We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cast Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isaac Bay

Isaac Bay
Point Road, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 88 things to do in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You need a four-wheel-drive vehicle to get here, but it's well worth the trip to this scenic and secluded beach, perfect for swimming, and a barrier reef for snorkeling.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cast Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Isaac Bay was the highlight of my trip to St. Croix.

I drove to Point Udall to watch the sun rise, then drove a few hundred yards down the road to park at the trail head. There was broken glass in the parking area, so I'd recommend leaving your car unlocked and windows open (and obviously don't bring valuables with you and don't leave anything appetizing in the car).

The trail is well-marked, but lightly used, so it feels very wild and is a great introduction to the beach to come. It is an easy hike.

The beach is unbelievable - something you wouldn't believe still exists in this world. A half-mile of soft, white/pink sand, completely undeveloped, preserved for the turtles. I didn't see a soul for three hours, and felt undeserving of such a perfect place, all to myself.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    16
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This lovely secluded Bay is reached by a well constructed trail that is maintained by the Nature Conservancy. It takes about 1/2 hour to hike down to the beach. Bring your mask and snorkel, there is plenty to see in the water. Remember to carry out all of your trash, this is a lovely beach and it would be great for it to stay that way!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Hike to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was by far the most beautiful beach we went to!! A great scenic drive to point udall and a 15 minute hike to an open beach!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful secluded beach. About a fifteen minute hike with gorgeous views. Felt like I was in a Disney movie with the number of butterflies swirling around me as a walked the trail.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go east.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Isaac's Bay was the highlight of the island. The new trail down from Point Udall made for a nice hike, a terrain is a complete contrast to the west side of the island. The snorkeling was good it is nice to see some of the corals coming back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isaac Bay also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Isaac Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isaac Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.