We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, remote ish, snorkeling barely ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Isaac Bay

Isaac Bay
Point Road, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 60 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Bodies of Water, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You need a four-wheel-drive vehicle to get here, but it's well worth the trip to this scenic and secluded beach, perfect for swimming, and a barrier reef for snorkeling.
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice beach, remote ish, snorkeling barely ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

To get here, you end up driving almost to Udall point and park on the right side of the road. It looks like a lookout parking spot. There is a path to the right of where the cars can park... It only fits about 7 cars. The trail is fairly good to Isaac's Bay, just watch out for some of the thorn bushes. If you want to continue to Jack's Bay, and this is very important, make sure to go down onto Isaac Bay via the wooden stairs and walk to the end of Isaac Bay beach before heading back up on the trail! If not, you will be very sorry, and end up traversing a very poor "trail" and wish you had heeded my advice. We made the mistake of continuing on and didn't notice the easy way until we saw the horrendous beach that is Jack's Bay and turned around to hike back to Isaac's. You have been warned.

We went in early June 2014. The weather was very nice, the water was nice and refreshing. The waves were small and the bay is sheltered by coral. There was a nude man there at the beach when we went, just a word of caution. You might want to stick near the wooden stairs that lead down to the beach if you want to avoid that sort of thing.

The beach is sandy, you do have to find places to enter the water that are sand and not rock/coral. There are plenty of those places, just a word of warning.

There is nothing out there... no toilet, no food, no phone, nothing. We brought a cooler and were very happy to have food and drinks. NO GLASS! Please, nobody likes stepping on glass, and no matter what you say accidents happen and you can end up breaking the bottle and ruining someone's vacation.

If you are not in good shape, I would suggest not looking at Jack's Bay, just hike the 2 miles to Isaac's Bay and enjoy. If you enjoy hiking, by all means go to Jack's and beyond. Remember water!

The snorkeling is ok at best. I saw a few small squid, and a lobster. That was about it besides the coral reef fish that you can see almost anywhere... trigger fish, parrot fish, etc. There are only a few nice pieces of coral spread out over a wide area. Waves break on the barrier coral and father in, most of the coral is splotchy all over the place. I enjoy snorkeling and have been to many different places and I ONLY snorkel. I do not dive. There is better snorkeling at St. Johns.... anyway, it is what is is... and we had a very nice time, even if I wish the snorkeling had been better. The water was nice, the day was nice, and we brought a nice lunch.

Keep your expectations low for snorkeling and enjoy the beach with a few other people, it that.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    12
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must Visit!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was our second favorite activity of our vacation after snorkeling Buck Island. The short hike down to the water is not strenuous and offers some stunning views. The trail is well maintained and not too steep. We took it slow because it was HOT the day we went (95 degrees). Bring plenty of water and sunscreen- shade is nonexistent on the hike and on the beach.

We walked to Jack's Bay first, looked around, then came back to Isaac's Bay to swim and snorkel. We were the only people on the beach for about an hour, which was really cool. The crystal blue water and seclusion of this beach made it well worth our time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

About 2 mike hike up and down cliff overlooking beautiful blue green waters where we ended up on very private beach, no shade, no restrooms. You need to take lots of water and sunscreen as there is no shade.

Although very hard on me(67 with knee replacements) well worth the trip! Take snorkel gear as we did snorkel but the water was a little rough. But if you are the adventure type or into fitness you will love it.

We had a 3 year old with us. Be sure to wear tennis shoes as it is a rocky walk if you are just walking not snorkeling would recommend 1-2 hours

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Secluded private escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was just amazing! Drive to Point Udall and take in the view from the Easternmost part of the USA. Then hike down to Isaac's Bay. When you crest the bluff it is amazing! A cove edged in white sand and blue water ringed by a coral reef. The water in the bay is calmer than the surrounding water and the snorkeling is quite good. Within the bay the water is speckled with coral formations and the aquatic life is quite varied. We were blessed and fortunate to see a ray and a very large sea turtle. The sea turtle was a special treat as it appeared as we were focused on the ray. The turtle even had a little 2 foot shark gliding along its underside! Later in the day my husband did spot a 5 foot shark - didn't stick around to identify the type and made haste to shore, so definitely keep in mind that they do live in these parts and you may come upon them! I have never been to a more beautiful beach and to have it all to ourselves was incredible. This is a must see!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“MUST DO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a pretty easy hike to one of the most beautiful places my blues eyes have ever seen! Must do while on the island. We enjoyed this as much if not more than Buck Island. We had the beach mostly to ourselves.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isaac Bay also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Isaac Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isaac Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.