We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastern most point in the United States” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Udall

Point Udall
Rte. 82, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 66 attractions in St. Croix
Type: Trails
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This rocky promontory, the easternmost point in the United States, juts into the Caribbean Sea and features "The Castle," a huge mansion perched atop the cliffs and which resembles India's Taj Mahal and a Moorish mosque.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Eastern most point in the United States”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

While in St. Croix, VI, my husband and I decided to see Point Udall, the eastern most point in the United States. It is a panoramic view of St. Croix, even where you can see the other islands, like St. Thomas, and St. John. It also allows you to see the mountains and the sea that come together as one. You feel like you have reached Heaven! Beautiful!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    28
    14
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Exciting Part of America!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We seen Point Udall our first day of being in St. Croix. It's awesome to see this brand new piece of American history! Not only that, but there are such great views from the site as well. We also went back later on during our trip to watch the sunrise at Point Udall. It was beautiful, and something you just must do to appreciate the world! We also drove up to the point a 3rd time to hike to Jack and Issac's Bay, which was so worth it! A beautiful hike, all in all. Good advice would be to wear proper hiking shoes. We wore our regular tennis shoes and it went great! Once you reach the bay, it's simply amazing. So nice and secluded! Plus, more great views. You must see Point Udall on your St. Croix trip!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The most eastern point of the United States. Scenic drive along the sea to this memorial. Great photo opps and the view is endless. No beaches or restaurants but worth seeing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Point Udall Monument”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Point Udall is a spectacular overlook and the easternmost point in the United States, so it's worth a look. There is a monument constructed at the tip that is appropriate for such a location. However, the monument is clearly an astronomical observatory a la Stone Henge. Posts with holes that sight at other carefully laid out posts, etc. Clearly a nice touch. However, there is no explanation, or even a mention of what these alignments are. Even the lengthy brass plaque. only mentions that it functions as a sundial as it casts a shadow on another stone at noon. Again, nice, but just the surface of what was so obviously constructed there. No one seems to know or care. It made me wonder, was it aligned wrong so the government ignore it, or are these wonderful alignments, which could be quite an event at Solstaces, just lost?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, Usa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

As most everyone else has said, this is the eastern most point in the US. I would definitely make it a point to go there. The moon rise and/or Sunrise is amazing. Just be careful to go when there are other people around or during the day. Some of the locals warn of some shady people who frequent there after dark. It's safer in numbers.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Udall also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Point Udall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Udall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Point Udall to your Saves list