We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort, excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in St. Croix
Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent resort, excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I wanted seclusion during my stay at St. Croix with a "postcard" view. I was not disappointed. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The service was excellent. I had no complaints.

If you are looking for a resort that is quiet and peaceful this is the place for you. And The Pirate's buffet on Fridays that displays a taste of the island food is a must.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    158
    43
    27
    17
See reviews for
101
262
13
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Renaissance is excellent all round. The location and setting are incredible, well laid out, beautiful private beach and excellent amenities. Staff and contractors working on site were all very friendly and helpful, especially the dive shop folks. Food and drinks are a little pricey though and you'd really want to rent a car for getting around the island as without it you might feel a little isolated here. All in all a fantastic getaway though and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance Carambola this summer for about 10 days and it was a fantastic stay. Overall, this is a great property on the island if you are looking for something a bit more private and scenic. The service was very good and the food/ restaurants were also very good. See below for a breakdown.

Getting there / Check in:
Part of the appeal of this location is that it is not smack in the middle of tourist trap hotel row or surrounded by other resorts, so getting there requires a rental car or taxi. After a scenic drive through some neighborhoods and hills, the resort appears on the beach hidden in a cove. During check in, they were expecting us in a nice A/C cooled office lounge with a rum drink. Given its a resort hotel, this is standard, but nevertheless it is nice. Check in was easy, and a nice young guy loaded up our bags on a golf cart and escorted us to our room via cart.

The Rooms:
The rooms are very nice. They are typically island furnished, with dark woods, and storm shutters on all the windows. The space is more than adequate for a couple, the bathrooms have ample shelf space and dual sinks/vanities that are PLENTY of room. The walk in showers have rainfall shower heads and stone finishes. There is a nice walk in closet for your wardrobe and bags off the bathrooms. The bed in our room was a king, and was not rock hard, it was very comfortable. I sleep in a lot of hotels who's beds leave something to be desired, but this bed was decent. Also worth mentioning, the open air screened in patio is awesome! It was great for relaxing at the end of the day with some rum or a light snack. (Fortunately, we were placed on the north side of the resort where the rooms are ocean facing). Overall, we were impressed with the rooms.

Service: I had actually requested that our room be fitted for our anniversary (point of our trip) and a chilled bottle of champagne and strawberries was waiting for us, as well as a bouquet of flowers. This was set up through the hotels management with very little direction, so it was nice that they committed to a nice display with a personal card welcoming us from the manager. The bartenders were all very friendly and ready to recommend many concoctions. The housekeeping staff was very timely, sometimes twice a day, but never intrusive to the point we were in the room when they came. Fresh towels and ice each day. (You need to ask for ice to be delivered to the rooms, which is a bit strange, but really kind of nice, you don't even have to get it yourself and they bring it right to your room with enough to last you a couple days.) Servers in the restaurants were friendly and speed was adequate or on par with any other island destination I have been.

The Beach / water:
THIS IS THE REASON YOU WILL PICK THIS LOCATION! An unbelievable beach out of a post card. The lush jungle mountains surround a secluded, un-crowded beach with ample chairs, shade, and even a mini beach bar. There is a dive shop literally on site for a reason, because this is one of the only beaches where you can snorkel, dive right off the beach because the water is so clear and the sea life is incredible. Huge leatherback turtles, tropical fish, rays, and coral are abundant just 50-100 feet off the sandy entrance. (See Sweet Bottom Dive Center if your interested in more info, also HIGHLY RECOMMENDED). All that said, the resort does suggest that you only enter the water further down the beach near a sandy(er) part of the beach due to all the coral. If you want to use the middle sections bring protective footwear. This beach is not on the strip, and the whole time we were there, we saw maybe 10 other people. Water in the summer was 80 degrees routinely....even on my dives it was...very nice. It's a big beach so it was great. If your looking for a more lively scene, a short 5 min drive down the coastal road takes you into Cane Bay and you can people watch, chat, and interact if that's what your looking for. Overall, the Carambola's beach is one of the most scenic I have ever been too in the Caribbean.

Spa:
My wife did go to the spa one day and had a beachside massage. She said it was very nice, and easy to set up over the phone in the room.

Food / Restaurants:
There are 3 areas on resort where you can eat. The pool bar during the day serves drinks and nice lunch like offerings like wraps, burgers, salads, and appetizers. At night it turns into a patio restaurant and service more dinner focused meals like chicken, steak, pasta, etc. Next to that is a more formal restaurant that is open for buffet nights and breakfasts. We did the managers buffet and it was great however a bit costly. There is no shortage of food from various disciplines from island focused, international, to comfort food from the states and several desserts. Overall, the food here is good, but with only three choices, you may want to eventually venture off resort to checkout several good options in Cane Bay and just past it to avoid getting bored or paying higher prices. Note: Also, while most blended drinks at any place stateside are expensive, they are at a premium here. They were very well made and believe me after a couple Cruzan Confuzans you wont care, I do suggest watching how much they cost!

Overall:
I highly recommend this resort. The rooms are very nicely equipped and designed, exuding an expected island chic feel. The service was very nice and professional. It's location is more remote than others on the island, but your either looking for that or your not. It's proximity to Cane Bay means that you wont be bored if your looking for some fun nightlife, because it does get quiet at night, then again, that is a real plus for some. The beach is the main attraction, and if your going here its likely for vacation. The pool is nice, and adequate size, but with football fields of sandy beach and 80 degree water sparsely populated with people, you'll find you might never want to leave your beach hut or shady coconut tree. I recommend this resort for couples or friends looking for a nice escape. Will I go back? Sure thing, just trying to find the time...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We are spending our last night here at this beautiful resort! It was everything we were looking for a secluded paradise. The staff has been pleasant and helpful (even when my husband just kept wanting a "red drink" they would always accommodate with a smile! ) We have been here during "off season" so a lot was closed around town. So if you need more entertainment and things to do, do not come here in late Sept early Oct. But it was perfect for us a quiet, relaxing vacation. I would highly recommend this resort and our favorite employee Jaleel (working temp at the pool) he was awesome, we enjoyed him and his service! Helpful tips.. Stop a grocery store for water and snacks on the way in, a rental car is nice to have to get around but not necessary since the resort has shuttle service into Christiansted. Every time we sat down at the restaurant our tab for 2 was 80-100 food and drinks which is why the grocery store stop can be important. But the food here has been AMAZING everything I tried was so good, it was worth the cost!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent 6 days at the Carambola and must say I can't find anything bad to say about our experience. We loved the staff and resort and would highly recommend a stay here. I read some of the earlier reviews prior to going so I was expecting slow service but we never had to wait for anything. The grounds are lush and very well landscaped. The pool and hot tub are open 24 hours and we used them late at night several times. The resort is secluded so you will need to rent a car, we got a Jeep but would recommend against it.

I especially loved waking up early and walking the beach at dawn. My husband enjoyed coffee on the screened in porch while watching mongoose play. We were on the bottom floor in building 24 and the beach and rainforest were feet away from our front door. I didn't even put shoes on the walk to the beach or pool.

We ate at several great places (eat @ Cane Bay, Off the Wall Beach Bar and Fort Christian Brew Pub) but my favorite was a Carambola staff recommendation The Whim Cafe. Stock up on snacks and sandwich supplies at Plaza Extra and rum at Kmart before you check in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central PA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Visited for a few days last week. I mostly offer this review for first timers. Trip from airport: better to rent a car, not taxi. You'll save money & probably want a car to get around anywhere but the isolated resort. 4wd is not needed, but some steep hills & switchbacks exist. Night driving ok, just go slow. Roads are fair condition, we thought they were about what you'd find here in a state park in PA, if you drive 25mph or less on the winding parts, you're fine.
Approach to resort: stray dogs & cats along a well manicured driveway approaching a guard hut. Friendly attendants. Lobby small, living room like. Fast check in. Cold fruit water in lobby ( free) small rum punch on arrival- free morning coffee. you park in a small, undersized gravel lot near reception. They golf-cart you & luggage to room. Give a tip. Resort was quiet, maybe 40% attendance. Lots of attention paid to grounds keeping. Laid back rules, can go to beach or pool 24 hrs, no problem.
Grounds reminded us of that "Robin Masters estate on Magnum PI"; dating myself here.
Some will understand, others won't.
Room was upstairs, beautiful. Great screened in patio. Fairly good AC, large bathroom, small kitchen. Large closet ( in bathroom). Tv fair coverage, good wifi. Pretty quiet, but mornings you hear tropical birds, surf, leaf blowers of lawn staff. Some far off industrial noise beyond the basketball courts.
Food: we stopped at plaza extra supermarket near airport before arrival. We brought rum, piña colada mixers, snacks, danish pastries. We should have also brought: frozen breakfast sandwiches, frozen egg & sausage patties, bread, mayo, deli meats & cheeses. We brought coffee & filters, but had to improvise a pour over funnel. Why this saves you: count on $10 per breakfast per person at resort. Drinks $7-10 each by the pool. Lunch, $15-20 per person. Friday night Pirate buffet was a rip off; $40 per person, no alcohol included, no pirates present. Food was ok, but I saw a chef drinking out of a water pitcher & told management. Manager made the rounds, but skipped our table, & visited guests that were obvious local friends instead. Server was hard to find, expected big tip. The jumbie dancers were fun, but we could have just walked up & watched for free. We also learned later about the gift shop; large selection of frozen foods, rum, etc. for a little more mark up than supermarket. They have some neat treasure coins on display, too.

For electronics or things you may have forgotten; a K-mart is about 30 min drive, but remember they close strictly at 8pm. They also have a liquor section up front. Subway restaurant adjacent.

Snorkling: we rented fins from the dive center- employees there were ore friendly than any we met. $10 for fins for 24 hrs. Sea was rough over all days of visit. Cloudy water, saw a little coral & a few fish. Disappointing compared to trips to St. John. Should have driven up to Cane Bay, 1 mile east. This resort is actually on Davis bay. We heard from dive shop that, when Davis is rough, Cane bay often calm.

Resort was Clean, price was fair. Should have packed better for charge cords, bar, & frozen food( fridge has a little freezer). Should have skipped pirate buffet. Pool was ideal. Water warm, sun was hot.

Room Tip: All rooms maybe 30-50 yards from sand of the beach. Close to pool or parking may help some who can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here for business, so I did not get to enjoy much of the great amenities offered at Carambola, but the resort is beautiful. The rooms are quite spacious and very inviting. The restaurant is a little pricey, but that is to be expected. The food was very good. We did make it to the end of the pirate night on Friday. The buffet was excellent. They ran out of crab before we got there and when we inquired if there would be more, the server showed up at our table with an entire plate full for the table to share. Great service! The resort is a hike to town, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa

Address: PO Box 3031- Kings Hill, 00851, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St. Croix
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Croix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Hotel St. Croix
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort And Spa
Carambola Beach Hotel
Carambola Beach Resort
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.