We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect + personal touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
St Croix:Save up to 30%
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. Croix
Certificate of Excellence
King George, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Picture perfect + personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a beautiful, recently renovated site on a gorgeous beach. The rooms are very comfortable, and the staff goes out of their way to make sure that you are taken care of. I have to send a special shot-out to Jacqueline at the front desk, because she, upon hearing that we would be leaving at 4:30 in the morning, personally went to the kitchen and put together a beautiful breakfast to fortify us for our journey. This is a striking example of how the wonderful staff gives you a family experience in a resort setting. Love it! I was stunned and will be back. Thanks Carambola, for combining the laid-back experience that my partner likes with the special touch that goes the distance for me!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    238
    63
    31
    19
See reviews for
148
385
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you are going to St Croix, this is the place to stay. From a location perspective, it could not be any better. The north west side of the island has the most rain, thus more lush. The east side is very hot and dry, few trees. The hotel beach is secluded and the views to the west are out of this world... no houses, just miles of green hillsides and cliffs to the ocean. We snorkeled off the beach and saw rays and an octopus, some fish, but not like Buck Island, a must see.

The pool is mediocre, and the hot tub is poor, low water level and uncomfortable. But we din't come to the beach to use the pool. The restaurant and food is also good, service is great. The buildings look like they have been there for a while and there is some weathering, but did not affect our stay at all.

I'm a platinum member of Marriott so got upgraded to a beach front room, which was also fantastic. They have screened poaches where my son slept, leaving his sister to the pull out couch, and we to a plush king bed.

In summary, if I had to go back to St Croix, I'd go back here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEBRASKA
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 214 cities Reviews in 214 cities
437 helpful votes 437 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Almost everything was truly wonderful at this resort. To start with, the location is perfect. It is located on a remote, isolated part of the island, tucked into a cove, surrounded by mountains. The grounds have beautiful tropical flowers and trees. The beach is small, but adequate, surf varied. There were nice, new beach chairs.
The resort was uncrowded, quiet, and relaxing.
The rooms were some of the nicest I've ever stayed in. All rooms are suites, with a living room, 2 TV's, kitchenette, giant walk-in closet, gigantic double vanity, and separate toilet and shower area. Shower was huge and had a seat. Only bad thing was that there wasn't a door to separate the shower/toilet area from the rest of the bathroom.
All rooms had a large screened porch to keep the bugs and critters away. There are many small lizards and mongoose roaming about. The thing I didn't like about the porches was that they didn't have a door to access the beach directly.. However, this would only be helpful on the oceanfront rooms. We thought the seats were a bit low and needed a little more padding.
The beds were very comfortable. The pillows were gigantic, but unfortunately weren't firm enough for me.
Our maid came promptly at 9AM every morning except one, and serviced our room while we were at breakfast.
The staff was always busy, keeping everything neat. All of the staff at the resort were very, very friendly. We have been to many resorts in the Caribbean, and can honestly say that the staff at this resort is the friendliest and quickest to respond that we've ever encountered in the Caribbean. ( They aren't on island time, as they say. )
The food choices were a bit limited if staying more than a few days.
About half of the menu was a bit odd. More variety is needed.
The Friday night pirate buffet was excellent! The crab legs were the best I've ever had!! Side dishes were also delicious. They really ought to have this all weekend. The show began with several fire dancing gypsies who gave an excellent performance! Then there were 3 mocko jumbies who really didn't do much but dance with the audience. Music for the show was WAY TOO LOUD!!! Otherwise, there was nightly entertainment by the bar, someone different every night. They all played at the perfect volume, and quit before it got too late.
To see the island you will need to rent a car at the airport, as they no longer have car rental on-site. I'd recommend a Jeep. There really isn't a lot to see. 2 days is plenty to see the sights.
Overall, the resort is a great place to get away and relax. We drove past the other hotels on the island and this one looked to be the nicest.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I want so badly to be head over heels raving about this place. There are so many good things going for it. But so many things that need desperate improvement. It depends on your priorities. If you want a beautiful private place this is it. But beware you will also have to deal with your room not being cleaned each day, electricity going out intermittently. If you are flexible about these things this is a wondrously pretty property, staff are nice, it is more remote, so be aware of that.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hello,
I'm sorry to hear you weren't head over heels about the resort! I'm surprised that you did not receive daily housekeeping as the rooms are supposed to be cleaned on a daily basis. This was an error and I do apologize. Sorry to hear as well that you experienced a power outage during your stay. Unfortunately that is not under our control...It doesn't happen very often, but when you are on an island, you have to deal with such inconveniences once in a while.
I hope you will visit other Marriott properties that you may find a better fit for you and thank you or taking the time to share your feedback with us, we do value hearing about your stay, the good and the bad.

Warmly,
Nancy Williams
Dir. of Sals
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

It's taken me a while to write this review, but only because I've been on Island Time since our stay at Carambola. Given this brutal winter, we booked a spontaneous New Years trip and decided on the US Virgin Islands as my passport recently expired (shame on me, I know). It also looked like the best options were a Flight & Hotel package I found for either Carambola or the Buccaneer. I'm glad we chose the Renaissance, though, as it lives up to the Marriott standards. We really just wanted a beach, palm trees, a little adventure, and a lot of sunshine...well, we got all of these and more on our fabulous 4-day stay!

From the moment we arrived, we felt at ease and more than welcome. We were greeted by Jackie at the front desk with a smile and rum punch, and check-in was very smooth. My luggage got stuck in St. Thomas as we had to take a Cape Air connection and rather than waste time going back to the airport, the receptionist was kind enough to send a car to retrieve my bag. This was an "above and beyond" gesture to me, and my bag was waiting in our room when we returned after a walk on the beach/dinner at the hotel bar. I had a zesty shrimp salad and my boyfriend had a burger (a cheeseburger in paradise is mandatory). There were two local cats running around the outdoor tables and some people were rolling their eyes or shooing them away, but we thought they were really sweet. It felt like we were in someone's home.

In terms of accommodations, we had a lower level suite on the right wing of the resort if you're facing the water (room 44, maybe?) and my absolute favorite feature was the screened-in porch with cozy patio couches overlooking the palm trees and Caribbean sea just a stone's throw from our door. As other reviewers have noted, you can literally hear the waves crashing and feel the cool Caribbean breeze at night. You could also hear the Coqui frogs - aptly named for their high pitched "coqui" mating call - and that is probably the only negative note of our entire stay as they would croak for HOURS at night, between 2 and 6am. Aside from this, we slept very well and could solve the problem by just closing the inner doors to the porch. Our room had all of the usual appliances, i.e. coffee area, fridge, plates, etc. My boyfriend was very excited about the two large flatscreens in the room to follow the NCAA bowl games, but in the end we really only watched TV one night. Also, the bathrooms are HUGE and gorgeous with granite, clean tub and tile, and a separate walk-in closet area to store our things.

To celebrate the new year and just being in the islands, we found ourselves at the hotel bar quite a bit, whether grabbing a bucket of Caribe beers for the beach or sipping a pina colada while the reggae band played at night. We only noticed one person taking drink orders on the beach one day, but since this isn't an all-inclusive, commercial type place, we didn't expect that. I have to thank the super sweet hostess, Kishuana, for going out of her way to check on us several times/share some tips on the history and culture of St. Croix. We ran into her at the Pirate Buffet, too - highly recommend booking the buffet as this weekly event is a blast and totally worth it! We met another fun couple staying at Carambola and did the buffet together, which wound up being a fabulous party. The seafood paella was delicious, but I think the music/dancing/men on stilts were my favorite memories of the night on the Saman Room patio. The patio was also a great spot for breakfast, overlooking that spectacular view.

A few additional tips:
1) Definitely recommend renting a car since this end of the island is a bit remote. We rented a Wrangler and went "off-roading" one day through the rainforest on Scenic Rd. (I do not recommend this drive unless you have a Wrangler or an ATV). It was actually really fun, but dangerous as we had no cell service and the roads are really dicey.
2) Part of the hike to the tidal pools is a steep incline, so just wear sneakers...and socks as you may encounter rainforest ants along the way. It's really lovely once you get to the rocky beach on the other end. We brought water, snacks, sunblock, and bug spray, which came in handy!
3) Check out Big Beard's Snorkel tours in Christiansted. The full day outing is $100/pp and the crew takes you to snorkel in an underwater National Park (Buck Island Reef) as well as an island for lunch where they grill burgers, dogs, and fish - bottomless rum punch and water, too!
4) Favorite off-resort restaurants were Off the Wall at Cane Bay for lunch and Rhythms at Rainbow Beach for sunset dinner. I also wanted to try Waves and EAT at Cane Bay - next time!

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have higher ceilings, but the first floor is a closer walk to the hammocks
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello and thank you so much for your very detailed review. Sounds like you had some great adventures and that we were a perfect fit for what you were looking for. You mention our rooms as 'Suite", actually ALL our rooms are this same size and layout (And have 2 flatscreens!) They are really a 'wow' when you are expecting a regular sized hotel room.
I sometimes use ear plugs if I'm not interested in hearing the mating calls of the frogs...good news is it's seasonal!!

Thanks again for taking the time to write such a delightful review and I hope you will visit us again,

Warmly,
Nancy Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked the Carambola resort for our wedding which took place on 22Feb14.
Working with the coordinator, Ann Wienhiemer, was great and she and the resort went way over the top to make it a special event for us. We were married on the beach and had a beach dinner after the wedding. It was a small wedding with only my wife’s sister and cousin with us.
I cannot say enough about the Ann and how the staff treated us and the things they did to make the day a very special day.
We had ocean view, second floor room which I suggest due to the vaulted ceilings. Food was good, the sales staff, Ann and the Jackie at the front lobby where absolutely the best.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

St. Croix is one of those wonderful places where absolutely no one owns the beach. But to get to this beach, which our taxi driver took us to, you do have to enter through the Renaissance Resort. It was a beautiful beach with good snorkeling. My friends saw two turtles. Lots of scuba people. It is near the Wall in Cane Bay but west of there so it is not as deep. A tad rough. Probably not the best choice for children. Had a dive shop onsite so it was a good place to try that out. Maybe my next trip. The parts of the resort that I saw were lovely. Saw the staff setting up the wedding in the next review if it was 2/15/14.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.