We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virgin Kayak Tours

Virgin Kayak Tours
110 Route 80, 00850, St. Croix
340-718-0071
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Virgin Kayak Tours offers unique and custom kayak tours of: Salt River Bay National Park; The Bioluminescent Bay; The East End Marine Park; Altoona Lagoon; Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge; Ruth Cay Wildlife Refuge; Cane Bay; Annaly Bay; Maroon Hole and Frederiksted! We specialize in small groups, and focus on history, ecology and cultural landscape. We use The Hobie Mirage Kayak and the Heritage kayak. Each tour is designed to be a fun learning adventure!
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We've been Going to St Croix for the Past 8 Years and a Trip would not be Complete without Spending a Day on the Water with Brian Exploring the Water's of this Incredible Island.This Operation is First Class,Brian is not only an Incredible Teacher but an Historian of the Culture and People of this Region.When in St Croix don't miss this Experience.Other's on the Island have tried to Copy but what this Company offer's can't be Duplicate.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Do not miss this experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We really wanted to experience the Biobay at night and were looking for an outfitter to go with. We are SOOOOO happy that we ended up with Virgin!!!! Jill and Brian are fantastic guides and just wonderful to be around. Their kayaks are awesome, pedaling no rowing involved if you don't want to. If you are thinking about going for a swim it's no problem at all to slide out and back in. I don't believe the see through canoes have either of these features, just a tip for you :) There was another group at the Biobay the night we went, their guide was yelling like a football coach....I'm not sure if it bothered them but it sure took away from the peacefulness we had. The conditions were not spectacular for our trip but the experience was still wonderful!! We will be back again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Friendly, Professional and Knowledgeable Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband, college-aged son, his friend and I took the bioluminescent tour with Virgin Kayak earlier this month and had a great experience. Dealing with Jill by email was very easy and she and Bryan are both very friendly and highly professional. It never occurred to me before booking this tour that two hours of paddling in the dark might be a lot of work so I was very glad that we had chosen Virgin Kayak as our outfitter as pedaling the kayaks was a heck of a lot easier (and probably warmer, too). Unfortunately, the night we went the conditions in the bay rated only a 5 1/2 out of 10 (by Bryan's standards) so it was not an 'amazing' experience like I had anticipated. Can't blame that on Virgin Kayak but I will say that it was a good thing that Bryan is a wealth of information about the history of the area and the current situation there so that we enjoyed the evening nonetheless.

It is true that at least one of the other operators in the bay is VERY loud and would have been annoying to listen to had we chosen that outfit. Also, Bryan has been doing this for something like 23 years so you had the sense that you were in professional hands--something to consider when you are putting yourself out in the water at nighttime!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deering, NH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our night-time kayak tour with Virgin Kayak to the bio-bay was wonderful! The kayak was easy to pedal and steer (we were first-time kayakers - and "of a certian age"), Jill and Bryan were great guides and the other guests were a lot of fun! Seeing the tiny creatures glowing as you run your hand through the dark water is amazing! I highly recommend this experience!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience with the best company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went out with Jill and Bryan from Virgin Kayak to do the nighttime bioluminescent bay. It was amazing. Not only did we have the closest put-in/take-out to the bay, the kayaks were amazing because you could easily pedal or kayak. These boats are the easiest to get into and out of, aren't tippy and make kayaking fun for the most inexperienced-experienced person. Bryan has a nice soothing voice and speaks about the science behind the bioluminescence. Some of the other tours out there had obnoxious guides (in both voice and personality) so I was really glad we chose Virgin Kayak. You also meet Virgin Kayak at Cane bay, so we went early, snorkelled, had dinner at the best restaurant on the island "eat" and had a drink afterwards. I highly recommend this trip and these guides.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Kayak Tours also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Virgin Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgin Kayak Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.