We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paul and Jill's Equestrian Stables

Paul and Jill's Equestrian Stables
#2 Estate Sprat Hall | Rt. 58 North, St. Croix
340-772-2880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 65 Attractions in St. Croix
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
Activities: Horseback riding
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Take a guided horseback ride through the rain forest, past Danish ruins, along beautiful white sand beach with palm trees and spectacular vibrant blues of the sea, while discovering a wide palette of tropical sights and sounds from kapok trees, tarzan vines and wild bromilliads to gigantic termite nests and tame honey bee hives.
Devon, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Going for a trail ride here was one the highlights of my vacation. There were 2 of us scheduled to ride but the other person didn't show up, so I had a private ride with Jill. My horse, Bucky (named for his buckskin color, not because he bucked!) was great - very responsive and well cared for. Jill was an outstanding guide, explaining about the environments we travelled through and also sharing family stories of local life and history. I had never ridden on a beach before and it was great fun. I would highly recommend this experience.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    12
    5
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“enjoyed the horses (and dogs)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I’m a once-a-year type of horse rider, doing trail rides in parks, etc. I believe Jill and Paul are probably the most conscientious horseback ride business owners I’ve ever seen. They take great effort in matching you to a horse and sizing your saddle. Paul even meets you at the beach and checks your saddle again. Jill explains the plant and animal life along the way (but no bullhorn as I’ve read in other reviews). My daughter and I had a great time.

One important note - they'll accept a charge card to hold a reservation, but you need to pay in cash or traveler's check.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extremely Relaxing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The horses did all the work while we went through the forest and on the beach. Jill was a great guide and spent a lot of time with us. We were able to experience something different from your standard vacation excursion. It is well worth doing and you won't forget this.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paul and Jill's Equestrian Stables trail ride in St. Croix.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I am a rider, have ridden for years, and am always a bit skeptical about hacking out on hack horses with whom I have no experience riding or knowing.

I need not have worried at Paul and Jill's Equestrian Stables.

First, I was very impressed that our trail ride was scheduled after the horses were given a midday meal of alfalfa cubes. This was wonderful, because a well-fed horse tends to be a happy horse and in no hurry to get back to the barn to eat. Jill, the owner and trail leader, was very careful in making well-informed horse/rider teams, taking into consideration the weight and height of the riders and horses, and the experience of each individual rider and the characteristics of each individual horse.

I got the impression that she owned all her hack horses for a very long time, because she knew each one's individual habits. For example, she was able to tell me that the horse I was on liked to lead and liked to trot through certain parts of the trail. She also told me he sometimes liked to tailgate, which was good information to know as I was then better able to (easily) coax him into staying a good several feet back from the horse in front of me.

The ride through the forest was lovely, and Jill again was very informed of the flora and able to tell us the names and characteristics of the plant life we saw. As she did this, she also kept a very good eye on the 9 riders behind her, evidenced when she noticed that a novice rider had lost a stirrup, so we stopped until the rider had her foot securely back in the stirrup. I am not sure how Jill so easily multi-tasked her duties as tour guide and still kept her eye on each mounted steed at the same time, but she did it well, making sure everyone stayed safe yet enjoyed the surroundings. She is obviously a long-time trail guide and her experience has made her very wise guiding a level of rider.

Best part of the ride was the ride on the beach, where Jill and her husband Paul together organized a photo shoot of each individual party. She used our own cameras and directed our poses on the beach without any extra charge. Paul took care of tending to the horses and riders who were not being shot at that time. I got about 8 photos on the beach taken by Jill!

I came away very happy with my experience. And, I was very happy that Jill had many riding helmets on hand for riders to borrow. I certainly will not ride without one, so I was grateful they were there and in good condition.

Thanks, Paul, Jill, and my lovely Sir Lancelot, for a fun, safe, interesting ride, and for being such lovely, warm people. If I every come this way again, I will return for another ride.

Star from Pa.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really Great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The ride with Jill and her horses was relaxing, beautiful, and educational... one of the best days of our lives! We're planning to go back next spring. Riding with Jill and Paul is first on our fun to-do list! I recommend this ride to everyone who wants to enjoy St. Croix's natural wonders.
Mahfouz and Vicki Fadel

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul and Jill's Equestrian Stables also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Paul and Jill's Equestrian Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul and Jill's Equestrian Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.