We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Diving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cane Bay Dive Shop

Cane Bay Dive Shop
100 North Shore, St. Croix
800-338-3843
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 52 Activities in St. Croix
Type: Water sports
Attraction Details
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Diving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our Dive group returned to St Croix and dove with Cane Bay Dive shop at Cane Bay.
The dive boat was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly, courtious, and helpful to our newest dive member. I have been diving since 1993 and have had at least 500 Caribbean dives. We saw many beautiful creatures both large and small, turtles,sharks,eels,seahorses,frogfish,puffers,octos,nudibranches to name just a few.
After the first dive we were free to dive our computers and do our own navagation. there was no 60 for 40 with this group. Most dives were an hour or more and Nitrox was available to those certified on its use.
The night pier dive was spectacular as we saw many creatures that come out at night.
Our whole group looks forward to returning soon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    8
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derby, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“International Scuba Says Thanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Several of us have travelled all over the world to see new and exciting sea life and coral. Little did we know that some of the best diving was in a USVI. Cane Bay Dive gave us a week of stories that we will tell forever. The staff was great, relaxed and brought us to sites we couldn't have imagined. Turtles, rays, moreys, octos, and yes, sharks. We couldn't have seen this many different big species all in one place if we tried. The staff, Hal, Rick, Nick, Ashley, and all the others worked hard so that we didn't have too.

From the crew of International Scuba, Southington, CT - we say thanks and see you again really soon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Diving, Very Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We dive for a week with Cane Bay Dive shop's location on Cane Bay. We did half of our dives from their RIF and half from their Newton Dive boat kept at Salt River Marina. Dive sites closest to the shop were access by the RIF, which was launched from the beach opposite the dive shop. They loaded your BC's and tanks on prior to launch. The divers boarded by stepping on a bladder at the stern, then up and over the stern into the RIF. Four divers, a dive master and a captain was what the RIF could handle. Of note, the entry/exit to the water was via un unzipped section of the floor. Sounds strange, but very good way to get wet.

All dives were guided. We saw sharks on most dives and lots of wonderful larger creatures, such as rays, lobsters, eels etc. Mid-week we dive the Pier on Fredericksted. It was every bit as good as the famous Salt Pier in Bonaire.

Guides were laid back but attentive. Excellent overall service.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“St Croix: Cane Bay Dive Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was one of a dive group from Fairfax Va. who spent the Labor Day weekend diving with Cane Bay Dive shop. My experience with the staff and crew of the dive boat was wonderful. Each one was professional and every one of them had a unique personality that enhanced the experience. I enjoyed four days of diving and the beauty of the undersea world made the trip a memorable one. Our dive master on several dives hunted Lionfish and offered them to a pair of black-tip sharks who`d followed the group. On another dive, the dive master fed the lionfish to a moray eel who really seemed to enjoy the culinary experience. I achieved a person bottom time record of 71 minutes during the dive of the Frederickstad pier. Among the abundant sea life there were sea turtles and barracuda and numerous sea horses. On Sunday we did a wreck dive and toured 3 wrecks. The water temp was a constant 85 degrees on each of the dives, the weather was sunny and the sea was calm. Also, the dive boat left out of Salt River Bay, the site of one of Columbus` 1493 landings. The cottages were comfortable and air conditioned. My cottage (#4) had high-speed internet access and cable TV although watching CATV in Paradise seems to be a waste of time. The restaurant, EAT had a variety of good food and even offered vegan choices. The locals who stopped by to help celebrate Cane Bay Dive Shop`s 23rd Anniversary on the Labor Day weekend made guests feel like regulars. I plan to return. The staff and dive team at Cane Bay may my stay and experience a memorable one. Thanks ! Charlie from Herndon Virginia

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Diving and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed in the Cane Bay Cottages (beach front superior) right next to the shop. It wasn't anything fancy but that was exactly what we wanted. We drove by the grocery store at some point and had all our lunches and breakfasts made from our own supplies in our supplied kitchen. The dive shop is just a few hundred feet from the cottages and if you're shore diving the water is just a few hundred feet from their. We dive four dives every day (two boat and either two afternoon or one afternoon and one night-shore dives) even though you can do unlimited shore dives. I normally try to do five a day if I can but we found ourselves enjoying touring the island and eating at the excellent restaurants right their in Cane Bay. Of not was Eat where we ate every night they were open and Rowdy Joe's where we ate dinner twice and lunch once. We could not be happier with the dive crew either. Nick and Rick were particularly awesome along with the shop owner's Hal and Suzanne. That said, we can't thing of anybody that wasn't generally top notch. For diving itself, the diving was great. Favorite site was Salt River West (listed in Sport Diver as one of the top 50 dive sites in the world) but close seconds were Vertigo and the Fredericksted Pier. We chose to rent a rental car (Jeep) and use it to tour the island, do some off-road trails, and utilize for night diving at the pier. One note, if you want to do shore diving outside of Cane Bay, you will need some kind of transportation.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cane Bay Dive Shop also viewed

 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Cane Bay Dive Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cane Bay Dive Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.