We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful solitude” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isaac Bay

Isaac Bay
Point Road, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 66 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: You need a four-wheel-drive vehicle to get here, but it's well worth the trip to this scenic and secluded beach, perfect for swimming, and a barrier reef for snorkeling.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful solitude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Go here! Take the trail down from the parking lot which is halfway up to Point Udall. I have heard the snorkeling is great but at the very least you will have peace and quiet. If you continue on the trail past Isaac, you will come to Jack's Bay (I didn't get that far). The hike itself is through lots of tall grass and brush but the trail is always visible. There are no facilities but that's what makes this great. Go!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Highlight of Trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We made the hike down to Isaac Bay and really enjoyed the outing. Going on a sunny day makes the colors of the water, hills, and sky blindingly surreal. Simply a beautiful spot and pretty quiet- there were maybe three or four other cars in the lot (plenty of broken glass though, sad to say) and a handful of folks down on the beach.

The hike itself was not bad, the incline fairly gentle and not as thorny as we expected, though very overgrown in sections. My hiking partner wore shorts and sneakers and came out with a few little scratches. It took us about 20 minutes to get from the parking area to the beach steps.

We are glad we didn't bother to bring our beach gear down with us, as the water seemed a bit too rough for us to swim on the day of our visit (perhaps we were spoiled by our day at Shoy's!) Sunglasses, hat, and plenty of water are recommended, even though it's a pretty short round trip hike, the sun is incredibly intense and there's no shade on the trail! Enjoy and happy hiking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“hikevto isaac and jack bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We enjoyed the hike. It was well marked, but lots of thorns. Great views. Loved it and a must do if you are up to the thorn bushes. Beaches were beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely beach, rough hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Isaac Bay is a lovely, secluded beach like many on St. Croix but the hike down through the tall (sometimes over your head!) guinea grass on a small trail with thorny bushes right beside and over the trail was a bit much for us. We left our rental car at the trailhead with windows down and doors unlocked as suggested. We took plenty of water but for the condition of the trail, we should have worn long pants. It was very hot and humid, though, so we hoped we could make it in shorts. It was indeed a rough hike because of the overgrown trail. We didn't visit this beach again even though we were staying nearby.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth the hike, but be smart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

To find it, park in trailhead just before Pt. Udall monument. BE WARNed, leave no valuables in your car, keep car unlocked and windows cracked. Hike is on a tiny trail that has thorns n such. Even though going to the beach don't hike in bathing suit. Have some cover to your thighs and feet. Also, this is a remote and secluded beach (part of its beauty) so no facilities or amenities. Bring your own items of need, water, more water, sunscreen, towel, chair, snorkel equipment, food and drink. Lovely beach, views, and reef.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isaac Bay also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Isaac Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isaac Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.