We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isaac Bay

Isaac Bay
Point Road, St. Croix
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 59 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You need a four-wheel-drive vehicle to get here, but it's well worth the trip to this scenic and secluded beach, perfect for swimming, and a barrier reef for snorkeling.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hike is fine, and includes some gorgeous views. We spent about three hours on the beach, most of that time having it to ourselves. Beach is mix of rocks and sand. Some nice waves to play in at the sandy parts. Snorkeling was quite good and allowed us some of the best underwater photos all week. All in all, everything our family of four (with 15 and 10 yr old kids) was looking for on a lazy afternoon. We took our time on the return hike, and hung out on the ledge between Isaac and East end beaches.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This Nature Conservancy site is lovely - right at the foot of Point Udall, the easternmost point of land in the U.S. Nice path is very walkable, but no shade and quite a hike back up to the parking, so bring twice the amount of water you think you may need.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson,Az
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Worth going out of your way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

over 8 days visited beaches in St Thomas, St John, BVI , and St Croix. Isaac was the best. Pristine. White sand and best of all no one there. Never more than 6, including my wife and I, on our side and 2 more on other side of rock promentary. better than average snorkeling off shore. Reef extends all along beach. No shade but we brought light weight lean to. No facilities so need to bring water, snacks. 1/2 mile hike from right below Pt Udall. Jack's Bay is right next door but we didnt have time to hike to that. If you like privacy, snorkeling then this is for you. Must have car.You know its a good beach if when you tell locals where you went they are impressed you knew about it. On way back stop at Cheesburgers in Paradise for a well deserved fresh burger and beer!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
~~~
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very Nice, But Not Satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

First of all, the hike to Jack and Issac's is not the easiest hike. Anyone who is in decent shape will be fine, but be ready to hike up and down large hills on a narrow path.
The views are very nice along the way, and great photo ops are plentiful. However, the waters are either rough, or rocky and filled with seaweed. Don't be mislead. This is more of a scenic hike than anything else.
Park at the small turnoff right before Point Udall and hike down the path... The area is safely located on the far East End.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Isaac Bay is worth the hike. Beautiful beach and good snorkeling. The hike in is not that bad, just bring water, sunscreen and wear hiking shoes. And take your time, your on vacation.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isaac Bay also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Isaac Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isaac Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.