We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great atmosphere, and Diane and Dot are a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Shore Cafe - CLOSED

South Shore Cafe
Petronella Road, St. Croix
340/773-9311
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere, and Diane and Dot are a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our first visit to South Shore Cafe, but it certainly won't be our last. This place is a secret. Word of mouth advertising keeps it a secret treat for those "in the know." The food was fabulous (try the sweet potato manicotti - it's magnificent), the ambiance was charming, Diane and Dot (dog hostess) were the perfect hosts. Both a delight. This place is a hidden gem. Call now for reservations. You won't go wrong. Small, intimate spots serving wonderful food made especially for you (homemade pasta and desserts) are rare and we need to keep them alive. Truly a memorable evening. Directions - take East End Rd heading east. You will pass the Pickled Greek on the left and the Elementary school on the right. Just beyond that, you will see a gas station on the left. Take the right turn almost directly across the street from the gas station. Drive 2 miles on that road - do NOT turn! You should see a sign on the right for the South Shore Cafe. Shortly after the sign, you will find the restaurant on the right. The restaurant is clearly marked with a sign.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Viera, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I hate flan...except for Diane's!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

All the reviews are pretty spot on...it only has 4 tables...one woman does everything. Limited drink selection. Not a fan of desserts with liquers in them so I opted for the chocolate flan even as a flan-hater. It arrived and was seriously the best dessert I've ever had. I would have categorized it more a mousse. D-I-V-I-N-E!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We NEVER Miss Having Dinner Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We "discovered" South Shore Cafe nearly ten years ago and have never missed an opportunity to include it on our annual visit to the island. Diane is more than an excellent cook and hostess and we actually feel like we are guests at her home. She is just one of the wonderful people that make our stay on St. Croix so enjoyable. We recommend South Shore Cafe for those who seek an intimate and enjoyable dining experience on a very personal level.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Nice Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

One of the fun aspects of vacationing is venturing off the beaten path and trying non-mainstream restaurants. South Shore Cafe is really unique. Only five table a night can get served. The reservation times are spread out to enable the sole proprietor, maitre d', order taker, waiter and check, all one person name Dianne time to treat each table as special guests and to allow her to prepare each meal.. Her pastas are fantastic, You have to try her lasagna. Her deserts - we had a chocolate flan - are incredible. This is not the place if you want to eat and run - But if you want excellent food and a leisurely evening enjoying your food, try out here for sure.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious! Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The food here is spectacular--try the south shore salad, the manicotti, the desserts--wow. The restaurant has a unique and homey vibe--Diane, the owner and cook, will make you feel well-cared for. A fun place to come with friends or family for a delicious night out. You do need to call ahead for a reservation, as it is not open every night.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Shore Cafe also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Shore Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.