We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a blast with Bryan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virgin Kayak Tours

Virgin Kayak Tours
110 Route 80, 00850, St. Croix
340-718-0071
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Virgin Kayak Tours offers unique and custom kayak tours of: Salt River Bay National Park; The Bioluminescent Bay; The East End Marine Park; Altoona Lagoon; Sandy Point National Wildlife Refuge; Ruth Cay Wildlife Refuge; Cane Bay; Annaly Bay; Maroon Hole and Frederiksted! We specialize in small groups, and focus on history, ecology and cultural landscape. We use The Hobie Mirage Kayak and the Heritage kayak. Each tour is designed to be a fun learning adventure!
Zebulon, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had a blast with Bryan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We went on a night tour to see the bioluminescent bay and it did not disappoint. We were able to see quite a show and it was amazing. The kayaks that were used had foot pedals and a rudder and were much easier to use than the typical paddle type, although there is a paddle attached. Our guide, Bryan, was very knowledgeable and funny and we enjoyed the entire experience.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    13
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Croix
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best way to view Salt River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

I absolutely love kayaking with Virgin Kayak Tours. Their customer service is fantastic and Bryan's knowledge of the history and ecology of Salt River is second to none. They use professional Hobie Kayaks designed for the ocean (not sit on top kayaks that can be tippy). I especially like the Hobie Mirage kayaks built for two that you can pedal or paddle, there's even space to store your gear to keep it from getting wet. This is a great option for younger kids too, as they can ride along easily with a parent. Its a nice way to really get up close to the mangroves, look for iguanas and turtles in the Bay and learn about the rich history of the area.

They also offer kayak rentals if you want to explore the "Wall" at Cane Bay from above... this is a great way to explore the shoreline and really see the beauty of the North Shore.

Virgin Kayak is always my "go to" excursion when I have family and friends visiting. The Taino art gallery is a must-see too, don't miss it when you check in at Cane Bay. Jill & Bryan really love what they do and it shows in the great operation they run.

Visited May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
1 review
“Really cool trip!! Great way to see & experience the island! Bryan is awesome, & has a cool parrot, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I've done a few kayak tours with this company run by the wonderfull Jill & Bryan. It's an experience you don't want to miss! Bryan shares so much interesting history and information about the island as you paddle and 'kick paddle' around the bay and then along the outskirts of the island. The trip gives you a great view of the island from the water and a new appreciation for it! I've been fortunate enough to visit St. Croix several times and going kayaking with this company is always on my list of things I want to do!!!

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best kayaking on St. Croix!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Jill and Bryan have the best kayaking tour on St. Croix! Bryan's knowledge of local history is amazing, and he makes you feel like you were there experiencing it yourself as he weaves his stories. The paddle kayaks are fantastic--you don't even feel tired when you know you're not in great shape. I've taken daytime and evening trips, and they were both wonderful. The time went by too fast, and I found myself wanting to stay out longer. What a great way to experience the beauty of the Caribbean. Thank you Jill and Bryan!

Visited May 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
1 review
“Jill & Bryan are excellent kayakers; the Crucian culture & history they share will keep you coming back for more.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Bryan and Jill Updyke have been leading kayak tours around St. Croix for several years. The knowledge they have gained of St. Croix history and culture that they weave into the tours is very interesting and informative. Regardless of whether you are a novice kayaker or an expert yourself, you will have the experiece of a lifetime. I arrange for Virgin Kayak tours to take my middle and high school students out every year. We've taken swimmers and non-swimmers alike. Be sure to bring your camera, plenty of water & sun block, wear a hat. I can't wait to do a night time trip to the bioluminesant bay!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Kayak Tours also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Virgin Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgin Kayak Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.