We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastern Most Point in the US” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Udall

Point Udall
Rte. 82, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 80 Activities in St. Croix
Type: Trails, Outdoor Activities
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This rocky promontory, the easternmost point in the United States, juts into the Caribbean Sea and features "The Castle," a huge mansion perched atop the cliffs and which resembles India's Taj Mahal and a Moorish mosque.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Eastern Most Point in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great geological point of significance and amazing beauty as the easternmost has amazing views of the deep blue sea, crashing waves, and rugged coastline.

Drive out east and follow the signs for a great photo op on the most easter piece of US soil. The road is paved and leads you along the windy hilly road exposing some of St Croix must rugged beauty. Hike down to the crashing waves on the sea shore and feel the shudder in your body as the crash against the rocks.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    44
    18
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I am glad we drove there. It was a nice drive through the mountains and we stopped to over look the ocean before we got there. But a beautiful view when you get there.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful Drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The drive to Point Udall was very beautiful lots of places to pull off the road to take pictures. The point itself is well plain but now I can say we have been at the "eastern most end of the USA". If hiking is your thing there seemed to be lots of trails, some looked quite steep.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice view, but is boring after 5 minutes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It has a monument for the eastern most point in the US and the views are great... but unless you want to sit on the stone wall and admire the views, it will get old after 5 minutes of looking around and taking pictures. I am glad we went, but also glad we didn't spend more than 5 minutes there... better to relax on the beach if you ask me. Even OK snorkeling is more fun to me :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The easternmost point in the US. Great views, scenic drive to Pt. Udall, and without much effort. Drive up the road, park, and take your pictures.
I've never gotten up early enough to enjoy the sunset, but I'll bet it's spectacular.
If you're on the island, it doesn't take much time to drive there and it is free - how can you pass it up?
I've been there 3 times ....

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Udall also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Point Udall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Udall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.