We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virgin Kayak Trip was AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virgin Kayak Tours

Virgin Kayak Tours
110 Route 80, 00850, St. Croix
340-718-0071
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 62 Activities in St. Croix
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Virgin Kayak Tours offers unique and custom kayak tours of: Salt River Bay National Park; The Bioluminescent Bay; The East End Marine Park; Altoona Lagoon; Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge; Ruth Cay Wildlife Refuge; Cane Bay; Annaly Bay; Maroon Hole and Frederiksted! We specialize in small groups, and focus on history, ecology and cultural landscape. We use The Hobie Mirage Kayak and the Heritage kayak. Each tour is designed to be a fun learning adventure!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Virgin Kayak Trip was AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

On our visit to St. Croix we were staying on the east side of the island. The drive to Cane Bay and Virgin Kayak was well worth the trip!! We had a fun and informative kayak trip from Salt River Bay to Cane Bay and hope to return next year for more of the same. The water was smooth, the Hobie Kayaks are excellent and Jill's husband did a super job of telling us about the history of St. Croix and Christopher Columbus etc. We even learned more about the eco camping they offer as well as a scuba dive group that has cabins next to Virgin Kayak for those looking for something a little less rustic. This is definitely the group to book your kayak adventure with while visiting St. Croix. 5 STARS!!!!!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christiansted, St. Croix
1 review
“These are the guys the locals recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We have gone out with Virgin Kayak twice with visiting friends and we recommend them frequently. Their tours are consistently fun, engaging, safe and professionally led.

Visited August 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Fourth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We spent the morning of our Fourth of July with Bryan doing the Salt River Bay tour. It was fantastic on so many levels. The scenery and setting were amazing.

We saw sea turtles from our kayaks. Bryan introduced us to an upside down jelly fish that likes to sit on the bottom growing algae for food on its tentacles. Who knew of such a thing?

Bryan brought the history of the place alive as we stood on the point overlooking where, in 1493, Europeans and native peoples in the Americas had their first skirmish.

And then there were the Hobie pedal kayaks. We were already kayak fans but the pedal option takes it to another level. Your hands are free and you can move quickly with no effort.

I am sure that we will do another tour with Virgin Kayak when we go back to St. Croix. One reason why we are likely to go back to St. Croix was the great experience we had with Virgin Kayaks.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Open waters and history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I booked this excursion for an open ocean Hobie kayak tour with Bryan and Jill for myself, DH, and our friends who were on a cruise with us. It was one of the best excursions of the whole trip. The Hobie kayaks were fabulous. You were able to use your feet which was quite preferable to using the oars. We had the best time. Jill and Bryan are fantastic guides. If you love history then Bryan is your man. He is very passionate about Pre-columbian history and the island of St. Croix. After the kayak tour we went to "Off the Wall" for some drinks and lunch. Thank you Jill and Bryan. Great time. Hope to come back for the nightime bioluminescent kayak tour soon.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Kayak tour- good value and personalized, don't book w cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Jill and Brian are the owners at this very personalized kayak tour of of Salt River. My wife and our three children went on a very good tout that was a lot less expensive than the one offered by the cruise. Brian is a local historian and gave us lots of info on the history of the area. The kayak all have foot paddles that make the trip much easier. Went through mangrove areas, saw some shipwrecks and beached for a while on the sands of salt bay for a tour. Their location is right next to a bar and grille and awesome beach for just hanging out afterwards.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Kayak Tours also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Virgin Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgin Kayak Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.