends between Oct and March due to turtle nesting the rest of the year. It is run by Fish & Wildlife so check their website before you go. No fee to get in just a long winding drive on a gravel road. Go slow in case there is another vehicle coming the other way! It makes passing on a single lane road challenging.
You need to bring everything with you as there are no concessions - nor is there any real shade unless you move back under the trees. Many people had small beach tents the day we were there.
Water is beautiful and the long stretch of beach is amazing. Very much worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Just a sandy beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

While pretty, it's just a sandy beach. I preferred the beaches just south of Fredriksted as you can snorkel and see fish (no snorkeling at Sandy Point). We tried to do some bird watching at the big pond, but found no access, which was a shame. I also found the sand to be too pebbly, not soft and sugary. Sorry, but I'm visiting the Caribbean for snorkeling, so don't see the charms of this beach. But it is an important nesting area for sea turtles, which is greatly appreciated that they keep the public off the beach at certain seasons.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Long, windy road but a great beach for a beach day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We really weren't prepared for a beach day since we were on our way to Fredriksted, but if you want a beautiful, expansive beach which is relatively uncrowded, go here. The gravel road is pretty much one lane and very long and very windy so go slow! There are no facilities when you get to the beach but you will have a long-distance view of any cruise ship that happens to be in Fredriksted. When we got there, there were about 30-40 people spread out across the distance of the part of the beach that we could see so there is plenty of room for everyone. It's also a great beach if you love to walk the beach because it goes forever!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is the beach where the final scene of "Shawshank Redemption" was filmed where Red walks up to Andy while he is working on a boat on the beach. In the movie it is supposed to be Mexico but it was filmed here. This is one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever been on. The water is crystal clear and great for swimming. There were less than 25 people on the beach when we got there so it was very peaceful. It is quite the drive though. We were on the Christiansted side of the island and this is on the Fredriksted end. It is not very well marked from what we experienced to take a phone with good satelite service and use the GPS function. You could by mistake take a wrong turn and end up missing it altogether and wind up in a rougher part of Fredriksted. Once you enter the park, follow the gravel road all the way to the end. It is a long drive, go slow, it is a single lane with one or two turnouts for traffic coming the opposite direction. From the parking lot it is maybe a 50 foot walk to the beach through the tree line. It opens up into the beach and the view is breathtaking. It was definitely worth the extra effort to get there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful preserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The wildlife refuge is located on the Southwestern tip of St. Croix. It is mainly a shrubs and about 6 ft high bushes. The site most people go to here is the beaches on the northern side of the refuge near the western tip of the island. Keep in the mind the refuge is only open on the weekends and it closes at 4 pm.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g147401-d147837-Reviews-Sandy_Point-St_Croix_U_S_Virgin_Islands.html

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge also viewed

 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge to your Saves list