We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a bumpy start, a great time was had by all.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tan Tan Tours

Tan Tan Tours
St. Croix
(340)713-9052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 51 activities in St. Croix
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“After a bumpy start, a great time was had by all.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We booked the half day tour during our stop in ST Croix on a RCCL cruise. I exchanged many e-mails back and forth with Wade prior to our arrival. The usual pick up spot for this tour is in town, about 20-30 minutes away from the pier. Wade told me they customize the tour for cruise passengers and would pick us up at the pier at 9am. Payment in advance or a credit card number was required to hold the reservation. The morning of the tour, we were waiting at the pier at 8:50am. By 9:25 I called their office and was told their was a miscommunication and the driver was waiting at the "ususal" pick up location. He was coming to get us and would be at the pier in 15 minutes. Well, it took 3 more phone calls, including one made by the tourist information desk at the pier, before someone finally showed up at 1010 am. There was no adjustment of the price due to the fact that we had lost more than an hour of our tour time, even though I showed them the email stating that they would pick us up at the pier. I was quite annoyed, but we had all really been looking foward to this tour, and decided to make the best of it.
The tour itself was soooo much fun. Definitely not for the faint of heart! The tide pools were beautiful, but I would definitely advise wearing water sandals with good support. We had flip flops, which made the climb over the slippery rocks a bit difficult. we made a quick stop at the beer drinking pigs, which was fun to see.
The tour turned out to be one of our favorites. I did feel the cost of $120 a person was a bit overpriced though...especially considering our tour got cut to three hours, but if you are looking for and exciting, adventurous tour, this one fits the bill...however if you are a cruiseship passenger I would advise having a back up plan, and do not pay in advance.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    3
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun time at the Tidal Pools”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We came off of a RC cruise ship and booked a 1/2 day tour to the tidal pools. Richie was our guide--we requested him after reading prior reveiwes and he was great. There were 4 of us--2 kids--11 and 13. Everyone loved the 4X4 ride down to the pools. Tidal pools were beautiful--unfortunately it must have been low tide since we did not get a lot of waves over the rocks--but the ride and climb to get there were great. Also stopped at the beer drinking pigs--great pictures. We had to cut our tour a little short since we also booked a snorkeling trip in the afternoon---Richie dropped us off right at the snorkeling tour guides in Christiansted.

This is a must do if you like 4X4 rides--try to time it closer to high tide if possible. Because of our afternoon trip we were limited on when we could go to the Tidal pools.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Thanks Richie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Four of us did the 1/2 day tour - 2 adults & 2 kids - 10 & 12. We were able to all fit in one jeep with Richie as our guide. I can't imagine having a better time with anyone else. Richie was fun and informative with just enough history and humor that made it enjoyable. I must have been just the conditions the day we were there but Cane Bay was kind of murky and not as clear and beautiful as I remember. I had much bigger expectations for the tide pools as well. The day we were there the tide was low and the water was also murky - although it was fun climbing over the rocks to get to them. The steep roads were fun to travel on in the jeep and the views from some of the stops were breathtaking. The kids had not been to the Domino Club before so it was fun to introduce them to one of our favorite places! The beer drinking pigs did not disappoint and of course you must try whatever Norma is cooking that day! Don't leave without a shot of mamawanna! The little zoo was an unexpected stop - kind of comical actually with some odd animals on display! The smoothies there were fantastic though! Request Richie as your guide! You are guaranteed to have a great time!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A "Must Do" on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Amazing tour with just the right balance of fun and history of the island! Tide pool was wonderful. Thank you to our guide Richie for an unforgettable day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was by far the most fun we had on St Croix. We booked a last minute trip and the staff did everything they could to accommodate our time constraints. There were 12 of us on three jeeps. The guides Kendall and Richie were awesome. We had 8 kids in our group and the guides did everything imaginable to keep the kids safe, happy and laughing like crazy the whole time. The tidal pools were out of this world. We couldn't have asked for more. There are no words to describe the memories made that day. If you are even considering this trip DO IT! Request Kendall or Richie. It is a little pricey but worth every penny.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tan Tan Tours also viewed

 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Tan Tan Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan Tan Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tan Tan Tours to your Saves list