We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. Croix
Mendham, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

If your looking for peace and quiet this is the place to visit. Rooms are set up so you can't hear or see anyone else. Beach was empty, and if you like to snorkel it's decent right off the beach. Next time will try scuba right off the beach. Only negative, the service at the restaurant. Same old thing when it comes to the islands. You need to stop rent a car and pick some supplies, for breakfast and lunch. For dinner you need to visit the local restaurants nearby. The only trip we did was Buck Island. We went with Big Beard group, wouldn't recommend them to anyone. Wasn't worth the money. Took us to a nice beach if you wanted to gang out on for hours. If you want to go snorkeling this isn't the place. Then sailed around to east end and we snorkels in the national park. This would have been great, if the didn't drag us through like a sprint. Cook out was the best part of excursion.

Room Tip: Beach front away from restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hi and thanks for writing a review. Sounds like you were happy with most of your stay with us. Sorry the service in our restaurant wasn't up to snuff...but glad to hear you found our kitchenette handy and convenient! We do offer a beautiful peaceful unspoiled environment, happy you enjoyed it and we hope we can welcome you back in the future!

Warm regards,
Nancy W
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    189
    49
    27
    18
See reviews for
114
305
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Zurich, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We just returned from a 7 night stay and can't wait to get back. The resort was first class all the way from the staff to the bungalows. We especially enjoyed the screened in porch and the large beachfront. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting a peaceful beachfront vacation. The snorkling and diving right off the beach are world class. Renting a car is a good option as the resort is tucked away in an quiet part of the island. Absolutely the best resort we've ever visited!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
"The best resort we've ever visited' ...wow...thank you for such kind comments. We love to hear that our guests want to come back. There aren't too many resorts that can compare to us in offering such an unspoiled, lush environment. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,
Nancy W.
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Beautiful, beachfront property...we stayed in one of the renovated units which was 50 feet from the ocean. Lovely screened porch. It is in a more secluded area of St Croix but only a half hour from many restaurants. There is dining on site...wonderful food. Have stayed in other hotels in St Croix but this was, BY FAR, my favorite. Snorkel shop is on site and great scuba (The Wall) is close .

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront, renovated room ( they have probably all been renovated by now). The rooms al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hi and thanks for telling us about your recent stay. Sounds like you had a great time. You can't beat lounging on the screened in patio listening to the waves crashing. Almost makes you want to turn off your Iphone!!
Also, wanted to mention that ALL our guestrooms have been completely renovated with all new hard and soft goods and as you have seen they are fantastic!!
I hope you will visit us again.

Best regards,
Nancy W
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poolesville, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a wonderful week at the Carambola. The resort is a wonderful place to stay while on St.Croix. You feel as if you have your own private beach. There are plenty of lounge chairs, towels and white sand to accommodate everyone. The rooms are fantastic. You have a very comfortable king bed and a pullout sofa that accommodated our two teenage kids, as well as a cooktop, fridge, and coffee pot. We bought groceries at the Plaza and ate breakfast on our wonderful screened-in porch every morning. You will want to spend a lot of time on the porch. You will never get tired of the view and breeze. We were on the East end, which we loved. One of our favorite things to do was hike to the tide pools from Carambola. It's a fantastic hike and you are rewarded with a swim in the tide pool when you arrive. We rented a car (highly recommended) and visited several restaurants including Rowdy Joe's (you have to order the fish tacos for dinner and mac and cheese appetizer) and Rum Runners. We also did the Buck Island whole day excursion with Island Sea Adventures, the bioluminescent kayak tour with SeaThru Kayaks, and the Cruzan Rum Factory Tour. All were excellent! Make sure you visit "The Chicken Shack!" It's worth the drive and the owners are great. Unfortunately we couldn't take advantage of the dive shop because the winds picked up on our last few days and made it unsafe to scuba dive. We plan to do that next time we visit.
The staff at Carambola were so friendly and helpful. Christine welcomed us and was so excited to share her favorite activities and places to eat, as well as the amenities offered at this great hotel. One of the groundskeepers took the time to cut open a coconut and give it to my daughter and share some island knowledge too.
We can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The East side of the resort offers very quiet rooms with a beautiful view of the sea. We enjoyed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Realized I have a limit after writing a detailed review so I'll keep it short

Christine (concierge)- Amazing! Got us so excited about the island. Went above and beyond her job.

F&B Pablo, Rebecca, & Crystal- some of the most genuine people I have met. Visit them!

Bruno (server)- No words to describe him. We gained a life long friend on our trip to St. Croix <3

Overall our stay was very good. Was disappointed with the DAILY energy/mood of Shantel one of the F&B supervisors. Adrian was great though.

If you go to the tide pools go as far out as you can. There are about 7 more pools that are breathtaking. Pack water and wear water shoes!

Room Tip: Try to get a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
You're Correct...Bruno IS the man!! Thanks so much for your nice review and recognizing our outstanding staff. It's so nice when people point out the great service they received as making sure our guests are happy and return to us is certainly our priority. Sounds like you have lots of new friends at the resort and I hope you will return to see Krystal, Bruno, Pablo, Cristine etc. etc.

Best regards,
Nancy W.
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The manager said the hotel was at 90-100% capacity, but there is something about the lay-out of the bungalows and the two beaches that make it feel like you're one of the few people at the resort. For example, I rarely saw other guests even entering the neighboring bungalows.... Each building has 6 large rooms and the way the large screened-in porches are set up, you have an amazing unobstructed view. The large walk-in closet allows you to store everything out of sight and the large double sink vanity is nice. The hotel switched from a small stove-top to microwaves which have pros/cons. I reviewed the restaurant separately, but it's crappy frozen Marriott fare - try to drive to other places for lunch/dinner and hit up one of the grocery stores in town for in room breakfast or snacks. This might seem a little cheesy, but we actually bought a bottle of spiced rum and some Coke and fruit punch in town and made our own cocktails all week - the hotel bar prices were $10-$13 and we recouped that in maybe 4 drinks.

Don't forget to schedule a massage at the spa (excellent and normal-ish prices) and absolutely use Sweet Bottom Dive shop for amazing shore dives and fabulous, attentive staff. Greg and Mel are the best!

Room Tip: Both times we've stayed we've had a ground-floor room... the stairs to the second floor seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

From Moorea and Bora Bora to Grand Cayman, this is one of the best spots we have visited. We had a beachfront room and it was the best! We will go back often! Not to mention, when one of us filled out a Visitors' Bureau survey, we had an iPad waiting for us when we arrived home...complimentary!

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room. Not cheap, but well worth skipping a few trips to Starbucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Being compared to destinations like Bora Bora and Cayman is a pretty big compliment! Thanks so much for your kind words and sounds like we will be seeing you again.....and again!

Delighted by your review thank you ......AND you got an Ipad...sounds like it was quite a trip. We look forward to welcoming you back.
P.S. The Deluxe Beachfront rooms are pretty spectacular...however the Deluxe Island and the Deluxe Ocean View also have the same size room, layout, kitchenette and screened in porch.

Regards,
Nancy W
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.