We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE TO VISIT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Udall

Point Udall
Rte. 82, St. Croix
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 87 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This rocky promontory, the easternmost point in the United States, juts into the Caribbean Sea and features "The Castle," a huge mansion perched atop the cliffs and which resembles India's Taj Mahal and a Moorish mosque.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO VISIT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Pretty wild knowing that EVERYONE in the U.S. is west of you! Very pretty views, lovely drive there. If you visit St. Croix, this has to be a stopping place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    62
    19
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Eastern Most Point in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great geological point of significance and amazing beauty as the easternmost has amazing views of the deep blue sea, crashing waves, and rugged coastline.

Drive out east and follow the signs for a great photo op on the most easter piece of US soil. The road is paved and leads you along the windy hilly road exposing some of St Croix must rugged beauty. Hike down to the crashing waves on the sea shore and feel the shudder in your body as the crash against the rocks.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I am glad we drove there. It was a nice drive through the mountains and we stopped to over look the ocean before we got there. But a beautiful view when you get there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 attraction reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The drive to Point Udall was very beautiful lots of places to pull off the road to take pictures. The point itself is well plain but now I can say we have been at the "eastern most end of the USA". If hiking is your thing there seemed to be lots of trails, some looked quite steep.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice view, but is boring after 5 minutes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It has a monument for the eastern most point in the US and the views are great... but unless you want to sit on the stone wall and admire the views, it will get old after 5 minutes of looking around and taking pictures. I am glad we went, but also glad we didn't spend more than 5 minutes there... better to relax on the beach if you ask me. Even OK snorkeling is more fun to me :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Udall also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Point Udall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Udall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.