We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastern most point in the United States” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Udall

Point Udall
Rte. 82, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 65 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Trails
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This rocky promontory, the easternmost point in the United States, juts into the Caribbean Sea and features "The Castle," a huge mansion perched atop the cliffs and which resembles India's Taj Mahal and a Moorish mosque.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Eastern most point in the United States”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

While in St. Croix, VI, my husband and I decided to see Point Udall, the eastern most point in the United States. It is a panoramic view of St. Croix, even where you can see the other islands, like St. Thomas, and St. John. It also allows you to see the mountains and the sea that come together as one. You feel like you have reached Heaven! Beautiful!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    35
    16
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exciting Part of America!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We seen Point Udall our first day of being in St. Croix. It's awesome to see this brand new piece of American history! Not only that, but there are such great views from the site as well. We also went back later on during our trip to watch the sunrise at Point Udall. It was beautiful, and something you just must do to appreciate the world! We also drove up to the point a 3rd time to hike to Jack and Issac's Bay, which was so worth it! A beautiful hike, all in all. Good advice would be to wear proper hiking shoes. We wore our regular tennis shoes and it went great! Once you reach the bay, it's simply amazing. So nice and secluded! Plus, more great views. You must see Point Udall on your St. Croix trip!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The most eastern point of the United States. Scenic drive along the sea to this memorial. Great photo opps and the view is endless. No beaches or restaurants but worth seeing.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Point Udall Monument”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Point Udall is a spectacular overlook and the easternmost point in the United States, so it's worth a look. There is a monument constructed at the tip that is appropriate for such a location. However, the monument is clearly an astronomical observatory a la Stone Henge. Posts with holes that sight at other carefully laid out posts, etc. Clearly a nice touch. However, there is no explanation, or even a mention of what these alignments are. Even the lengthy brass plaque. only mentions that it functions as a sundial as it casts a shadow on another stone at noon. Again, nice, but just the surface of what was so obviously constructed there. No one seems to know or care. It made me wonder, was it aligned wrong so the government ignore it, or are these wonderful alignments, which could be quite an event at Solstaces, just lost?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, Usa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

As most everyone else has said, this is the eastern most point in the US. I would definitely make it a point to go there. The moon rise and/or Sunrise is amazing. Just be careful to go when there are other people around or during the day. Some of the locals warn of some shady people who frequent there after dark. It's safer in numbers.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Udall also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Point Udall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Udall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.