We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isaac Bay

Isaac Bay
Point Road, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 66 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Bodies of Water
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: You need a four-wheel-drive vehicle to get here, but it's well worth the trip to this scenic and secluded beach, perfect for swimming, and a barrier reef for snorkeling.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great beach. We careful with smugglers.
You will have 1km of white sandy beach for your own.

It is a 20 min hike (by clock), so bring water. There is no bar near by thus you should bring something to eat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Bermuda
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Be prepared for an uphill treck and a great workout, but well worth the journey. We parked at Cramer Park and hiked up and then down to Issac Bay. We brought masks and snorkels, if you go a bit beyond the seagrass you will find areas of some cool fish.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cast Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Isaac Bay was the highlight of my trip to St. Croix.

I drove to Point Udall to watch the sun rise, then drove a few hundred yards down the road to park at the trail head. There was broken glass in the parking area, so I'd recommend leaving your car unlocked and windows open (and obviously don't bring valuables with you and don't leave anything appetizing in the car).

The trail is well-marked, but lightly used, so it feels very wild and is a great introduction to the beach to come. It is an easy hike.

The beach is unbelievable - something you wouldn't believe still exists in this world. A half-mile of soft, white/pink sand, completely undeveloped, preserved for the turtles. I didn't see a soul for three hours, and felt undeserving of such a perfect place, all to myself.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This lovely secluded Bay is reached by a well constructed trail that is maintained by the Nature Conservancy. It takes about 1/2 hour to hike down to the beach. Bring your mask and snorkel, there is plenty to see in the water. Remember to carry out all of your trash, this is a lovely beach and it would be great for it to stay that way!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hike to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was by far the most beautiful beach we went to!! A great scenic drive to point udall and a 15 minute hike to an open beach!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isaac Bay also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Isaac Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isaac Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.