We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, good meal, recommended...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves at Cane Bay

The Waves at Cane Bay
112 C Estate Cane Bay, 00851, St. Croix
(340) 718-1815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 118 Restaurants in St. Croix
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Shelton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice setting, good meal, recommended...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Great ocean views here just feet from the water along Cane Bay. We missed sunset here but I have to imagine they must be pretty spectacular from here. Everything we had was great. It's a nice romantic setting and I'd definitely consider going back. Recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    11
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful Gourmet Dining in a Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This was our second time staying at this wonderful hotel, and we ate dinner here every day they were open (closed on Sunday and Monday). Great food, drinks, atmosphere, and people. Local, fresh fish every day always served in a special way. Live lobsters kept in the ocean until you order them. Some other dinners we had were rack of lamb, lobster ravioli, cheese plate with fruit and olive tapinades, risotto, wahoo sashimi, and various preparations of mahi, all of them perfect with wonderful sauces and sides. Don't miss this if you're in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Airy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location and Lobster!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had dinner at Waves while visiting STX and what a wonderful night it was! Opening air dining with incredible views and so close to the ocean we could feel the salt spray. Walked down to the grotto and chose our live lobsters...doesn't get any fresher than that. Great martinis, excellent service and excellent food. A bit pricey but well worth it. Was a very pleasurable evening and highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Bugs at Cane Bay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We lacked reservations for a special occasion, which may have impacted our being ignored longer than usual. While waiting to be acknowledged, we swapped tables once in an attempt to avoid scores of flying insects attracted by the lights. It is rare for us to leave restaurants, especially since the food is highly rated, but we just couldn't ignore the bugs. Since the staff seemed helpless to correct scenario, we remember it by the title name.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Perfect atmosphere for our anniversary celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We travelled to St. Croix to celebrate our 12 year wedding anniversary. We were married on the island and hadn't yet returned, so thought this was the year. We were looking for a special place to dine and we sure found it. The Waves could not be in a better spot. They set us a table right down next to the water, you could hear and see the waves crashing in and see the little pool where they keep the lobster trap. The server, who I think was also an owner, was wonderful. They brought us champagne and put flowers on the table for us. We had a cheese plate and the chowder for appetizers and both were very tasty. They serve the cheese plate with homemade crackers and duck pate, both of which were delicious. For the main course, we both tried the locally caught mahi mahi, which was wonderful. We were far too full for dessert, but I'm sure it was as good as everything else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waves at Cane Bay also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to The Waves at Cane Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves at Cane Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.