We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St.Croix's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. Croix
Chester, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“St.Croix's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This Resort takes my breath away everytime my family and I stay here. I was born and raised on St. Croix and could have stayed with relatives, but instead chose to stay at this secret hide-away Resort. My family love this place and plan to stay here everytime we visit St.Croix. The rooms are modern and cozy. The Resort grounds nestle in a botanical garden with greenery all around. The food was delish. The private beach is a few steps away from our room. The best spot for me was relaxing on the beach and listening to the waves. One word comes to mind about this Resort, "Paradise". I can't finish without compliments to the entire staff for their pleasantry, friendlyness and helpfulness throughout our entire stay. Keep up the excellent work.

Room Tip: All rooms have a cozy screen patio. Get a room with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    176
    47
    27
    17
See reviews for
108
290
15
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I am very familiar with this property as I've frequented it several times for either brunch or dinner (both delicious) but never actually stayed on the property. I fell in love all over again! I had an ocean view room and simply LOVED waking up every morning to the beautiful Caribbean Sea staring back at me. The rooms are very spacious and I love the shower (who needs a tub?). All rooms have an attached screen-in porch to sit and relax. Everything and everyone at Carambola focuses on relaxation. I cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is located at beautiful Cane Bay.
It sits at the edge of a rain forest and soft sand beach.
When we were there there were gentle waves lapping the shore line.
One afternoon we spent at least two hours floating in the clear warm waters, it was so relaxing.
The staff at the hotel were warm and friendly and very helpful with any questions.
The room was spacious and clean wiyh a nice view of the ocean.
The a/c unit was a bit undersized for the room but after the first evening it caught up.
Our unit had a refridgerator,microwave,and stove top. limited pots and pans. Set the fridge low when you check in to keep your beer nice and cold..
The room was nice and quiet and made for a great place to sleep after a long day of scuba diving and vacation activities.
The Restaraunt served a variety of food and good drinks.

Room Tip: Get an ocean front or beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I planned on a long restful trip mixed with scuba diving. One of the criteria of our trip was to complete our advanced scuba training at a resort that had a dive center on site. After looking at reviews I knew this would work. What i didn't count on was how amazing the dive center was and how ultra professional the PADI dive center was. Greg and Mel are the amazing Sweet Bottom Dive Center and they are die hard divers. They are really into sharing their love of diving and sharing their love of the seas and all the amazing creatures down there. They LIVE it. So we continued our training up to master diver. It made sense. We had practically one on one training in the most amazing water you can ask for with awesome instruction from Greg. (no slacking here) Plus every training dive ended with a pleasure tour. Rescue diver kicked my butt and i had doubts that i could pass it, but the gods gave me flat water that day and I made it. We didn't just do the training exercises and surface - We used the air in our tanks up! No rushing - they really catered to us on our vacation. I think we did 26 dives in 11 days! WOO HOO. If you are even thinking of diving or learning to do it. This is the place! All beach dives, which is different from boat but so much more fun and easy. Although we were doing the advanced stuff they really cater well also to the new diver and making it a fun and no-stress experience. SAFETY, SAFETY, SAFETY.
The resort is amazing too. Food was great and reasonably priced. But we aren't real foodies, we had a kitchenette so we ate light. OK, except for when we did room service- that was great. Lobster cake appetizer, chicken jerk (I think it was an entire half chicken) yummy and a breakfast of lobster benedict were great treats. Morning coffee on the screened in porch listening to the waves so peaceful. We were lucky to see turtle tracks on the sand one morning! And we were also sooo sooo lucky to see/ help a batch of confused little sea turtles (100 or so) making their way to the pool area and turing them back to the sea after a night dive right on the property!!!
The feeling of the place is casual yet has a beachy elegance of times gone by, You really are on the edge of a tropical rainforest and the sea.

Room Tip: We used points, but even so it was pricing under 200 per night and that would still be high value. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for the wonderful feedback on your visit. WE really appreciate you taking the time to detail everything you did and loved about the resort. I am forwarding your review to Mel and Greg at Sweetbottom to let them know how much you enjoyed the shore dives. I'm sure assisting baby sea turtles make their way back into the sea is a highlight to talk about for many years.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Warm regards,
Nancy Williams
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here last month for three days and was overwhelmed at the beauty and peaceful of this resort. This is a very laid back property and if you are looking for peace and quiet this is the perfect place. The accommodation's were excellent with a spacious suite and bathroom. The grounds are meticulously maintained and tranquil. My best advise is to grab a cab at the airport because this resort is somewhat remote and a car is the easiest and least expensive way to get around. There is a mini kitchen in the room and a full sized refrigerator so stop by the grocery and grab some goodies and rum and chill out in this beautiful resort. The Pirate Buffett on Friday night was a lot of fun and worth the expense. This hotel is run by a top notch staff and I would not hesitate to stay here again. In fact, I am already thinking about my return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello,
I'm so happy that you took the time to post the review. We really appreciate it! Its so nice to hear that you had such a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Nancy Williams
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed three nights/four days at the Renaissance Carambola and we would not hesitate to return. The atmosphere was peaceful, relaxing, beautiful, comfortable...I can go on and on. Upon arrival, the front desk staff was so welcoming and helpful. We were taken to our room which was wonderful with amazing ocean views. The layout of the room was spacious, with a kitchenette, large vanity/sink area, separate toilet/shower, large walk in closet with plenty of storage. There was a sitting area with tv (which we never turned on), large comfortable bedding with another flat screen (again, we disconnected from the world!) and the best part, a screened in porch, overlooking the ocean with two built in lounges to just enjoy the sound of the surf. The grounds were beautiful, and the beach was amazing. We ate breakfast daily, and enjoyed several lunches and dinners on site. The food was good, the bar area was very enjoyable. The beach had plenty of lounge chairs, and covered areas, as did the pool, which had a good layout so as to not feel like a community swimming pool. This resort is well maintained, and has just a wonderful, peaceful ambiance. The staff was fantastic, and can't say enough about the front desk who really went above and beyond to assist us (James and Pearl were wonderful helping us!). The location between the beach and the rain forrest did invite some interesting wildlife, there was a gecko or two in our room, but nature is going to thrive regardless of man's intentions! Never once did we not feel totally at ease, and relaxed in this beautiful resort. We dove from the beach and really liked the dive staff at Sweet Bottom - Greg and his staff were great. I recommend getting a rental car unless you're planning to not leave the resort, since the cost for the rental car was about the same as a shuttle from the airport, plus there's ample parking, and easy to get to other parts of the island for diving/dining.

Room Tip: If you can swing the extra cost, request ocean front, since the porches provide a wonderful way to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I wanted seclusion during my stay at St. Croix with a "postcard" view. I was not disappointed. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The service was excellent. I had no complaints.

If you are looking for a resort that is quiet and peaceful this is the place for you. And The Pirate's buffet on Fridays that displays a taste of the island food is a must.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.