We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sundial” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Udall

Point Udall
Rte. 82, St. Croix
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 87 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This rocky promontory, the easternmost point in the United States, juts into the Caribbean Sea and features "The Castle," a huge mansion perched atop the cliffs and which resembles India's Taj Mahal and a Moorish mosque.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing sundial”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

When we drove up to this monument it kinda looked alien but we realized it was a huge sundial to the mariners this was a fantastic attraction a must see while in st Croix

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    66
    21
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Views nice, monument bizarre, BUT unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Where else can u be the furthest .......... Highest......(mt. Danali) Lowest.......(death valley). So why not be at the furthest east of US territories. Unique, nothing special and u must be smart. Don't leave car locked OR with anything IN it. Drive out is pretty and u pass a giant telescope. If u have the time do it, you will enjoy. Just don't move heaven and earth to squeeze it in or u will be dissatisfied.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Point Udall is a great place for everyone. It has amazing views of the ocean, jack and issacs and the beach down the left side which i just call Udall beach. It's a great place to relax. When I first moved to St. Croix, I thought it would be the coolest thing to be the first in the United States to see the sunrise. It is, it's really amazing watching to sunrise. If you are on St. Croix you need to check out this spot! & it's free too :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sunrise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I came to Point Udall to watch the first sunrise on the east coast of the United States. It was spectacular, as were most visuals on the island.

The monument is fairly remote, so I did have to get up early (around 4:00), and drive in the pitch black on unfamiliar roads, but it was a beautiful and quiet way to start the day. Point Udall has a reputation for being dangerous, and I was advised not to go alone, but because of it's geography, there were actually several groups of sun worshippers already there when I arrived in the pre-dawn and I never felt unsafe. If you do find yourself alone, or the company threatening, it is possible to stay in your car, or circle the monument and head back down the road - just use your head.

If you love to watch the sun rise, or enjoy these kinds of unique island experiences, I highly recommend you give it a try.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awsome View!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The drive there was breathtaking! Once we got to the end of the island (Point Udall) we could see ocean around us from all directions! Truly magnificant beauty you won't find most anywhere else in the world.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Udall also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Point Udall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Udall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.