We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort & Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
St Croix:Save up to 30%
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aurora, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Resort & Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Carambola Beach Resort & Spa is a good place to vacation if you love a remote location in the heart of the rain forest. It was quiet and serene with good service. Must realize service is on Island Time so don't go there expecting fast service. The mosquitos are atrocious and we were constantly having to use insect repellant. Even though they were out at dusk, thank goodness for the bats and screened-in patios. However, the ones the came out at dawn were horrible because they still got into the room and woke us up every morning, hour after hour. I guess when you are in the rain forest there is no way to eliminate them entirely. Just be prepared and bring long sleeve clothing especially for sleeping.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    235
    60
    31
    19
See reviews for
144
371
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Arrived 5-21-14 and saw no more than 25 people anywhere. Pool is good sized but no umbrellas are provided for pool or beach area. You need to find shade to sit in. Breakfast buffet and lunch choices were very good. Drinks were expensive ($14-17). Resort was given 2014 Vegetarian award. My daughter, who went with me, is a vegetarian and was extremely pleased with selections. Third day we had light morning rain, but beautiful weather until we left 5-25, except it is very humid. Beach is very close to rooms, but it is rocky and very sandy. We thought we had no hot water but the trick was to turn the lever to "C" for cold and then you get hot water. The resort filled up with more people by Saturday. The dinner show with fire dancers and stilt walkers was worth watching. The Pirate dinner was worth the money. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have stayed at the Carambola Beach Resort four times now and each time is wonderful. The rooms are spacious, each having a screened porch that opens from the bedroom and the sitting area. There is a small kitchenette with a full-size refrigerator, sink, microwave and coffee maker.
The beach area is long but only the west end is good for swimming; the other end is rocky. But that said, the swimming area is great. There is a full dive shop on site and many snorkeling locations. The pool is large, very clean with lots of lounge chairs available.
The Carambola is not close to town so having a rental car is very convenient.

Room Tip: The area to the right (as you're looking at the ocean) is much more private and secluded. Each r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Carambola Resort is a great place to stay. Beautiful vistas. Great diving! Good Food! I will be planning a return trip this fall as soon as possible!! The Fire Gypsies and the Mocko Jumbies were great entertainment on Friday nights!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartville, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Just go...
We completely enjoyed or stay. When we entered the room, I was talking to a staff member, I glanced to my left and then back to employee.... In that spit second, I was stunned by the view from the room. I had to stop and look again, because I could not believe it was real.
The bed was very comfortable, the decor was nice.
Restaurant was nice, enjoyed the food and drinks...
No complaints or issues.

Room Tip: Room 42 was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The resort is grand. Great rooms, pool, & food. Only problem is beach - great to sit by but you can not swim because of waves and rocks. Service was wonderful and grounds are magnificant. Pool area was super.

Room Tip: Rooms 60's or 50's less walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel for 5 days with 2 girlfriends. The hotel is beautiful and secluded and just what we needed. The location is remote and serene and the beach is perfect. The rooms at the hotel are excellent and the big bonus is the screened in porch which we used quite a bit. The staff was friendly and courteous and made sure they met our expectations and made up for it if they didn't. My one major issue was the food. I was really looking forward to some great Caribbean food and the food at the hotel was very poor and VERY expensive. I ordered the rum cake and it was freezer burned and hard in the middle. Because the hotel is so far away from the main town, you cannot just go to the closest restaurant for a meal. So I recommend either renting a car or buying groceries on your way to the resort since the room has a kitchen. If you are looking for a relaxing retreat to St. Croix, I do recommend this hotel. But do either rent a car or stock up on groceries and avoid the hotel food.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.